We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place "Ever".”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Winds Resort Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Great place, Staff are so accommodating, booked a place in N. Myrtle Beach that was unfit for anything, called The Winds and the Staff worked their magic and got me and my dog in. Diffently will be back. This is First Class all the way!

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank 1hurricane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We are sorry that your hotel in Myrtle Beach didn't work out but so happy that it brought you to us and that we were able to make your vacation better! We are so glad that you and your dog both enjoyed your The Winds and we look forward to having you back to stay with us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

The Winds is a great oceanfront resort. I would suggest staying in the oceanfront suites, as they have beautiful, full-on views of the ocean. Be advised that garden view rooms are across the street from the oceanfront side of the resort. Renovations seem to be underway to keep up and maintain the property, but did not get in the way.

The beaches are well kept. The pools are nice, but a bit small for the resort, with very little seating. The rooms are a bit dated, but nothing terrible. Oceanfront rooms are spacious and well stocked with dishes, flatware and cookware. We are a family of three and had a 2 BR oceanfront room. It was very comfortable. I would not suggest trying to fit two adult couples plus kids in a 2 BR unit- go for the 3 BR for that.

Breakfast was included each morning. Pretty much the same food every day - for hot food: scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, make-your-own Belgian waffles, biscuits/gravy and a rotating starch like home fries or corned beef hash. Also included: cereals, fruit, toast/pastries etc., breakfast beverages (milk, juices, coffee, tea). So plenty to eat, but it doesn't vary much.

There are weekly parties on select evenings (in-season) by the pool. People had a lot of fun and made new friends. There is a restaurant/bar on site with your basic bar foods and a good selection for kids food. We cooked in, so I cannot speak for the food quality.

Staff was polite and check-in/check-out was easy. Parking is a bit hit or miss. You may have to park across the street if the oceanside parking is full -- that said, you won't be left without a spot, it just may not be convenient.

All-in-all, we'd go back - but definitely back to the oceanfront rooms.

Room Tip: Go for the oceanfront rooms. nay of them will make for a much better vacation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodCriticNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We appreciate all of your wonderful comments about our resort, including our breakfast buffet, the rooms, the beach, and our special events for guests. You are right sometimes the view is worth the upgrade. We are so glad they you and your family enjoyed your vacation and we look forward to having you back to stay with us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We were here for a wedding in nearby Shallotte NC, and looking for a nice weekend retreat on the beach, but not too much. As it was Labor Day weekend, we didn't think it was possible. However, The Winds delivered. We called them directly to book, and were offered a fantastic room - a corner ocean view with dual aspects. The resort was tucked away, and you might never know how many hot tubs, pools, bbq's and what-not were available for your convenience. We loved using the free bikes. We also loved the rockers on the porch. The Tiki bar was a hit with the family, and the bartenders, as nearly all the staff, were super friendly. The free breakfast bar (hot) was a surprise and very tasty. If we had stayed longer than 2 nights we would have rented the beach chairs and umbrellas - clean ones put out every day. We actually tried to extend an additional night, but they were fully booked. I highly recommend for a nice NC old-style resort on a nice friendly family beach. Well done!

Room Tip: As for a corner room and ocean front, if you can afford - highly recommended for couples. Those with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patchcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others and thank you for writing such a wonderful review. We appreciate all of your comments about the different amenities found at The Winds, and how much you enjoyed the Tiki Bar and breakfast buffet. We hope you enjoyed the wedding and if you're in the area again we hope you'll be back to stay with us!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have six kids and often have a hard time finding a decent place to stay but this place meet all our needs. The staff was nice and courteous. The place was very clean, lots of room, right on the beach, and had a lovely décor. This would be a great place even just for couples. I really enjoyed the rocking chairs on the balcony and the secluded feeling of the resort. The free breakfast was good also.

Room Tip: Ask for second or third floor on the beach side rooms so you can see over the sand dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We are so happy to hear that your family enjoyed your vacation with us. Thank you for your kind comments about our resort. We hope to have you back to stay with us again as a family or as a couples getaway!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have stayed at the winds three times. Each time we go we love it! They always make us feel like part of the family and the resort is always well maintained. Good value for the price and it includes breakfast and bike rentals.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riemba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We love to hear from our guests who continue to come back year after year, we have so many guests who do come back that it does feel like a big family. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed this year's stay as much as previous years! Thank you for your kind comments about our resort and we look forward to having you back for a fourth time!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My wife and I spent a few days here in early June for a friend's beach wedding. It's nothing fancy, but it's clean. The included breakfast was convenient, but it may be worth venturing out occasionally if you stay for more than a few days as it lacks variety and crowds everyone in a small area. The pool and bar area is great and has very friendly bartenders who seem to remember all the guests. I wouldn't recommend ordering food there, though. We stayed in one of the units across the street from the beach. This was fine if you plan to spend most of your time at the beach, but I would probably stay beachfront for the view on a return visit. For activities, the beach/ocean was enough, but I would recommend the resort's free bike rental. The terrain is so flat, the average person can ride the full length of the oceanfront street in one trip. We tried a couple of restaurants in the area and have nothing special to report. The locals will recommend Calabash, which is about 10-15 min away and supposedly has a special style, but it seems to be synonymous with mediocre fried fish. In fact, I found it difficult to locate any decent seafood. Overall, this was a relaxing place with great weather and a beautiful beach.

Room Tip: Anything on the beach side of the street facing the ocean will have a great view, especially above t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We appreciate your comments about our beach and our bartenders, they are great! Sorry you weren't able to find better dining options, if you're back at The Winds again our front desk will be happy to point you in the direction of some really great spots including Sugar Shack, Inlet View, Sharky's, Roberto's, Twin Lakes, and several more nearby! We hope you enjoyed the wedding and we hope to have you back to stay with us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Having never been to Ocean Isle or The Winds, I was pleasantly surprised after checking in with my wife and 2-year-old daughter for a brief stay in mid-August, 2013. Firstly, the surrounding area is not overly commercialized and is more of a quiet, somewhat rural tourist town. The beach in front of the hotel was clean and never crowded. We were there with two other families and could setup camp right in front of the hotel with plenty of space to spread out. The quiet and sparsely populated beach is one of The Winds' best assets.

We stayed in an oceanfront suite on their top (3rd) floor. They have one elevator located at the far end of their building, and we opted to take the stairs most of the time we were there, getting some exercise in the process. If steps present a problem for you, ask for a room near their elevator. The views from our room and general ambiance were wonderful. The suite contained a bedroom, full bath, small kitchen, living area, and dining space. The unit had only one air conditioner located in the bedroom, and the rest of the suite would heat up quite unevenly. Apparently the staff were aware of this issue and brought a fan to our room, which we used to push air out into the rest of the suite from the bedroom, after which the entire space was quite comfortable.

Our unit had a dehumidifier that needed to be emptied daily. It had mold in it and I think their management needs to ensure that these are kept clean.

After checking in we ordered food from their poolside Tiki Bar and were surprised that it was actually quite good. The Winds does not have a sit-down restaurant, but they operate a small kitchen from which meals may be ordered. The Winds also offers all guests a free buffet-style breakfast each morning. The food was not bad at all and it made starting your day with kids much easier! The resort operates 3 pools, including one indoor pool which was great for the one rainy day we encountered while there.

Parking was never a problem and they provide you with a pass for using their many spaces. Our customer service encounters with the front desk and other hotel staff were excellent. Overall we would rate The Winds highly and plan to return in the future.

Room Tip: The lower floors don't have quite the ocean view as the 3rd floor or their "penthouse"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C4talyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We appreciate all of your wonderful comments and advice for future travelers, I'm sure they will find your review very helpful and informative. We are sorry about the dehumidifier, they do need to be emptied daily especially in the hotter and more humid months like July and August. If not the still water can cause problems, but I have brought up the issue with our housekeeping staff per your comment. We are so glad they you enjoyed your vacation and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
1.8 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
531 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
763 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,360 reviews
4.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
68 reviews
17.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winds Resort Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winds Resort Beach Club

Address: 310 E First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range: £63 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Winds Resort Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical island escape... Closer than you think! A small, intimate island resort. Ideal for vacations, romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, reunions, golf excursions or small meetings. Located in the Northernmost subtropical region on the east coast. The Winds is set oceanfront surrounded by palms, banana trees and hibiscus flowers. Oceanfront rooms, suites and Resort Cottages. Three pools (one indoor), hot Southern breakfast buffet, oceanfront, poolside TikiBar/Restaurant (and more). Golf on over 90 area courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Winds Resort Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winds Resort Beach Club Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
The Winds Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing