We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle on Silver Lake
Ranked #3 of 7 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My fiance (now husband) booked a room for our one night stay for a honeymoon night, as we traveled to Ocracoke to have a destination wedding with our family and friends; and he wanted us to have a night alone~the owners were gracious to allow him to book the room for one night during the July 4 th week! The room was very pleasant and shower was roomy for two! The breakfast is the best on the island!!! Definitely a place to spend a special time with the one you love. Romantic overlooking the harbor, the particular room we stayed in had a light house view as well as the harbor. The B&B had bikes for use and a nice pool in the back of the property. There was snacks out in the afternoon, wine glasses, and a nice fridge in the room as well. We had some delish homemade cookies in the afternoon! There were also two screened in porches with hammock swings! I would highly recommended this lovely and full of history establishment! Thank you for a lovely visit~allowing us to stay one night! The Hess's, Denise and Keith

Room Tip: Janes Room has harbor view and side view of Ocracoke lighthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OBXgirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

We visited Castle on Silver Lake for one night and stayed in their light house suite. The suite is clean and has a lot of space. The atmosphere is romantic. The breakfast is awesome!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shiicare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

We love hearing when our guests had a good stay so thank you for taking the time to post this. We also feel our atmosphere is romantic and that our breakfasts are wonderful...and it is very important that our guests find a clean room. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope you are able to come and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This was my first time staying in a bed and breakfast and I was pleasantly surprised!! This is a great property. We stayed in "Billy's" room. Although this is in the main house and did not have a direct water view, it was totally enjoyable!

The breakfast both mornings was outstanding. The friendliness of the staff was excellent. The island is small so we rented a golf cart which made getting around much easier! There is much to see such as small shops of every kind and plently of good restaurants.

The ferry ride from the mainland is free and wonderful as well.

I highly recommend both the island and the Castle!!

The only small weekness was the ice machine never had any ice. That could be easily resolved and was insignificant in the scheme of things!

Room Tip: I only know about "Billy's room. The web site is excellent and can help you choose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachgirl063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Nice place, nice location, nice people, nice breakfast.
This is of course an island hotel, family run, so, no, it's not a four seasons with trained staff at your beck and call 24/7, but I am giving this 5 of 5 on a scale of Ocracoke hotels, which are more or less exclusively family, casual, holiday places.
Beautifully decorated inside, great faciilities such as the sauna and pool, and we loved the billiard room. And a great breakfast, although it is served 8:30 - 9:30 ONLY. If your expectations are correctly aligned you will LOVE this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

We never get tired of hearing how much our guests enjoyed their stay at The Castle on Silver Lake. Ocracoke is a special place and we feel our castle is too...and thank you for taking the time to let others know of your good experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Castle on Silver Lake is a B&B in a great old house with a super location on the quiet side of the harbor. That means you can walk to the shops and restaurants, but the noise and the traffic that they generate are all on the other side of the water, not disturbing you. The breakfasts were excellent and abundant. We couldn't even sample everything that was offered. Bicycles are available for guests' use free of charge. Don't miss the view from the rooftop deck. It's just magnificent!

Room Tip: Jane's Room has a beautiful view of the harbor.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank solarpowered2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

We appreciate it so much when our guests take the time to us and others know of their good experiences at The Castle on Silver Lake. Thank you for staying with us and for your helpful review. We hope you are able to come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Truly a unique experience...Beautiful building and grounds, enthusiastic staff, delicious breakfast, and the most beautiful view of Silver Lake on the island....Outdoor pool, bikes to explore the island, indoor pool room and fresh snacks provided all day.....We'll definitely return.......

Room Tip: Upstairs front rooms provide a magnificant view of Silver Lake at sunrise.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drummerbuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you thank you thank you for your comments. It is always so nice to hear that our guests had a good time at the Castle B&B. We agree with you about the views and the breakfast and sincerely hope you can visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at Castle on Silver Lake during our first visit to Ocracoke. Couldn't have asked for a better location or a more friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent and completely homemade (no Sams Club style pastries served here!).

We stayed in the Lighthouse Suite. It's the top level with spectacular views of the water and the village. Room was oddly shaped with low ceilings in places, however, due to the location at the top of the Inn it was understandable.

Love this sweet fishing village and would gladly stay at the Castle again.

Room Tip: Lighthouse Suite has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtlanticBeachBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
18.1 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
136 reviews
18.9 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
53 reviews
18 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Castle on Silver Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle on Silver Lake

Address: 155 Silver Lake Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Price Range: £117 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle on Silver Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in comfortable, non-smoking rooms in this three-story inn. The rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and each room has its own private bathroom. Other amenities include an outdoor pool, pool house with sauna & steam shower, a computer with Internet access in the lobby &wireless Internet access on the property. Enjoy a full buffet breakfast each morning. "Captains" enjoy complimentary dockage at the Castle docks with power hookups and a fish cleaning station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Castle on Silver Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle On Silver Lake Hotel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing