We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Winds Resort Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Winds Resort Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beach paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

The Winds is a fantastic place to stay at Ocean Isle Beach. We've been going back there for 15 years. It's quiet, the staff is fantastic, and the beachfront rooms can't be beat. We've stayed in all types of rooms there, from a room with double beds to a double bedroom unit with a full kitchen. The hot breakfast is wonderful, and the staff is always friendly. I would definitely recommend The Winds if you've planning a trip to Ocean Isle.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jama001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    152
    58
    22
    24
See reviews for
244
233
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

The Winds offers a great vacation! The pools are lovely and the ocean view and beach is one of the finest on the East Coast! Come, Stay and Play....you will glad you did!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimmiePatrice13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

We bought the "couple's getaway" package! An excellent value for a beach trip. It was a wonderful stay and came with massages and a gift basket!! Oceanfront suite! These packages you can get in the off season are such a great deal (we've been here for several stays over the years.) I've come here with our older children and stayed in a variety of rooms of the years as well. Our cozy suite was clean, cozy and very comfortable. We love the tropical feel of the gardens and the fountains, the sound and view of the ocean. We love the little places they have to sit or picnic or play a board game, in different places throughout the garden. There's a walkway right out to the beach. The one thing we would like to see improved is the hot breakfast bar, offering some other options and perhaps trying a different egg recipe, but plenty of people enjoy it and the people who work in the breakfast area are very friendly and welcoming, and the dining area is relaxing, and you can eat outside in a garden area if you wish. We ate at some wonderful restaurants in the area - Grapevine in Calabash, and Cinelli's in Ocean Isle. We got some delicious, fresh take out for a picnic at Causeway Gourmet (OIB). We found the food to be delicious, fresh and unique at all three places! We had fun shopping in Calabash at the big giftshop there (across the street from Grapevine.) We wish we could've stayed longer. We didn't have a chance this time but we usually love the ping pong, swimming, and bicycling around the island. We enjoyed sitting in the rockers on our porch and listening to the ocean. Their onsite restaurant or room service (Tiki) is seasonal but when we've ordered in the past everything was delicious. Staff is wonderful. We definitely recommend and will return again.

Room Tip: Online at their site - specials, coupons, bidding
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCMom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

My family and I just returned from a 4-night stay at The Winds and I've arrived at the conclusion that the property is the epitome of "A-OK."

The major plus of the property is obviously its stellar oceanfront location - it's an amazing feeling to wake up every morning and have the ocean right outside your front door/balcony. The views are fantastic and the beach is clean and uncrowded.

Speaking of the balcony, it's a pretty major negative. The balconies aren't really balconies - they are a couple chairs sitting outside your front door in the walkway/boardwalk between rooms. You are basically sitting in the hallway of the rows of rooms on each floor. Privacy is nil. If you want to sit out on the deck with your sweetheart and a bottle of wine and stare out at the ocean, be prepared to have a couple people clomping past (the floors are noisy wood boards) and obstructing your view from time to time. Luckily, we were there in the offseason and there were very few other guests.

You also get the general feeling that the entire property is really in need of major upgrades in almost every area. The appliances in the rooms are hopelessly outdated (a non-digital microwave oven? I hadn't turned a knob on one of these since I was about 7) and the wallpaper is peeling everywhere you look. The electrical system also seems wonky, as outlets would be non-functional about 50% of the time (and when the number of outlets in the rooms is already limited, this becomes a problem when traveling with all of the modern electronic devices - cell phone charger, iPod charger, laptops, etc.). I also tried using the property's free wi-fi and it was constantly on and off, and pretty useless. My room only got 3 bars of signal, so I'm not sure where it originates.

As for the free breakfast every morning, it's decent, but nothing special. There are waffles that you have to toast yourself, and Little Debbie-esque pastries. The eggs were cold every morning, and the cereal choices were limited to Frosted Flakes and Raisin Bran. Still, it was free (well, included in the cost), so I won't complain too loudly.

The Tiki Bar by the outdoor pool was closed on my visit, unfortunately, and looked like it was set to open on the day of my departure. C'est la vie. There is an indoor pool, but it's across the street in a storage shed kinda building that you would never guess held an indoor pool unless you asked at the front desk.

Overall, I'll probably look elsewhere for a place to stay on my next visit to OIB, which might not be for a while, as this town was S-L-E-E-P-Y last week. Yes, I know it's the offseason, but it was so dead that I felt like I was in a Stephen King novel. Also, restaurant choices in this town are pathetic. For a "tourist" town, there ain't much going on. The place seems geared toward the 70+ year old white golfer crowd, of which I am only 1 of the 3.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djanimosity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

My wife and family have stayed here many times since the 1990's because it is terrific. The setting, the rooms and the staff are excellent. Every room we've stayed in was clean & comfortable. The breakfast bar is always fresh & enjoyable. Staff always friendly & helpful. There are good restaurants on the island & nearby across the bridge. Everything you're looking for is right here.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bairdhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

Overall I would rate The Winds excellent! We found you online surfing for a vacation in NC. Thank you for your excellent service and kindness. Thank you for a wonderful time Great!! Service!! Stephanie Lois and the breakfast lady were all wonderful. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsMDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldtown, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

My wife and I have been enjoying stays at The Winds for many years. Our latest visit, this month, met our high expectations in every way. The office, housekeeping, and food service staff were all friendly and efficient. Our rooms were immaculate and quiet. The breakfast meals offered variety and were scrumptious. The plantings of lush sub tropical palms, bananna trees, and oleanders, just outside the rooms, and fronting the ocean, lend privacy and and a pleasant seclusion to the stay.

We highly recommend The Winds to all prospective visitors.

The Powers of Maryland.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeyface15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
1.7 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.8 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
15.6 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#4 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
24.9 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#2 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winds Resort Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winds Resort Beach Club

Property: The Winds Resort Beach Club
Address: 310 E First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Winds Resort Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical island escape... Closer than you think! A small, intimate island resort. Ideal for vacations, romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, reunions, golf excursions or small meetings. Located in the Northernmost subtropical region on the east coast. The Winds is set oceanfront surrounded by palms, banana trees and hibiscus flowers. Oceanfront rooms, suites and Resort Cottages. Three pools (one indoor), hot Southern breakfast buffet, oceanfront, poolside TikiBar/Restaurant (and more). Golf on over 90 area courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Winds Resort Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winds Resort Beach Club Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
The Winds Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing