We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch stop”

Gaffer's Sports Pub
Ranked #4 of 33 Restaurants in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$23
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fresh local seafood, great burgers and specialty sandwiches, vegetarian options, kids menu, game room, NFL Ticket, Happy Hour Daily 5-7 1/2 price apps at the bar, Best Live Music Venue on the island, southern hospitality!!
Greensburg pa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice lunch stop”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stopped in for lunch on a Monday afternoon mid April 2014, Very freindly owner," Jason" I beleive,Place is a typicla sports bar / lounge. Clean, good service, good food, great portion size, fair pricing for a resort area. Overall nice place for a lunch stop. We were on our bicycles that we rode over from Hatteras so we were not on Ocracoke for any of the evening activities, but they sports trivia and other activities during evenings.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nurse15601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    124
    44
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rainy weekend, but great foodand service”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We went in with a Group of 12. Jimmy was great and the food was wonderful. Would highly recommend Gaffes while at Ocracoke

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen_A28584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dinner”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Great food! We loved it! Chili is home made and out of this world. The owner's are great. The owner made it a point to come out and speak to us personally. He asked about our meal and service. They were of course fabulous.
I recommend the loaded pub fries, chili, and burgers.

Helpful?
1 Thank Luna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushford, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

After spending a day in the sun, Gaffer's Sports Pub was a great place to recharge. The food was excellent. They made a special gluten-free meal for my granddaughter. The couple who runs the pub was very accommodating. Fed a party of 9 in no time. My hubby says the Shimp BLT was amazing. I had the Grilled Chicken Club salad with avocado ranch dressing that was excellent. Great food and great atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Good Find On the Island”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stumbled upon this restaurant while visiting the island. We initially were going to eat at sMacNallys but it looked like the service was slow, or better yet, it did not look like anyone was being taken care of. Second choice was Pony Island, but the sign said they only served breakfast and dinner. We finally saw Gaffers on the right side of the road, and went in.
We were greeted by Big Red, the new owner, cook, bartender, server, hostess, etc.Think the only thing he did not do was actually catch the fish. Pretty cool guy with heavy twang accent. He did not sit still.Always on the move.
We had 4 adults, 1 child, and 2 toddlers ready for lunch. No problems at all with our party with the seating. Place was clean. High chair were wiped down clean right in front of us. That means alot.
For lunch we ordered fried flounder sandwiches w fries. It was delicious, fresh, and packed with flounder. Fries were waffle, crispy and non-greasy.
Kids ordered hot dog and mac-n-cheese. Hot dog on the bigger side. Mac-n-cheese was weird, made with spaghetti pasta. It for the a 16 month old, but Mason gave us a thumbs up!
My son actually dropped his hot dog, and Big Red gave us another one..What a nice guy!
The shrimp BLT was loaded with fresh caught shrimp, alot of them.It rocked. Fresh tomato/lettuce and crisp bacon with tartar on the side. I opted for the onion rings, cooked perfect. Very good. Only thing I did not really like about my BLT is that the bread(looked like Marble rye) was not toasted. So, make sure you ask to get it toasted. Bottom slice of bread got a little soggy. Last was the chicken club ranch salad served in a taco bowl. The ranch-avocado dressing was to die for..That is what Michelle said, and she is finicky. She said the salad was just ok. The beer selection I thought was decent..They have sweetwater 420 on tap. I had 3 of them. Ice cold. Reminded me of when I lived in Atlanta. Total bill for all of us with 4 beers and soft drinks was $89. Not sure of the prices individually because Mike stole the check and paid for it..Thanks Mike.
Overall we really like the place. It was not crowded, service was exceptional, and food was pretty good. Big Red took over the place last year, and so far it seems he is doing a good job with it. The website needs to be updated, so get on it Big Red.
Thanks for having us!
Joe, Sarah, Mike, Michelle, Lil Joey, Mason, and Ethan

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jkuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gaffer's Sports Pub also viewed

Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 

Been to Gaffer's Sports Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing