We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay when you aren't looking to rent a house for a week.”
Review of Ocean Isle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Isle Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Westerville, Ohio
1 review
“Great place to stay when you aren't looking to rent a house for a week.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We only had time for a long weekend at the beach this summer. I really wanted an ocean front room without a big crowd on the beach in front of it. This was a perfect! The rooms were clean and comfortable, the private balcony with rockers and table was wonderful, breakfast was easy and average for a hotel continental style buffet. The best part was that since it is a two floor hotel instead of a high rise and the rooms are comfortably spaced in separate blocks of units, there was no crowding out on the beach. It was very similar to getting a house, but without the week commitment and with maid service as needed. The location is very convenient to the causeway and the pier, without being too close for comfort. The staff was friendly and helpful. I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ocean front is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind words about your recent stay at our facility. We really appreciate hearing what our guests have to say about our inn and our staff. Indeed, Ocean Isle Beach is an uncrowded destination for a beach vacation and our central location on the island does make it very convenient to get to the local shops and restaurants. I will sure to pass along your remarks to the entire staff. We look forward to having you stay with us again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Safe Travels

Tracy A. Spencer
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    249
    94
    25
    15
See reviews for
290
253
40
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I do not recommend this place to anyone. When we checked in, the floor to our room was covered with sand from the previous guest. In watching the maids, they just sweep the floor and dont vacuum it up. It was not pleasant at all.

The worst part of our trip was that all of the rooms are connected by a metal door. Ordinarily this wouldn't be a big deal, but because the doors are metal and the floors are tile, the noise travels. For some reason the front desk decided it was a good idea to put us next to a wedding party. The wedding party would come back to the hotel in the middle of the night (two nights in a row) and wake us up. We could hear EVERYTHING!!! You can hear breathing, snoring, ice in their glass, etc. After two nights of this, we had enough and we checked out a night early. It was the worst hotel stay I have every had.

Also, the spa area was disgusting. The inside pool looked like it had never been cleaned, there were literally balls of hair floating around on the floor. Absolutely disgusting.

We will never go back and would highly discourage anyone else from staying there as well.

Room Tip: there are no good rooms in this hotel. They are all connected to the room next to them and you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to share you comments with us about your recent stay at our facility. We are dismayed to read that your stay was not as pleasant as it could have been. Our staff wants nothing more than for our guests to be comfortable and happy while with us, as such, we would have more than willing to address the noise situation from the room next to yours at the time it occurred. We don't ever want our guests respite to be impeded upon by others. Please accept our apologies. You also stated that our indoor pool and spa were disgusting and appeared to have never been cleaned. Please know that our pools are serviced and cleaned every single morning by licensed professionals. They are also checked upon during the day by our maintenance and cleaning staff and issues addressed as they are needed.

Again, thank you for sharing your comments.

Kind regards,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This place was downright bad. The room was unclean. We had to ask for more wash rags because there was only ever one left in our room. Breakfast which was included was nasty. We overbooked our stay by total mistake, so we ended up paying for an extra day which we could not use. I understand it's hard to rent a room at late notice but this was a booking mistake and they were not willing to work with us at all on it. They advised me to contact Expedia and jump through all these hoops to try and resolve it and after doing all of that were still not willing to do anything about it. Waste of money, waste of time, waste of vacation. Do yourself a huge favor and stay away from this place.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at our property. You mentioned a few specific things about your stay and I would like the address them.

First you state that the room was unclean and you were only provided with 1 wash cloth. Our housekeeping department has consistently been awarded the Gold Star of Excellence from the Myrtle Beach Area Hospitality Association. The Gold Star of Excellence Awards are the way businesses are recognized that have exemplary cleanliness. Furthermore, our rooms are inspected prior to each check-in by our dedicated staff to assure cleanliness and that each room has been supplied with the proper in-room amenities, such as coffee, soaps etc. This includes a set of 4 washcloths and 4 bath towels. These are replaced each day during housekeeping service, unless a guest has the privacy tag affixed to their room door, in which case they are left a voicemail on the room phone stating that these items can be furnished by contacting the front desk staff, 24 hours a day.

Secondly, you stated that our breakfast was "nasty." We do understand that different folks like different things to eat and as such we try to provide a good variety of items on our free breakfast, which the majority of our guests appreciate and enjoy. Our deluxe continental breakfast has a variety of muffins, bagels, cold cereals, fruit and yogurt cups, coffee, tea and juices along with bacon, egg & cheese biscuits and sausage biscuits. We also have make your own belgian waffles, which our guests rave about. We're sorry that you felt all of these items were nasty.

Lastly, you mentioned that you made an error on your stay dates when booking with Expedia. The booking and cancellation policy we have in place with Expedia states that any changes must be made at least 3 days prior to the arrival date and that we cannot issue refunds for early departures. If the mistake had been made by us we would have accepted responsibility for our action and worked with Expedia to issue a refund. However, this was not the case. We're sorry this made you feel like your time here was a "waste of money, waste of time, waste of vacation."

Again, thank you for taking time to share your comments with us and our customers. We realize that we will not able to please every single customer, but the overwhelming majority of our guests are happy with the accommodations and service they receive at our facility, with many returning to stay year after year.

Safe Travels,

Tracy A. Spencer
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reidsville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed in an oceanfront room with a private balcony. The beds were extremely comfortable. We liked the ceramic tile floors due to being at the sandy beach. We also enjoyed having breakfast right downstairs, and there was plenty for breakfast. The price is outstanding. The staff were very friendly and helpful since it was our first trip to Ocean Isle. The location is great..close to the pier, shops, and dining. I can't say enough good things about Ocean Isle Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ASW1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for sharing your kind words with us regarding your recent stay at our property. It is rewarding for us to get such feedback as yours. We are happy reading that you had such a wonderful first experience staying with us. Indeed, our central location on the island makes it very convenient to walk to the nearby shops and eateries, as well as the fishing pier. We're glad you enjoyed the breakfast each morning we provide free of charge. I will be sure to pass along your remarks to the staff. They really do work hard and enjoy getting to know and help our guests. We hope to have to stay with us again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Safe Travels

Tracy A. Spencer
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a wonderful small hotel that offers oceanfront rooms and balconies. Very clean and well kept. The staff is friendly and service is terrific. The breakfast choices were very good for a free breakfast, biscuits, waffles, healthy choices too.

Room Tip: Go for oceanfront, even though the sound view rooms are larger, nothing beats the sound of the surf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind words about our property and our staff. We always appreciate hearing what our guests have to say about their stay with us. Our entire staff works hard to assure that each of guests enjoy their time with and that our facility is clean and well maintained. We're glad you noticed! Again, thank you so much sharing your comments with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Safe Travels

Tracy A. Spencer
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Inn staff were pleasant and enjoyed being on a quite beach area. No commercial hotels! This Inn is however dated! I would like to make one suggestion... If you have a wedding party to accommodate you might locate them all together in one of your buildings! Please put families with children away from the party! We were awaken two nights of our stay by the bride and groom coming in around four in the morning! They were so loud and "everything" could be heard from the joining door! A tip... turn your AC as high as the fan will go, to muffle the sounds you would not like your children to hear! The bed for me, was too soft. I prefer a firm bed and realize most hotels do have choices.
We left before our third night, not only from the noisy neighbors but from the rainy weather. We would have stayed, if we had a beach view to off set the rainy day! Breakfast was not for me but others seemed to enjoy it!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at our facility. We are sorry that noisy neighbors caused you to lose sleep. We would have been more than willing to address this situation at the time on your behalf, as we don't want any of our guests to lose sleep because of situations like this. Please accept our apologies. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our service and our facility. I will be sharing your thoughts and comments with the management team. Perhaps during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach you'll stop in again.

Safe Travels

Tracy A. Spencer
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We rent a house every year in OIB in early summer and had a hankering for a late summer quick escape. We chose a sound-view room since we knew we wouldn't be in the room much, but the view was pretty even though it wasn't ocean front. The room was spacious and attractive, well appointed with fridge, microwave, coffee maker, etc. Check in was smooth and staff was very friendly and helpful and even let us park & change into beach clothes when we had arrived early (about 1 pm for a 3 pm check in.) I would 100% stay here again for this kind of trip and at this price.

Pluses: right on the beach, nice indoor/outdoor pool, breakfast included (standard hotel fare but well done) great price for a last-minute, midweek stay. We even watched shooting stars from the hotel beach access!

Negatives: the soundview rooms are cheaper but do get some street noise since you're on that side. The AC was loud enough to cover most of those noises, although I wish there were a way to keep the fan on continuously (it shuts off and on as needed to maintain room temp, which is what it's supposed to do-- I just wish I could have set the fan to stay on or that the rooms had ceiling fans.) The beds were the kind of soft "pillow top" that were not to my taste but they were certainly new and in good shape. For some reason on this trip, lots of the other hotel guests who were near us on the beach were smokers, which the hotel can't control, I know-- as a matter of fact the whole hotel property is non smoking, but OIB itself allows smoking. If I were a business owner in OIB I might work with the town council on a beach smoking ban-- I know it's been discussed over the years. One of the reasons we choose a house over a hotel for most of our OIB stays is because there's likelihood of having someone so close to you on the beach smoking.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms have better views but a few flights of stairs to climb. Sound view rooms still have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsdbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanisleinn, Social Media Director at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking to to give us and our customers your thoughts about your recent stay at our property. We are delighted to hear that you had such and enjoyable time while with us. It is rewarding for us to know that our guests find our rooms clean and comfortable and our staff friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed the views of the waterway and bridge from your Soundview room. Indeed, we are a smoke-free facility and we do find that the overwhelming majority of our guests, such as yourself, appreciate this. But as you mentioned, we have no control over smoking on the public beach strand. Again, thank you so much for your kind words and we look forward to having you stay with us again during your next visit to Ocean Isle Beach.

Safe Travels,

Tracy A. Spencer
Social Media Director
The Ocean Isle Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.1 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
508 reviews
5.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
63 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,501 reviews
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Shallotte
Days Inn Shallotte
#1 of 3 in Shallotte
422 reviews
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Shallotte
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Isle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Isle Inn

Property: Ocean Isle Inn
Address: 37 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Isle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the coast of southeastern North Carolina is the Ocean Isle Inn. An Oceanfront property which is the perfect oasis for leisure travel, beach weddings, golf outings, family reunions or even business. Enjoy our beaches and all the amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Isle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Isle Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Hotel Ocean Isle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing