We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but probably won't go back.”
Review of Ocean Isle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Isle Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Elk Grove village, IL
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Nice but probably won't go back.”
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We arrived at Ocean Isle Inn and were happy to be checked in early- in July! The stone parking lot is under the units- so wear your shoes if you walk that way to the beach. The room was tiled- I know tile would last longer then carpet with all the sand that is brought in but with me with a broken foot, I was worried about slipping on the tile. (There was a small area rug by the bed.) It seemed to me that when I got out of the shower, and walked across the room to get something, my feet always felt sandy. This is the first place out of 10 hotels/ condo's we have stayed at that didn't have carpet. We had a sound view room and were disappointed to see that there were no balcony's. We wondered where we were supposed to hang up our wet suits and towels. There was very little clothing storage- seeing that we were staying a week. The dresser was tiny- my husband called it a doll dresser. My son was able to get his clothes in the dresser, my husband lived out of a suitcase, and I hung my clothes up. The lack of storage would be fine for a couple of days stay but, after staying at 9 other places, we were accustomed to having plenty of clothes storage. The room has a mini refridgerator. The freezer never got cold enough to freeze anything and I couldn't find a temperature button on it. There was no kitchen in the room but had a bar type countertop. My parents stayed here also and there room had no counter space. Ask if you need that! The breakfast was awesome! Better then anywhere we have ever stayed. (I am comparing the fact that we have spent 23 nights in hotels in the past year.) The beach was beautiful and large- the deepest beach we have ever seen. The beach is not lifeguarded which was scarry since my husband and son saw a 5-6 foot shark 2 foot away from them. We are always in the ocean and don't worry particularily about sharks but did stop to think what would have happened if someone had gotten bitten. The outdoor pool was freezing! I got in and got out. The indoor pool was a little warmer. The hottub was wonderful! This is a beautiful community- no small beach shacks here. The room was clean and the maid came promptly when we put the sign out. We had a good time but I thought you should know the exact pro's and con's before coming here. Whether you like it will probably depend on what you are expecting, where you have been before, and how long you stay. We prefer Ocean Isle Beach to Myrtle Beach or North Myrtle Beach- not so much traffic and a much wider beach. Also, it faces south and not east so you don't have the sun in your eyes when you look out at the beach in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnetteB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanisleinn, Manager at Ocean Isle Inn, responded to this review, 30 July 2009
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your comments about our hotel. Even though all of them were not positive, I rather know what the issues were instead of never hearing about them. I realize you prefer carpet in rooms. We decided years ago to tile are rooms due to that carpeting on the beach tends to stay moist causing a musty odor to rooms. I understand that not everybody likes the tile but the pros have out weighed the cons especially to our guest satisfaction. The Oceanfront rooms do have a balcony which people do use to dry their beach and pool towels. The sound view rooms do not have balconies which can present a problem for those who want to hang their towels to dry. We are coming up with solutions for this situation and hope to have something in place soon for those guests staying in our sound view rooms.

You also mentioned that there was not enough storage space for clothes. It seems like you do a lot of traveling and are in need of ample drawer and closet space. Since you like Ocean Isle Beach and are probably going to return I would like to suggest that you might be more comfortable in one of our vacation rental properties made available by our parent company Sloane Realty. They have the largest inventory of properties on Ocean Isle Beach. You can rent a one bedroom condo to a multiple bedroom house. A large majority of the units are ocean view.
The Ocean Isle Inn may not be the right fit for you regarding your needs for accommodations, but we still want you to come back and enjoy Ocean Isle Beach. I also thank you for the positive comments you made about are Inn. Our priority is make sure our visitors to our island have a stay that exceeds their expectations. If we can ever be of assistance to you in finding a place for you please do not hesitate to contact us.
Again thank you for your comments. we are always striving to improve and the only way to do that is to hear what your guests think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    240
    91
    25
    15
See reviews for
276
243
40
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NC
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2009

We stayed at the Ocean Isle Inn for three nights. Let me tell you, it was fabulous! Peaceful, family-friendly, clean, beautiful, we had a wonderful time and the staff was really friendly and helpful! I like the tile floors in the rooms, which really cut out the mildewy smell with beach carpet. The extended continental breakfast was the perfect start to our day, with waffles, bagels, fruit, you name it! There is a microwave and a refrigerator in the room, so you can save restaurant leftovers or store your own food. You can also bring a small grill and cook on the grassy area.

I love that the pool starts at 2 feet deep, my three-year old was ecstatic that she could swim without her life preserver! The beach in front of the hotel was pristine, and not too crowded.

It's been a while since we have taken a vacation purely with my husband, me and the girls, and it was a sweet time of bonding for us. The kids were happy the whole time, and we were so relaxed!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealLifeSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

I stayed for 6 days at the Inn from the 31st to 5th of June. I cannot say enough good things about this Inn. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The Inn is clean and well appointed. The pools are wonderful and you are only steps away from the quietest part of the Beach and nearby pier. You cannot go wrong staying here. The only thing missing was a DVD player but then who needs to watch movies when there is a beach waiting on you!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clower001968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myrtle beach
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2009

When I checked in to this beautiful hotel I was amazed by how clean this property is.
The staff is so nice and hospitable. You will have a nice little continental breakfast
which is complimentary, you also have a coffee pot and a mini frig in the well appointed
and extremely comfortable room. There is an indoor pool which is warm to the touch,
and a hot tub that is actually hot! What a welcome surprise. The outside pool is so lovely and inviting with the indigenous Palm Trees and natural floral which covers the borders of this hotel. I have to travel with my job all the time. It is so rare you can find a place like Ocean Isle Inn which is away from everything and just a couple minutes to good restaurants and nightlife.My grandchildren loved the hotel and did not want to leave ,nether did I. I will return everytime I have the opportunity.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenMyrtlebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC mountains
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2009

I am so excited to be returning to the Ocean Isle Inn after 2 summers absence. I am usually there every summer, at least 1-2 times! The rooms are pleasant, the beach is amazing, and staff pleasant & helpful. It feels like home, without the stress... kids LOVE the pool & hot tubs... I love the sailboat rides and the beach chair service. I always feel like a queen there :)

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnebrittB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nc
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2009

The inn was easy to find. Check-in was smooth and easy with really friendly staff. The rooms have a great tropical feel with an amazing view ocean and access to the beach. I was looking for a place to bring the family for a vacation and I don't have to look any further we're coming back to the Ocean Isle Inn!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachluvrNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldsboro, nc
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2009

I was very happy with this hotel. The rooms were nice and the service was excellent. The continental breakfast was very good. This is a peaceful location with great views of the ocean. Also had a great meal at a local restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghf353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
0.1 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
5.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
15.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
13.9 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Isle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Isle Inn

Property: Ocean Isle Inn
Address: 37 W First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7508
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Isle Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the coast of southeastern North Carolina is the Ocean Isle Inn. An Oceanfront property which is the perfect oasis for leisure travel, beach weddings, golf outings, family reunions or even business. Enjoy our beaches and all the amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Isle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Isle Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
Hotel Ocean Isle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing