We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, hospitable, and reasonable”
Review of Ocean Isle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Isle Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, NC
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Simple, hospitable, and reasonable”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I spent four days/three nights here and had a wonderful time. This is a simple beachfront property and what you are paying for is the old real estate mantra of "location, location, location". It could not be better situated on the island. We had an oceanfront room on the second floor, with a balcony and rocking chairs. The room was clean, the bed was comfy, the linens were soft, there was an ample size fridge, a microwave, a coffee maker, a hair dryer, and cable TV. Continental breakfast was included. There are books in the office which can be borrowed. It's convenient to lots of restaurants and attractions. Plenty of parking. AC worked well and there was no mildew or staining to be seen.

If you have mobility issues you will likely find the Ocean Isle Inn a bit of a challenge. It is a horizontally oriented building and there is only one elevator, at one end. If your room is at the far end you will spend a lot of time either going down the corridor to the elevator, or going up and down one of the many staircases. We specifically requested a room far away from the elevator, and got it, but then again we are not struggling with bad hips or knees (yet), so the stairs were not an issue. Also, all the "extras" are at the elevator end of the building: the breakfast room, the pool, the ice/vending machines.

My one real complaint is that the soundproofing is completely inadequate. We were treated to a variety of entertaining noises from the adjacent room and its occupants, plus those in the room across the hall. The management should really do something about beefing up the insulation.

If you are looking for deluxe accommodations with name brand soaps, plush rugs, cooked-to-order omelets, and cushy surroundings, this place is not for you. The furnishings have seen better days. The table in our room was so rickety we used it only for newspapers, nothing heavier. Storage space is minimal. It's wonderful that they provided a coffee maker in the room but the electrical cord was so short it took a lot of maneuvering to figure out where to plug it in. But the view was amazing, the place was very clean, and the value was impressive. They even graciously agreed for us to have a late checkout when we asked. Relax and enjoy is my advice! I would definitely return. Thank you Ocean Isle Inn!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EllenRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking time to offer us your comments about your recent stay at our property. We are happy to hear that you had a nice time while with us and found us to be "simple, hospitable and reasonable." We do apologize for any noise disturbances you may have encountered from other rooms close to yours. We would have been more than happy to address this during your stay. Sometimes folks don't realize how much noise can transfer from one room to another if they are being loud. Still, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again during your visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    251
    96
    26
    17
See reviews for
299
255
40
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were in need of a last minute hotel stay and were between this hotel and the Islander next door. Both hotels were small buildings connected by outdoor walkways with LOTS of stairs. The Ocean Isle had 1 elevator in the middle of the buildings but it still required stairs and going in and out of doors and hallways quite a bit. Older persons in our party had a difficult time with this. We did find our room clean, if a bit outdated (rusty shelves in the bathroom, older tv, etc). The beds and pillows were comfortable and the ocean view was amazing.
Breakfast was lacking if you are in the mood for anything other than carbs, or if you suffer from gluten allergies which I do. Waffles, toast, bagels, cereal, oatmeal, juice, basically if it's a carb, they probably had it. Wish the fruit was more than the sugary fruit cocktails in a plastic cup, but there was fresh yogurt and a microwave if you wanted to bring something to heat up.
The pool area outside was clean and well manicured and was enjoyed only by the hotel cats who were drinking from it and peeing on the pool covers and planters. In fact the cats seemed to roam wherever they pleased outside, on cars, on the stairs. The owners leave food for them outside the office so that is where they mostly gather.
I would say that overall this was just an okay stay. It fit the bill for what we needed but I would have a hard time paying the summer prices for this same type of accommodations.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is so close that you can hear the ocean. Beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinmama03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to offer us your comments about your recent stay at our property. We always appreciate getting feedback, as it shows us where we excel and where improvements can be made. We are delighted hearing that you found our beds and pillows to be comfortable and the ocean view was amazing. We also appreciate you letting us know about the rust spot you found on the bathroom shelving so that we may address that. Being on the beach, rust can pop up in the most unexpected places, even though we continually strive to keep our property well maintained and in proper order. Again, we thank you for your patronage and your review. Hopefully, if given the opportunity we can be of service to you again.

Safe Travels

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, VA
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This review will be a mixed one. The front desk staff was a little moody, sometimes friendly, sometimes not. The breakfast is "how would you like your carbs?" Cereal, bread for toast, bagels, muffins, make-your-own-waffles and oatmeal. Fruit was limited to individual cups of fruit cocktail. There was also some yogurt in the refrigerator and 3 kinds of juices to dispense. Coffee was average.
The view from the oceanfront rooms is amazing, but that's a given, right? The rooms seemed to vary a little. We had an old tv so that when we watched it we only saw the picture in the middle third. One of our friends had a newer flat screen in the same kind of room. The rooms were a good size and very clean. Some items in the bathrooms were rusty and look like they need to be replaced. The beds are very comfortable with a good choice of pillows. The furnishings are adequate. Lighting in the room is good. There are only a few plugs available for electronics.
The layout of the place (like The Islander next door) is a series of small buildings with outdoor walkways in between. This means that most trips involve opening doors, walking outside and up/down stairs even though there is an elevator. During inclement/rainy/windy weather it is daunting.
We saw the same blown off pieces of vinyl siding lying on the walkways the entire time we were there. Feral (?) or at least free-roaming cats are fed outside the office door. We observed them peeing on various things and climbing on the roofs of cars, including one with 30 day tags. Oops. The indoor pool area looked inviting and clean but we didn't use it.
Great location. Great beach. Just maybe needs a little bit more to be a top notch hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and go for the oceanfront rooms. The balcony and view are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackandtara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to offer us your comments regarding your recent stay at our property. We are happy that you and your family found our rooms to be clean and our beds comfortable. Many guests tell us that they have had the best nights sleep here. We are dismayed to read that you found our breakfast to be lacking. Typically folks are quite pleased with variety we offer, as it is far above the typical donut and coffee served on a continental breakfast. You also mentioned encountering a moody employee. Please accept our sincerest apologies for this. We do want all of our employees to demonstrate cheerful hospitality towards our guests. Also, yes. There are feral cats that live on our island. We have worked diligently with a local animal group to see that they are spayed or neutered and given their vaccinations and remain healthy. We do choose to feed them as this keeps them from foraging for food in the trash and littering the property and island. We are sorry if they were a nuisance to you. We are a small, family-owned inn, but we do strive earnestly to keep our facility well maintained and functioning. Again, we truly do appreciate your comments both the good and not so good. It is only when we receive feedback such as yours, that we can see where we can improve. We bid you many safe travels in the future and hope to have you with us again if you're ever back in the area.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

The price was good. Great view from our balcony. We used the heated indoor pool and hot tub a number of times. It was wonderful. Breakfast was included and it was adequate. Mostly carbs but it was something to fill your tummy. Overall, a good experience. I would stay there again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hippienerdbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking time to give us your feedback about your recent stay with us. We're happy to read that you had such a wonderful time while visiting our property. We enjoy hearing what our guests have to say about us and how they feel about our Inn. We're glad you were able to enjoy our indoor heated pool and hot tub. Perhaps you can visit us again during the warmer seasons and make use of our larger, oceanfront outdoor pool, although, we'd be delighted to have you with us anytime.

Safe Travels,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We picked a tough week for a trip to the North Carolina coast - right in the middle of the recent ice storm. But the Ocean Isle Inn was open and functioning. No complaints from us - this is a decent beach style hotel - great location right on the beach. Room was nice and I'm sure during the summer having the beach access is fantastic. Staff was courteous and helpful during our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to share your kinds words about your recent stay at our facility. We are delighted to hear that you found our Inn to be nice and our staff pleasant and helpful. Indeed, the winter ice storm made for some less than ideal travel situations for much of the east coast. Still, we were dedicated to offering the best service and comfortable accommodations to our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again and perhaps next time mother nature will provide more of the warmth and sunshine we are accustomed to at the Ocean Isle Inn.

Safe Travels,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My wife and I visited November 19th and 20th for business and vacation. The area was nice and the room was ok until: The door wouldn't lock securely. We told the front desk and they said no one here until tomorrow morning. They gave us another room, since their may have been only 10 rooms rented that night. The room was not as good as it over looked the parking lot. We were told that it would be fixed the next day and she was let us know. Never heard a word or did they fix it quickly the next day. The attitude of most of the employees we met was average at best. The room(s) were nice, clean and no complaints. The personnel was poor------------maybe not many places in the area as far as hotels so they have an attitude. Probably would not stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your comments about your recent stay at out property. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the lock to your room. We are saddened to hear that your interaction with our desk clerk was less than pleasant. We do appreciate you relaying this to us and we will take appropriate measures. Rest assured that we do value each of our guests and want them to feel welcomed at our property. We hope that you will give us another chance to be of service to you.

Kind regards
Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was our 1st stay at Ocean Isle Inn and we stayed October 17 and 18 in an oceanfront room. We usually stay next door at the Islander Inn when we bring our dog as Ocean Isle Inn doesn't allow them. Both hotels are basically the same although this one seems to be maintained better. The landscaping around the pool area is very nice, the indoor heated pool was warmer than the Islander Inn's and the breakfast room was nicer. The room countertops were more recently updated and the bedding was more modern. (no yucky outdated thin bedspread). Upon checkin we were taken into the hallway where we were told and shown where everything is, very helpful even though the place is small enough that it really isn't necessary. Some minor complaints - the bathroom countertops were not clean (some smudges). No white bread for toast (only wheat) in breakfast room either day. Dogs not accepted. Ocean Isle Inn should look at revising this policy especially since there is no carpet in the rooms. Overall - we will definitely stay here again if we don't travel with the dog, otherwise it will be pet friendly Islander Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for sharing you comments about your recent stay with us. It is pleasing for us to know that you enjoyed our property and its amenities. We do strive diligently to keep our property well maintained and we're happy you noticed. We're sorry we could not accommodate your four-legged family member, although we do love pets. This is due to the fact that separate laundry facilities would be required to prevent transference of pet hair into other non pet-friendly rooms and linens. Ocean Isle Beach is a wonderful area in which to vacation and we're delighted you chose to stay with us. We look forward to having you lodge with us again during your next visit to the area.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.1 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
512 reviews
5.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
64 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,538 reviews
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Shallotte
Days Inn Shallotte
#1 of 3 in Shallotte
435 reviews
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Shallotte
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Isle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Isle Inn

Property: Ocean Isle Inn
Address: 37 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Isle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the coast of southeastern North Carolina is the Ocean Isle Inn. An Oceanfront property which is the perfect oasis for leisure travel, beach weddings, golf outings, family reunions or even business. Enjoy our beaches and all the amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Isle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Isle Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Hotel Ocean Isle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing