We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will only stay HERE when on Ocracoke!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle on Silver Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle on Silver Lake
Ranked #4 of 7 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, GA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We will only stay HERE when on Ocracoke!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Over the past two decades of visiting Ocracoke, we have, and will, only stay here! We absolutely love our visits to the Castle! We prefer the charm of B&B's when traveling to relax and the Castle is one of our FAVORITES!! Lovely historic Inn, but updated with all the conveniences. The location is right across the street from Silver Lake, making for perfect views! Watch the ferries come in from your room, cozy up with a good book by your window while watching the seagulls or the occasional late fall weather blow in, or head up to the Widow's Walk for the always amazing sunsets!!! We've done all of this and could not have been more pleased with our stays. Add in the nice pool, steam showers, sauna and bikes available for guests to use - and what more could you ask for?!! Well, there is the beautiful great room with fireplace and billiard table...and incredible home made breakfasts each morning...and numerous relaxing porches with hammock seats to chill out on. I just can't name all the things we LOVE about this place!! But this last trip, we made new friends there I could just go on and on about!! Ronnie (our fabulous innkeeper) and Jude (our amazing cook) went way above and beyond to make our trip more than one to remember. Ronnie thought of things for our group that hadn't even crossed our minds, and had everything arranged before we could blink! And every suggestion Jude made for food or entertainment ~ we took~ and loved every one of them! Misty and all the other staff were really wonderful and catered to our every need. You really want to stay at the Castle!! PS. The Net House is more than AMAZING as well ~ a very nice treat for our friends who stayed there!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PooleParty4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    36
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
95
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

When making the reservation for the “Lighthouse Suite,” we considered it a splurge but when we arrived, it was really an excellent value. The extent of the space exceeded our expectations based on website photos. Because our primary objective for the trip was relaxation, reading, sipping some wine and hibernating in case of inclement weather, the sitting room complete with wet bar, access to a widow’s watch overlooking the harbor and an extra large bedroom/bath suite below the sitting area could not have been more perfect.
The atmosphere of the Castle is a bit old world and worn in a grand way. If you are a polished Ritz Carlton patron, this may not be your cup of tea. But then Ocracoke, significantly off the beaten path may not be either. However, if you appreciate history, craftsmanship, and hospitality then the Castle is for you. The staff was welcoming and accommodating at all times.
In addition to the structural amenities, caring touches included fresh backed cookies each day. And although not so important to us, technology has arrived... TVs and Wi-fi everywhere. A far cry from early days visiting the island when TVs, if available, were not guaranteed to work.
No assessment of the Castle would be complete without praising the breakfast; after all, it is a B&B. Gladys begins brewing coffee at 6:30 and somehow the aroma manages to percolate up three flights of stairs. By 8:30, choices include omelets, pancakes, homemade biscuits, bacon, sausage, cheese grits, vegetable savory pie, fresh squeezed juices and I’m sure I’ve omitted something. Needless to say, we were not hungry until the evening.
The Lighthouse Suite is a bit over-the-top both literally and figuratively, but it will continue to be our room of choice. The Castle is conveniently located within in strolling access to all parts of Ocracoke Village. We shall look forward to returning sooner and than later.

Room Tip: go for the Lighthouse Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonicaMooresville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
You summed up exactly what we feel about our "castle" and what we hope all our guests feel. We love this place and our special island as well. Thank you for your wonderful review and please come back often. And as for breakfast and Miss Gladys...you are so right...her food is just delicious and we consider her a gem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, wv
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

We recently stayed at this B&B. What a treat. It is on the harbor (lake) and has a wonderful deck across the street from the inn, just above a fishing shack, with Adirondack chairs for watching the boats, the sky and catching some sunshine. This is an old-fashioned kind of place. It is casual, sort of New England-style-- not fancy and utterly comfortable. The staff put out a nice buffet at breakfast. You can eat in the kitchen or find a spot in the dining room. There are bikes to pedal around the island. The inn is well-located for going to restaurants on foot. it's about a 3 minute drive from the main ferry docks. You do need to bike to get to the beach (or take your car). The inn also has a nice outdoor pool during the summer season. When the wind permits, there is also a great widows walk on top of the inn.
Our only negative is we went about a month after the hurricane had come through. If you ventured into the island woods, the mosquitoes attacked. This was unusual for early October.
Ocracoke is the kind of island that is great if you appreciate a laid-back experience or are an avid fisher-person. Do try the Flying Melon Cafe for quality food in a pleasant setting.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LpfwvCharleston_wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to let others know of your good experience at The Castle. Word of mouth and personal stories are the best marketing we have and it is always nice to hear that our guests had a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

We rented The Castle for our wedding and my husband and I stayed the week in The Net House, one of their villas. It was the most beautiful wedding location! Many of our guests stayed in the B&B and had a great experience, the staff was very friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was very good too!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Best wishes and congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for spending time at the Castle. We hope you all come back often
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

You should sersiously consider staying at the Castle if you're spending time on Ocracoke. It's location is awesome - just close enough to everything but without being on the main drag. The people were truly incredible! Misty gave us a tour of the house and grounds on the way to our room and thoroughly explained how things worked. We didn't have time to enjoy the pool, steam shower, or sauna but threatened to both nights. We stayed in the Harbor Room (a room with 3 beds). The room itself was like your grandfather's rocker - an oldie but a goodie. Nothing about this place is "posh" or overly "luxurious," but if you're looking for that you shouldn't stay on Ocracoke. The free bikes were a big hit for us, but the June and the breakfast each morning were truly memorable! Everything was homemade (except for some "plastic muffins" just to appease those who do not enjoy true Southern cooking) by June herself each morning. The smells were incredible and the food was even better. Misty gave us several recommendations for places to go and even called ahead to see what kind of entertainment was going on at each place. She was incredibly helpful! We were so welcomed and there was such a sense of family that thought I was a visiting my in-laws for Christmas.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evans1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Appreciate your kind comments, thank you. We take our southern hospitality and our home cooking very seriously here...and we think that our love of what we do and this special place shows. It is always nice to hear from our guests and we hope you are able to come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Very nice large clean room with small kitchen area. Great location for walking around the harbor. Pool was great in the very warm weather. A secret area that no one else seemed to use the the deck on the water, great for enjoying the view of the water and drinking a beer. They also provide free bikes.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HJFHJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Thank you for such a nice review. It is always rewarding to hear that our guests enjoyed their time here. Hopefully you can come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We absolutely loved this place. Every morning around 630 am you could smell the eggs, bacon, pancakes and any other wonderful breakfast food you enjoy all prepared by Ms. Gladys! Everyone was friendly; the rooms were comfortable much like a home space. The bikes are included with your stay, which is awesome because we parked the car and rode bikes the entire stay! And in the afternoon the house radiated delicious chocolate chip cookies.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
I have also had the pleasure of having one of Miss Gladys breakfast...and totally agree that they are delicious. We are glad you enjoyed your time at The Castle on Silver Lake. Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your stay and please come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
18.0 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
18.0 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle on Silver Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle on Silver Lake

Property: Castle on Silver Lake
Address: 155 Silver Lake Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in comfortable, non-smoking rooms in this three-story inn. The rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and each room has its own private bathroom. Other amenities include an outdoor pool, pool house with sauna & steam shower, a computer with Internet access in the lobby &wireless Internet access on the property. Enjoy a full buffet breakfast each morning. "Captains" enjoy complimentary dockage at the Castle docks with power hookups and a fish cleaning station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle On Silver Lake Hotel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing