We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhhhmazing!”
Review of The Anchorage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Anchorage Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Ahhhhmazing!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Situated right in the perfect location. Beautiful views of the harbor and the lighthouse. Great restaurant across the street. Rooms are VERY clean and comfortable. We rented bikes and enjoyed the whole island! They were great about letting us check in early and worked with us on a late checkout so we could enjoy the beach on the second day. Love love love this place and will be back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leigha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    60
    26
    9
    6
See reviews for
44
66
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We've never stayed anywhere else on Ocracoke. The people who work here, including the owner who is very visible, are extremely helpful and pleasant. Kara always gives a great weather report and is very welcoming. The view is awesome. You will experience the most beautiful sunset on the island from the balcony here in spring and fall. The sun sets right in the middle of the opening to the harbor.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMama0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This place is extremely pleasant. From the check-in, to the service, to the room and view, we had a very good stay. It is clean, friendly and conveniently located to everything you would need. We walked everywhere and enjoyed the atmosphere of the island. The dinner recommendation was great and other tips re golf carts were welcome. The view from our room was beautiful. We enjoyed having a drink on the chairs outside the room and chatting briefly with other guests. It was a very friendly place. Our ferry was leaving at 7 am, which is before the breakfast time. We were offered our coffee, muffins and juice the night before so we could have something to eat before the ferry. That was very thoughtful. Overall, it was a good night. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3xskatemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed in the pet friendly rooms here a few times in the past and, although clean and adequate, we weren't overly impressed. This time, though, it seems like the rooms have been renovated and seem much nicer. The view from here is always spectacular and the staff always pleasant. It is conveniently near the ferry and bike/golf cart rentals. We will definitely stay here again. We had to make a nonrefundable deposit for one night's stay, but that is not unusual for this island, where people often cancel at the last minute due to in incement weather. If you want a treat, pay extra for the penthouse suite. We did that a few years ago and loved it.

Room Tip: The non-pet friendly rooms are nicer than the pet friendly ones. We usually bring our cat, which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathylsails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. I have been to the Outer Banks many times, but this was my first visit to The Anchorage Inn. This is a very nice and clean property.

At check-in, and throughout most of the weekend, the staff was very friendly. They were also very helpful answering questions, which is much appreciated. The room itself was very clean and had plenty of room. This hotel has a great location, and you can walk/bike to anywhere in the village. A minor issue is that the beds are somewhat uncomfortable (very hard), but I don't expect plush top mattresses when I travel.

The big issues though are the golf carts in the parking lot. They are out of control. I had not been to Ocracoke in about 3 years, so I was very surprised to see all the golf carts riding around. Golf carts rental is apparently a booming business, but the roads are not wide enough to accomodate cars, golf carts and walkers/bike riders. The inn owns Smacnallys, which is a bar across the street and is frequented by the people who drive the golf carts. Rather than designate parking for the carts, they just park wherever they want. Behind your car, at odd angles taking up 2 parking spaces, etc. I got back from dinner one night, and there was no parking due to this. I asked the guy in the office about it, and he got an attitude and suggested the second and third lots, which were all filled thanks to the carts. His only suggestion then was to park down the street at the ferry terminal and walk. I did not get an attitude with the guy, because it wouldn't do me any good if I did, but saying that to your hotel patron is rude. He was not representative of the entire staff though, as most were very sweet and helpful.

Overall, I would recommend staying here, but be wary of the parking situation. I learned to just ride my bike to dinner so I wouldn't have to deal with moving my car. I am rating this location as very good due to most of the staff, location, and cleanliness of the hotel. If it weren't for the parking situation, I would have rated it excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Absolutely a perfect location, close to ferry, truly can walk everywhere. Golf carts available for rental across the street. Views of Crystal Lake are wonderful, rooms spacious, staff accommodating. Lounge chairs outside each room for sitting and watching all the coming and goings of people and boats. Quite a bit of noise from other guests out on the front "porches" which stretch the full length of the 4 stories. Still livable. Only problem were the beds--absolutely horrible, horrible beds. The worst I have encountered in many a year, uncomfortable, sagging, etc

Room Tip: Higher you go in the building the better views. Some large suites available on 4th
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gastonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Very nice hotel. Very well maintained and nice staff. Beautiful view of Silver Lake. Great location to walk to dinning, shopping, boating, and swimming. Really enjoyed our 3-night stay. Would definitely go back!!

Room Tip: Worth it to stay on higher floors if available. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EHanson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
17.9 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
17.8 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#9 of 16 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchorage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Inn

Property: The Anchorage Inn
Address: P.O. Box 880, Rte. 12, Ocracoke, NC 27960-0880
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Hotel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing