We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Atmosphere/Good Food”

Gaffer's Sports Pub
Ranked #4 of 33 Restaurants in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$23
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Fresh local seafood, great burgers and specialty sandwiches, vegetarian options, kids menu, game room, NFL Ticket, Happy Hour Daily 5-7 1/2 price apps at the bar, Best Live Music Venue on the island, southern hospitality!!
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Casual Atmosphere/Good Food”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Nice casual place to eat and relax. They have the best onion rings I have every tasted! Our server, Kathryn was pleasant, attentive, made good suggestions from the menu. Often have good live music in the evenings.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    125
    45
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocracoke, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast for ballers”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The breakfast was so good and reminded me of home. Country breakfast at its finest. The service was great, perfect hangover fix.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank omaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
“Pub Food at it's Finest!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I went into Gaffer's on a whim for lunch, and I must say what a pleasant surprise! Now first of all be prepared, this is certainly a sports bar, TV's galore, loud music, etc which serves food. However, the service is beyond your typical "dive" and Kristen was friendly and knowledgeable server who seemed actually pleased to have us. We got the Frickles and Frooms appetizer, nicely battered and fried to perfection pickles and mushrooms and this was quickly followed by my wife's Shrimp BLT and my Bluefish Sandwich. Both were piping hot, tasted very freshly prepared (crisp lettuce on a sandwich in a "bar" KUDOS!!) and were simply wonderful sandwiches. I am in the restaurant business so I can be a tad judgmental but here there was nothing to judge negatively. We cannot recommend these sandwich's highly enough!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,647 reviews
659 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 754 helpful votes
“This is a pub as opposed to a restaurant, and fine as it is.”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

When I read reviews about such places I am constantly amazed at the comments of people who clearly don't know where they are. If you go into Howard's, which is across the road, you know instantly that it is primarily a restaurant that also serves beer. Gaffers is the polar opposite. The minute you walk into Gaffers you know that it's a bar; and probably the one that the local guys hang out. Yeah, they do food, but in a bar like this do you expect anything special?

We actually went in purely for beer, and the service was fine. The pub was pretty quiet so the atmosphere was decidedly muted, which is why I only rate the pub as average.
Re the food? No idea - because if I was that bothered I would go to a restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocracoke, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hang out spot.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I frequent gaffers usually going out one or twice a week. Great atmosphere, attentive bartenders, good food, and excellent service. If you want to meet the locals and have a good time, give gaffs a try.

Helpful?
1 Thank lakilucid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gaffer's Sports Pub also viewed

Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 

Been to Gaffer's Sports Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing