We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pogies Waterfront Bar and Grill - CLOSED

Pogies Waterfront Bar and Grill
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Spectacular views, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Surprisingly good food, especially for a beach restaurant. Fantastic views over the marshes and tables marsh-side. Rooftop deck with sweeping panoramas. Try the shrimp and grits, which were superb and prepared with Andouille sausage and cheese in a serving large enough to split. Shrimp tasted right out of the bay. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSmith338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    71
    55
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We really had an enjoyable visit. Our server was great. We had the whole family with us and everyone enjoyed their food. We started with the Pogy Balls (different but great). My wife had the Salmon special and I had the Flounder. The kids even got a little sundae with their meals. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Eats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

They opened up for lunch especially for our group (work conference) We were given a choice of entrees to choose from. I had the chicken salad and my husband had the flounder sandwich. Both were good

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RamonaCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
“business luncheon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The service was excellent. They went out of their way to cater to us. The views from the restaurant are very nice. Everyone loves the pogy balls.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 302trishh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fish Sandwich Breading was soggy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Had shrimp (good) but I had to remove the breading from the fish sandwich it was soggy. Had take out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pogies Waterfront Bar and Grill also viewed

Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing