We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Be sure to learn the history of the property"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thurston House Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 7 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed at the "Thurston House Inn B & B only one night. We should've stayed longer.

First of all, the peoperty is neat, clean, well located, and very comfortable. We enjoyed visiting with Donna and the other guests who occupied the Inn while we were there. Donna recommended a good restaurant and we enjoyed fresh seafood for dinner.

We also attended the small theater located in Ocracoke. Can't remember the name of the place but it's the only one there. If time permits try to attend the music show that is put on by a local band. They're good!

We enjoyed the ferry rides both to Ocracoke and to Cedar Island. Make your Cedar Island reservations before your trip. We didn't have any problems getting onto the ferry, but reservations are a good idea.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kytrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2010

First the mitigating factors - it was early season and the owner had been called away on jury service. When we arrived, there was no-one to welcome us but a note on the office door directing us to our room. It quickly became apparent that we were the only people staying. There are no tea/coffee making facilites in the rooms and, as there was no-one around, we decided to go in search of a hot drink elsewhere. As we left, the owner's mother arrived with ice as the ice machine had broken and told us she would cook breakfast in the morning. The room itself was OK but there was a problem with hot water in the morning. We had to run the shower for a long time before any hot water emerged. When it did turn hot it did not last long enough for a reasonable length shower which had to be completed in cold water. We reported this at breakfast - apparently it is a new system so we suggested that it may need some adjustment to deliver an amount of hot water to satisfy most guests. The sweet potato pancakes for breakfast were not to our taste - too sweet on their own to add maple syrup but needing something to moisten them. Readers will have to make up their own minds whether we were just unlucky but I could not recommend it based on our experience.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 040450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

My wife and I flew our Cherokee 140 from SC99 Whiteplains near Columbia, SC on 4/2/2010 to W95 Ocracoke Island, NC. We had a nice 3hr flight and were happy to have Donna from the Thurston House Inn pick us up at the airstrip. (1mi from B&B). She was friendly and courteous. She immendiately made us feel like family instead of guests. We checked in and found the Periwinkle room clean, spacious and comfortable. Donna gave us a brief rundown on where the best places to eat and visit on the island and turned us loose. We rested for a few minutes and explored the inn. Adjoining our room was a rustic back porch with two comfortable Adirondike chairs. We utilized it to read in the early morning sipping coffee, prior to breakfast. The first night (Fri), we walked a short distance to the Back Porch restauraunt. The food was amazing, but pricey. We found it worth it though. Sometimes you get what you pay for. Fresh seafood-cooked to perfection, with home made bread, and friendly service, while sitting on a screened in porch. We turned in early that night. Sat morning, we got up early went for a 30 minute jog to Silver Lake- a harbour, to check out the shops and the docks. We returned and ate breakfast. Donna cooked home made pancakes, eggs, and bacon. Fresh fruit was also served. It was scrumptious. We showered, then proceeded to check out the shops. We bought a few items, then rented a bike for the day ($10 at the Pony motel), then rode about a mile to the beach (ramp 70) by the airstrip and layed out the afternoon on the beach. The beach is wide, with deep soft sand. It is one of the nicest beaches I have ever visited. You can drive on the beach there and alot of people were fishing. The scenery was nice. We didn't feel crowded. Later that night, we went to Cafe Atlantic and had dinner. Once again fresh seafood and great service. We turned in sad we had to leave the next day. On Sunday morning we ate a great breakfast once again, then were taken back to the airstrip by Donna. It was sad leaving. We had a great time. We would definitely return to see Donna and her mother Annie at the Thurston House Inn. Great service, Great value. We had an awesome, but too quick of a stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherokee78W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

WE have stayed here 2 or 3 times and always have a great time,The rooms are large with nice bathrooms and they have the extras like shampoo, lotion etc. The breakfast is excellent you can have it inside or on the porch and no shortage of coffee and juice. The owners will let you leave bags if the room isn't ready so that you can hit the beach or shop before checking in. They had a wonderful hot tub but in 2009 it was taken out, they said it would be redone and put back in. The porches are nice for relaxing and having a drink after being at the beach all day and its a fairly quiet location especially the rooms in back. Check the website for pictures of all the rooms. Lots of great restaurants in the area we love Howard"s for casual and Back Porch for a special dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nevilledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Went for a long weekend to the Outer Banks with my boyfriend, his daugher and her husband to celebrate their marriage in July. We stayed in the Annex in the 2 bedrooms that occupy the second floor, but we had the whole building to ourselves. There was a lovely sitting room in between the 2 bedrooms that made for a great place to share wine, snacks and play dominoes! The rooms were very comfortable with private bathrooms and roomy showers. The breakfasts were different for each of the 3 days that we stayed. The first breakfast was sweet potato pancakes.. yum! Everything was delicious! We even had the house specialty ... fig cake... it was great! Donna and her mom, Annie, are wonderful innkeepers. The website does list a hottub, but it is no longer there. We are planning a return trip in the spring!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Location is great--within walking distance to everything in the Village. Owners very nice and accomodating, providing tasty, filling breakfasts. Great spots all around to curl up and read on a rainy day, or bask in the sunshine. But the website and all info advertise a hot tub which, we were told, has not been on the property since April '09. We chose our room and the property based partly on that amenity. No definitive info on when another will be installed, so disregard hot tub when you consider staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank runswithdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

The Thurston Inn is an interesting home tucked away off the main street of Ocracoke. We had a room in the annex, with a private entrance. The room was very comfortable, and the Inn itself is very quiet. It is very good quality for the price. The sweet potatoe pancakes for breakfast made the entire experience unforgettable. The proprietress is extremely friendly, and has great suggestions for places to eat in Ocracoke. For those going on to Cedar Island by ferry, the location is perfect. All in all, this was a charming place to spend the night.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelBugs060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Thurston House Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurston House Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 671 Highway 12, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 8 inviting guest rooms each with a queen or king bed and private bath. Main House constructed in 1920 and annex in 1999. Enjoy a full island breakfast each morning in the dining room or on one of our porches. Island fig cake served from our homemade fig preserves. Come enjoy our island retreat. Rates range 129.00 to 175.00 per night depending on season. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing