We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“25 Years of Loving It !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Winds Resort Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Winds Resort Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“25 Years of Loving It !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We discovered The Winds over 25 years ago and have loved our paradise getaways every year. The hotel is continually updated, the staff always friendly and accommodating. It is the perfect spot for a quiet, ocean side vacation with everything at your fingertips.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others! And we want to thank you for letting us be your vacation spot for the last 25 years, that's incredible! We appreciate your kind comments about our staff and our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed this year's stay with us as much as previous ones and we can't wait to have you back for the 26th year!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    152
    58
    22
    24
See reviews for
244
233
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornelius, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Love staying at The Winds, not the typical beach resort. You get the feeling that you are part of the family upon arrival. The Tiki bar poolside serves the best wraps and sandwiches. Don't miss the yummy drinks too. The hot full breakfast is great. The rooms could use a little updating, but love the boardwalk balconies. What I love the most is the landscaping, really gives The Winds the feeling that you are staying at a well loved vintage resort!

Room Tip: They have many different types of rooms. I check the web site before calling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We love your description that "you get the feeling that you are part of the family upon arrival," because that is so true. So many of our guests that come stay with us do become part of our extended family! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you back to stay with us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife does not like to go to the same vacation spot twice. We've been to the Winds 4 times in five years. I guess you could say we like it! She also did not want me to write this review. She wants to keep the Winds "our little secret". Well, the secret is out. We got an ocean front one bedroom suite and really enjoyed our stay. From the friendly and helpful staff at the front desk (with a nod to Gary), to Kim and Lorna at the pool bar, to the maintenance staff, everyone made our stay enjoyable. Rooms include a great buffet breakfast, not continental, a real breakfast. There is an ocean side pool, and another across the street, and an indoor pool for inclement days. The resort is set in a residential area, so it is quiet. Hey, you want noise? You're just a 30 minute drive to the noisy, touristy Myrtle Beach. I could go on, but many reviewers have already covered most of what I would say. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danh234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others and thank you for sharing your little secret! We appreciate all the kind comments about our staff and the high remarks you gave about our property and all of our amenities. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you'll be back for a fifth visit soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I spent the weekend there with my husband. We were celebrating our one year anniversary- we were married at the winds last year. My only complaint was that we couldn't book the trip on that particular weekend, but thanks to the oyster fest that wasn't going to happen. The room was great, and the trip was amazing!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We are sorry you weren't able to book for the weekend of your actual anniversary but the Oyster Festival does book up far in advance. We are glad you still decided to come celebrate with us and we are so happy you had a great time. If you wanted to come next year, you can book now with one night's deposit and cancel up to the day of arrival before 4pm. Congratulations on your anniversary and we hope to see you again next year!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumberton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
177 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights - great location. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was good. The beach was not crowded. The pool and tiki bar were great. Hot tubs not working but it was warm outside so we didn't need it. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeB730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad you got to enjoy the beaches at a time when they weren't too crowded, fall can be a great time to visit! We hope to have you back again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemmons, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were there for a overnight stay Oct 5-6. The room was great, and the staff was very pleasent. This is a excellent place to relax and just enjoy the beach. The only thing we didn't care for was the loud air conditioning systems. Their buffet breakfast is awesome. It was well worth the money. We arrived about noon and enjoyed the grounds until our room was ready. WE WILL BE BACK.

Room Tip: Its worth the $ to have a ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your weekend getaway! Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and our breakfast buffet. We are happy you were able to have a relaxing weekend and we hope to have you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Was there last week of Sept 2013. Nice location and room layout but extravagantly high prices and roaches. I won't be back. Stayed at The Winds several years ago and it was great but it has gone downhill substantially.

Room Tip: Try Ocean Isle Inn instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elliott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We appreciate your comments about our rooms and the location of our resort. We hope to have you back to Ocean Isle Beach again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Isle Beach
1.7 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.8 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
15.6 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#4 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
24.9 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#3 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winds Resort Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winds Resort Beach Club

Property: The Winds Resort Beach Club
Address: 310 E First St, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469-7606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Winds Resort Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical island escape... Closer than you think! A small, intimate island resort. Ideal for vacations, romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, reunions, golf excursions or small meetings. Located in the Northernmost subtropical region on the east coast. The Winds is set oceanfront surrounded by palms, banana trees and hibiscus flowers. Oceanfront rooms, suites and Resort Cottages. Three pools (one indoor), hot Southern breakfast buffet, oceanfront, poolside TikiBar/Restaurant (and more). Golf on over 90 area courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Winds Resort Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winds Resort Beach Club Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
The Winds Hotel Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing