We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Ocean Isle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Isle Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cameron
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was our 1st stay at Ocean Isle Inn and we stayed October 17 and 18 in an oceanfront room. We usually stay next door at the Islander Inn when we bring our dog as Ocean Isle Inn doesn't allow them. Both hotels are basically the same although this one seems to be maintained better. The landscaping around the pool area is very nice, the indoor heated pool was warmer than the Islander Inn's and the breakfast room was nicer. The room countertops were more recently updated and the bedding was more modern. (no yucky outdated thin bedspread). Upon checkin we were taken into the hallway where we were told and shown where everything is, very helpful even though the place is small enough that it really isn't necessary. Some minor complaints - the bathroom countertops were not clean (some smudges). No white bread for toast (only wheat) in breakfast room either day. Dogs not accepted. Ocean Isle Inn should look at revising this policy especially since there is no carpet in the rooms. Overall - we will definitely stay here again if we don't travel with the dog, otherwise it will be pet friendly Islander Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for sharing you comments about your recent stay with us. It is pleasing for us to know that you enjoyed our property and its amenities. We do strive diligently to keep our property well maintained and we're happy you noticed. We're sorry we could not accommodate your four-legged family member, although we do love pets. This is due to the fact that separate laundry facilities would be required to prevent transference of pet hair into other non pet-friendly rooms and linens. Ocean Isle Beach is a wonderful area in which to vacation and we're delighted you chose to stay with us. We look forward to having you lodge with us again during your next visit to the area.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    249
    94
    25
    15
See reviews for
290
254
40
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
charlotte, nc
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here October 4th, 5th, and 6th in room 207. Never even been to Ocean Isle before this trip and chose Ocean Isle Inn off of TA reviews. I have nothing bad to say about this motel. Clean, decent breakfast, pools looked nice, great service and staff, really nice beach, close to the pier for fishing. Room was about as clean as you could expect at the beach. Parking was fine and we were pretty full on Saturday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdieputt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and our customers. We are happy knowing that you enjoyed your 3 nights at our facility and found us to be clean and friendly. Our entire staff takes pride in their work and offering our customers a rewarding stay. It's nice to know that you were pleased with our work. We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Kind regards

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Although we went on a weekend where all the ocean Front rooms were booked we still enjoyed our room. Spacious room with a view of the bridge. Walking distance of lots of beach shops, restaurants, a playground and a museum. We also saw a little golf course. Great outside pool that we didn't get in too much because of the cooler weather. We however thoroughly enjoyed the inside pool and hot tub. Loved being able to wake up and go to the conference room to make waffles in the nifty little waffle maker they have which is timed. The only thing we had an issue with was the lid for the ice bucket. It was dirty. Idk if it was stained that way. Either way we didn't use the ice bucket because we didn't need to. I would go back to the inn. I would also recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for offering us your comments about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you had such a great weekend while visiting the Ocean Isle Inn. Although not over-developed, there are still many family-oriented activities in the area for our guests to enjoy. I will pass along your comments regarding the ice bucket lid to our housekeeping department. Please accept our apologies for this oversight. Again, we do appreciate your kind words and we look forward to having you with us again.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkview, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We've been vacationing at Ocean Isle Beach since 1981, usually renting a condo for the two of us, or beach house with friends. This was our first year in a very long time that we chose hotel accommodations -- lugging linens, towels, kitchen items, etc., has gotten to be too much a bother. Not to mention the marked decline in service and quality of condo units in recent years (I'm talking about you, Sloan Realty).

Our one non-negotiable is oceanfront, so I searched hotels accordingly. Of the three on the island (The Winds, Ocean Isle Inn and The Islander), this property was the only one with oceanfront rooms available on relatively short notice for the week in question. Being frequent visitors to the island, we knew the Inn was near the pier and a short walk to restaurants and shops on the causeway. And we were familiar with the exterior layout. No surprises on those points.

We arrived around 4:00 p.m., and found our room was ready for us. The front desk at check-in was friendly, gave us the rundown on amenities, breakfast, use of the pool and so on. Our room was on the top floor, overlooking the pool with the ocean beyond. The balconies are small, but big enough for two people -- we appreciated the two rocking chairs and small table, which we used a great deal.

The property is definitely showing its age. The furniture and bathroom fixtures could use updating. And I understand the need for tile floors in a beachfront hotel, but a few more rugs underfoot would have been nice. And the air conditioners are LOUD! Hubby was able to reduce the vibration by wedging a shampoo bottle in between the vents.

As with many hotels, there is a lack of insulation in the walls and sound carries between rooms and from the hallways. But since they weren't at full capacity the week of our stay, there wasn't much (if any) late-night noise.

However, having said all that, the bed was comfortable and the housekeeping staff did a good job keeping the room clean. We did lodge a complaint (twice) with the front desk about the broken clock radio in our room; this was not addressed during our stay. A minor point, but worth noting.

Their continental breakfast is pretty basic: pastries, cereal, DIY waffles, and microwaveable breakfast sandwiches. Milk and juice but no fresh fruit. There is an indoor pool and Jacuzzi in addition to the outdoor pool. Umbrellas and lounge chairs are available for rent out on the beach. I liked not having to set this stuff up myself -- after all, I'm on vacation!

As noted above, it's a short walk from the hotel to the pier, restaurants and other shopping. We walked over to Sharky's and Pogie's for dinner several nights. We also drove out to the Inlet View in Shallote one evening. With Sunset Beach, Calabash and North Myrtle Beach nearby, there's an abundance of dining options within a short drive.

Upon check-out, I did mention (again!) the broken radio and the response was "you should have told us, we would have switched it out." Different person on the front desk that morning, and I let her know that we did in fact tell them. Twice.

To sum up: hotel options at Ocean Isle are limited. The Ocean Isle Inn could benefit from some updating, but its location somewhat makes up for its shortcomings. Housekeeping was efficient and helpful, the amenities were more than adequate, and the room rate was a good value. Overall, a successful vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for offering us your feedback about your recent stay at our property. We are happy that you had an enjoyable time while with us. Many of our guests are been complimenting the new rocking chairs on our oceanfront balcony's.We are glad you enjoyed them too! And indeed, our central location on the island does make for easy access to the nearby island amenities. We do apologize about the broken clock/radio in your room. Typically, these are replaced immediately. However, we discovered that our stock had been depleted and had to order more. We sincerely apologize to you for this minor issue. We will pass along your kind words to our housekeeping and desk staff. We look forward to having you with us again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This was our second stay at the Ocean Isle Inn and it was just as great as the first time. The front desk staff (Maria and I'm sorry I have forgotten the other kind lady's name) are remarkable. They are so friendly and are helpful with anything that you may need. Housekeeping does a good job of keeping the room tidy and the beach is clean and easily accessssible from the inn. We can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindersaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind words about our property and staff. Its rewarding for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Our entire staff works diligently to assure guest satisfaction and it is our pleasure to be of service to our visitors. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to Maria. She is truly a valuable member of our staff and our guests love her - so do we! We look forward to having you stay with us again during your next visit to ocean Isle Beach.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

this is a beautiful place to stay. the beach is right behind the outdoor pool. The staff was very accomodating and check in and out was simple. The AC was like a typical old hotel room... big unit on the floor. We was also not informed of an elevator. We only saw that there was one after carrying up our stuff, up 2 flights of stairs. Rooms are not kid friendly; there is a dead bolt that you can lock the door but as soon as the handle is turned it pops open. We had to use one of the chairs to put against the door in hopes that if the kids got up before us we would hear the chair scrape against the floor. Other than those 2 issues it was a good place to spend our vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to share your kind words with us about your recent stay at our property. We are delighted to know that you found our staff to be accommodating and our location great. We do apologize if upon check-in you weren't informed of our elevator. Typically this is pointed out to each guest upon arrival along with a wealth of other information regarding the property. Otherwise, anyone on our staff would have been more than happy to assist you with your luggage - just ask! Still, we are glad to read that you enjoyed your vacation with us and hope to see you again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We selected this hotel because of the reviews but we were very disappointed. This hotel has not been remodeled as some of the reviews stated. The TV was not HD and when a door opened in the hallway, it sounded like our room door was opening. The AC was not the best. Thank goodness it was not hot at night. Friends has left us a welcome gift at the front desk and they never contacted us. There excuse was "they couldn't read the name." A bit of common sense would have solved the issue but instead, seems they couldn't take some extra effort to provide decent customer service. We won't be going back there again.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carterseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to give us your comments about your recent stay and the issue you encountered. We are saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your time at our property. We do wish you would have let us know while you were here that the A/C in your room wasn't working properly so that we could have addressed it at that time. As for our rooms, each room has just been outfitted with new comforters, varied pillow options and new balcony furniture. Also, every winter each room receives a fresh coat of paint and repairs as needed. We are surprised you did not find them to your liking.

I did have a chance to speak to the staff regarding the wedding welcome gift that you were to receive from your friends. Our front desk strives diligently to hand these out to wedding guests as they arrive, as a simple courtesy to the bride and groom. Unfortunately, sometimes the names provided to us on these items from the wedding couple don't always match up to the names that folks actually reserved their room under. The last name written on your gift was not the same as was on your reservation. Therefore, we were uncertain as to whom this gift belonged. Once the wedding guests had checked in and we still had this item in our possession, we contacted the groom and inquired with him. He did not recognize the name either, but said he would take the gift with him and get it to whomever it was intended for. We do apologize if this dampened your visit with the other wedding guests, but we did make efforts to remedy this matter.

Again, we thank you for your comments and hope that your future vacations are pleasant.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.1 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
509 reviews
5.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
63 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,504 reviews
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Shallotte
Days Inn Shallotte
#1 of 3 in Shallotte
423 reviews
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Shallotte
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Isle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Isle Inn

Property: Ocean Isle Inn
Address: 37 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Isle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the coast of southeastern North Carolina is the Ocean Isle Inn. An Oceanfront property which is the perfect oasis for leisure travel, beach weddings, golf outings, family reunions or even business. Enjoy our beaches and all the amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Isle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Isle Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Hotel Ocean Isle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing