We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT BREAKFAST”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dajio

Dajio
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Finest local cuisine, live music, catering and flatbread pizza. The most memorable meals and evenings start from scratch. Our menus change seasonally so please stop by to pick up a copy. Located in the heart of the village with outdoor seating, weather permitting. Brick oven pizza available for dine in and carry out, Tuesday - Sunday 5 PM - 10 PM.
Petersburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT BREAKFAST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Had the shrimp & grits for breakfast, very good!!
Wife and son were very happy with their meal as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trx680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    233
    81
    32
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best bar on the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I initially stopped in to Dajio early in the evening to have a beer on a Sunday night. Though the place was quiet, the band that was playing was awesome. There seems to be a fair bit of music on Ocracoke for it's size, but this blues/rock band stood out compared to the others I saw that night, and would easily cut it in a much large venue.The drinks were well price (comparative for Ocracoke), they had a good range of beers and the bar service was excellent.

After riding around the Island checking out a few other venues, I returned later in the evening (around 10pm). The bar was packed and had a really friendly vibe going. I recognized that many of the patrons were actually bar staff from other bars on the Island, so I took that as a good sign.

Overall, great bar for having a beer, music and socializing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul80A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The food is excellent here. Their rendition of shrimp and grits is wonderful, as is their grilled cheese (who would have ordered this in a restaurant?). The crab mac and cheese is a must have as well.The service can be a little lacking and they are not very accommodating to anything outside of their realm. Examples-Showed up a little past the time on the coupon we tried to used due to really hard rains and were told we couldn't use it...and it seems they didn't serve pizza in the dining room-only outside. Still, we usually go here twice when we visit Ocracoke.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LittleMama0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
258 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We looked forward to eating here after the reviews. When we arrived they told us there was one fish left so we said we wanted it. Two invites later the waitress returned and told us there was no more left. So we ordered crab dip. It came relatively quick. Then the waitress came back and my daughter ordered the gnocchi and were then told they were all out.
They forgot my husband's drink. They did not have enough toasts for our dip and brought more when we were almost done.
The food we ordered was mediocre.
My daughter ordered pasta which had little crab in it and too much sauce.
Overall this meal was disappointing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dollface23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
138 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fun late-night bar, outdoor live music ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

You can have a nice meal inside, but it is really fun to visit the outdoor bar to the right. It's amazing when they have live music. When there is no live music, it feels like a beach bar. It's a fun place to go at night for a beer and a nice crowd.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cville12369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dajio also viewed

Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 

Been to Dajio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing