We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Wedding Weekend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle on Silver Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle on Silver Lake
Ranked #4 of 7 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Wedding Weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

We rented The Castle for our wedding and my husband and I stayed the week in The Net House, one of their villas. It was the most beautiful wedding location! Many of our guests stayed in the B&B and had a great experience, the staff was very friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was very good too!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Best wishes and congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for spending time at the Castle. We hope you all come back often
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    36
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
95
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

You should sersiously consider staying at the Castle if you're spending time on Ocracoke. It's location is awesome - just close enough to everything but without being on the main drag. The people were truly incredible! Misty gave us a tour of the house and grounds on the way to our room and thoroughly explained how things worked. We didn't have time to enjoy the pool, steam shower, or sauna but threatened to both nights. We stayed in the Harbor Room (a room with 3 beds). The room itself was like your grandfather's rocker - an oldie but a goodie. Nothing about this place is "posh" or overly "luxurious," but if you're looking for that you shouldn't stay on Ocracoke. The free bikes were a big hit for us, but the June and the breakfast each morning were truly memorable! Everything was homemade (except for some "plastic muffins" just to appease those who do not enjoy true Southern cooking) by June herself each morning. The smells were incredible and the food was even better. Misty gave us several recommendations for places to go and even called ahead to see what kind of entertainment was going on at each place. She was incredibly helpful! We were so welcomed and there was such a sense of family that thought I was a visiting my in-laws for Christmas.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evans1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Appreciate your kind comments, thank you. We take our southern hospitality and our home cooking very seriously here...and we think that our love of what we do and this special place shows. It is always nice to hear from our guests and we hope you are able to come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Very nice large clean room with small kitchen area. Great location for walking around the harbor. Pool was great in the very warm weather. A secret area that no one else seemed to use the the deck on the water, great for enjoying the view of the water and drinking a beer. They also provide free bikes.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HJFHJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Thank you for such a nice review. It is always rewarding to hear that our guests enjoyed their time here. Hopefully you can come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We absolutely loved this place. Every morning around 630 am you could smell the eggs, bacon, pancakes and any other wonderful breakfast food you enjoy all prepared by Ms. Gladys! Everyone was friendly; the rooms were comfortable much like a home space. The bikes are included with your stay, which is awesome because we parked the car and rode bikes the entire stay! And in the afternoon the house radiated delicious chocolate chip cookies.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
I have also had the pleasure of having one of Miss Gladys breakfast...and totally agree that they are delicious. We are glad you enjoyed your time at The Castle on Silver Lake. Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your stay and please come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I saw a picture online of a lovely studio villa at the Castle that was just what I wanted with lots of space, an extra bed, a sofa, table and chair, w-ifi, and kitchen facilities.The price was higher than most for Ocracoke, but I liked it, so I called and rented it for 10 days last summer intending to rest and relax while doing some writing. After a very long trip, I arrived to find that what I got was neither a castle, a villa, nor even a studio.The tiny room wasn't at all as pictured and I was stuck having paid full price up front for a bad room. There was no help getting my things up the stairs. The promised in-room wi-fi never worked. The cramped room had miniature microwave and fridge and sink at the foot of the bed, but I was told to not cook in the room. There was no desk for writing, only an awkward wicker table with two clunky uncomfortable wicker chairs, good neither for writing nor eating. Writing and sleeping in bed on the saggy mattress (with cheap sheets) produced back pain for the duration. The tiny closet had no hangers. When asked, they did bring hangers explaining that they weren't supposed to because the owner was responsible for that! That's when I learned that all units are separately owned and decorated and sizes vary widely. There was no other "villa" available and I was stuck, having paid upfront.. I left my second suitcase in the car as there simply wasn't a place for it. It was Impossible to walk around the bed or to open lower drawers in chest of drawers as there was no space between the two. The only window was filled with a room air conditioner that clunked on and off, sometimes bringing in stinky air from car exhaust in parking lot outside the window. Furniture was cheap motel quality, Huge bathroom made no sense. Staff was mostly indifferent except for some help with wi-fi that got nowhere. Probably never does. My experience at the Castle was more an ordeal than it was a vacation, even though I managed to get moved to a larger room for the last two days. The surroundings and pool were nice, but not enough to make up for the room. As renting at this hotel is risky, I cannot recommend it. If there are better rooms at the Castle villas, I didn't see them. The attached Castle Hotel is supposed to be quite nice, but with the same management, so take care to get a suitable space.. Or better yet, stay elsewhere. If you pay the whole rent upfront, often expected in Ocracoke, you'll be stuck. There were some pleasant aspects to the trip, but unfortunately not at the Castle.

Room Tip: Ask for large villa not facing the parking lot. And first floor if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 00Iris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
We were a little shocked to read this review and immediately contacted the innkeeper at the Castle Bed and Breakfast and the manager for The Castle Villas. After some investigations we were somewhat puzzled because:

We could not find any reservation where someone stayed more than seven nights in a studio bedroom suite at the villas. Ever.

There are no window air conditioners in the units

We do experience problems with WiFi if a storm knocks the signal out. If that happens we offer the guests to come to the Castle and use our guest computer.

The innkeeper has been there several years and does not remember a guest this disgruntled. She keeps notes on the individual folios for each stay and there was no note on your guest folio or issues relayed to her by co-workers.

The soggy mattress and bad sheets would certainly have been brought to her attention and notes would have indicated that issue and the resolution.

None of the studios has a desk to write on

The kitchen facliites are listed as a small refrigerator, a microwave, toaster and coffee maker. You cannot actually "cook" because there is no stove in the studios.

We keep extra hangers on hand and are happy to give them out to guests at the Villas when requested.

We were also puzzled that you waited one year from the time you stayed before you posted a review. Our goal is certainly to make our guests comfortable and happy and if any issues are relayed to us during a stay we do our best to correct them as soon as we can.

All in all the innkeeper is certain she would have remembered a disgruntled guest with all of the issues you bring up. Even if she had not been there for ten days in a row (which has never happened) one of her staff would have alerted her via notes, voice mail and email. So, while we mean no disrepect and do not wish to sound confrontational or question your integrity we simply are very confused by your post. We pride ourselves on customer service and do our best to respond to any complaint or concern promptly.

Regardless, we feel badly that you seem to have had such a bad experience but we use all reviews, both positive and negative, as tools to improve our customer service so thank you for taking the time to let us know of your issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Our first trip to Ocracoke and we decided on the Castle Bed and Breakfast for 2 nights. This was a perfect choice for us. They have a room called the Harbor Room which has a queen and 2 twin beds, dressing area, and large bathroom with double sinks. With two daughters ages 11 and 14, the room couldn't have been better and extremely large.

The breakfast was excellent. The views from the top deck of the house magnificent and could see the light house, the town of Ocracoke, and Silver Lake.

In addition to the Inn, they have villas on property to rent which they also manage. There is also a pool that was nice and a spa we didn't use. They have bicycles to use for free which is definitely the best way to get around Ocracoke.

If you are a person who stays regularly at B&Bs, the one difference at The Castle don't have "owers on property" and is a bit less personal. There is a staff that works the front office, they are on premise until about 7pm. I personally didn't find this to be a negative, but if you are one's who like to talk to the owners, have them share their experiences with the house, etc. I thought it was worth mentioning.

I would definitely stay here again, considering their villas for our next stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryanjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Thank you for that nice review. We always like to hear from our guests and appreciate that you posted how much you enjoyed your stay at The Castle on Silver Lake. Hopefully you will visit our little island again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

We absolutely loved our stay at the Castle! Lovely historic Inn, but updated with all the conveniences, and just about the best breakfast I have ever had. The location is perfect, and the views are amazing. We could not have been more pleased. Add in the nice pool and bikes available for guests to use - I can't imagine a nicer place to stay on Ocracoke.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachbadger80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
18.0 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
18.0 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle on Silver Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle on Silver Lake

Property: Castle on Silver Lake
Address: 155 Silver Lake Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in comfortable, non-smoking rooms in this three-story inn. The rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and each room has its own private bathroom. Other amenities include an outdoor pool, pool house with sauna & steam shower, a computer with Internet access in the lobby &wireless Internet access on the property. Enjoy a full buffet breakfast each morning. "Captains" enjoy complimentary dockage at the Castle docks with power hookups and a fish cleaning station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle On Silver Lake Hotel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing