We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle on Silver Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle on Silver Lake
Ranked #4 of 7 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

First, let's say that Ocracoke is an totally wonderful place to go to. Quaint, pretty, without the commercial giants that we find everywhere else (no McDonald's, no Walmart, no Sonic...), it is a place for the ones who like to be outside the typical touristy places.
The Castle on silver Lake is pretty, clean, fun, relaxing an the friendliness of the staff is impressing.
You can relax in the pool, or the spa, or the sauna, or play pool, or use one of their bicycles (the island is best discovered by bicycles or golf carts...). Everything clean, eveything in order.
The breakfasts are excellente and the room are very comfortable and clean.
I will definitely go back next year !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Testosapiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
It is always rewarding for our staff to read these nice reviews. We do work very hard to make sure all of our guests enjoy their time here at the Castle and it sounds like you did just that. We are known for clean, comfortable rooms, our southern hospitality and of course those breakfast! Thank you for your comments and we hope you will come back to Ocracoke and our Castle soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    36
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
95
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, North Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Wonderful room, fabulous Jacuzzi tub, and an excellent breakfast - had an amazing stay at the Castle B&B. We sat on the lighthouse balcony and enjoyed wine and cheese we picked up at the local wine store while taking in the view of Silver Lake Harbour. We rode the complimentary bicycles all through town (always the best way to experience Beaufort). Be sure and check the bikes over, they're not all in 100% condition, but we ended up with two perfectly functional bikes.

Room Tip: Stay in the B&B itself if you want breakfast and I recommend the rooms with jacizzi tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheWaterNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you for staying at The Castle on Silver Lake and also for sharing your comments here. It sounds like you got the full island experience while you were here. I think bikes are also a great way to get around on Ocracoke island. We will make sure someone checks out those bikes you mentioned. Hope you can come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

My wife and I decided to swing down to Ocracoke for a night to search for a future vacation location, so we rented the "Net House" villa, suite B, at this Bed and Breakfast. There was no one at the front desk when we "checked in" so I just picked up our key and we walked over to our villa. A mysterious and creepy old man appeared on the balcony above our screened-in porch, and began doing martial arts training with two scythes... this same man made banging sounds throughout the night until about 11:30, so when our 9 month old woke up at 4am and screamed for about 30 minutes straight while we consoled him, we didn't feel so bad. We could hear every move the man upstairs made, from walking across his floor, to peeing in the toilet (yes we could HEAR the sound of his urine going in the toilet), flushing, etc...

People who rent a villa are not allowed to have breakfast at this bed and "breakfast."

The bathtub was full of black curly hairs.

The deadbolt on the door going to the screened-in porch was near impossible to turn.

Room Tip: Unless you want to have to bring your own bacon, eggs, pancake mix, etc., don't rent one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JorgeFromTheBurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
First of all thank you for renting one of the Castle Villas...we appreciate that. I did forward your review to the innkeeper and she got right back to me. She did not hear from you during your stay and regretted that you did not contact anyone about the issues you mention. We cannot do anything about a complaint once you leave...if we are unaware of it.

I want to make it clear to others reading this that the Net House Villa is NOT one of the B&B rooms...it is a privately owned one bedroom condo that sleeps two people (including children). Yes, you do check in at the Castle B&B because that is more convenient for guests.

Hairs in the bathtub--unacceptable, I agree but we have NOT had this complaint before and if we had known we would have sent someone back to clean the tub again to your satisfaction. We pride ourselves on housekeeping and I am sure this will be addressed with the person who cleaned your villa.

The guests above you are known by the innkeeper and staff. He is very into karate and does work outs frequently. He is harmless...truly. We do not know what the banging sounds could have been but we apologize for that as you should not have been disturbed.

We have never ever heard from previous guests in any villa that they were able to hear guests in the bathrooms. I am not sure what to say about this at all...as we were all kind of shocked to hear about it.

Breakfast...that is served to the B&B guests only. We do state this clearly on the website...on each page for each room and in the pre-arrival letter we sent guests too. The B&B has eleven rooms and stays full in the summer so that keeps the cook busy. And, the B&B is owned by individuals who pay for those breakfasts that their guests eat.

The Villas are each owned by different people....and those homeowners are not charged for any meals at the Castle. We do try to make it very clear and are happy to provide information about where to eat on Ocracoke. We simply do not have the resources to provide breakfast to guests at the Villas.

The deadbolt: that is a French door handle and can be tricky sometimes but again, we did not know you had difficulty with it.

I do hope you were able to enjoy your time on the island and that you will come back in the future.

Thank you for your comments. We do read every one and use them to help us improve our customer services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at this property for 2 nights. While our room was "Marys Room" and one of the smaller ones we could not have been more pleased. The Queen size bed was a dream and the rrom was immaculate. The staff were friendly and the ammenities were 1st rate for a B & B. Great Common Room. a billiard table that was actually level and a big leather couch to just chill in.
It is a short walk to almost all of the restaurants in the charming village but we really loved the freedom of biking everywhere. The Inn provides free bikes and if your legs get sore just rent a gilf cart! Somethung a little decedant about tooling down the road at 10 MPH!
I must admit that the breakfast provided were 1st rate and provided serious fuel for the day.
One of the mornings we were treated to Grits and Greens along with a chili reano cassorole that was to die for. The fact that the cook left out freshly baked cookies as a nightime treat was a bonus!
Each room has it's own little fridge for your beer and munchies but we were so well fed on that island that we ended up bringing our room goodies home.
The beaches are magnificent, the locals are all friendly and if the seafood got fresher it would still be swimming!
This property is well valued at $200 a night in High Season and we would not hesitate to give both the property and the romance of the Island a huge 2 thumbs up.
We know there are lots of choices for lodging but we know you will love it here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Guest Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Wow! Your kind review has made our week, thank you so much! You said everything we hope to convey to our guests about The Castle and Ocracoke Island....clean, welcoming, lots to do and beautiful beaches. We hope you are able to come back and thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We recently visited the Castle in Ocracoke. I wouldn't call it luxurious, but I would call it the best place to stay on Ocracoke. You can't expect marble in the bathrooms (or a bell hop to escort you and your luggage up three flights of stairs) but you can expect a lovely B&B complete with clean, comfortable rooms, a friendly staff, and a wonderful breakfast!

It sits in a perfect location right across fro the water and, although you can't get a really good view of the water unless you are in the lighthouse suite, you can walk across the street and enjoy the view from a comfortable seat on the dock. If you can spring for it, definitely go for the lighthouse suite. It is worth the money and the views are fantastic from the private cupola.

You can view details of the room by visiting:
http://www.thecastlebb.com/rooms/details/LighthouseSuite

The pool area was very nice and is one of only 4 places you can stay on the island that has a pool. If you are comparing the Castle to any of them, you can stop now and just pick the Castle!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muller2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
We agree with you...we think the Castle is the best place to stay on Ocracoke too! Our pool is definitely a plus and our breakfasts are always a treat. Thank you for posting your review here...we appreciate it. Hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

My husband and I drove up the NC Coast last year and spent two nights at The Castle on Silver Lake. It was in a great location, the rooms were clean and charming and breakfast was amazing! Ocracoke Island was by far our favorite stop on our trip!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awfaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
So glad you spent some time on Ocracoke and especially that you decided to stay with us at The Castle. We look forward to reading our reviews and make sure all our co-workers see them. Thanks for your very nice review and for spending two days with us. Hope you will be able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

My stay at the Castle was perfect. It was a very cute hotel with several things to do. The breakfast was great, and staff member we encountered was extemely nice. We stayed in Patti's room and it was everything we expected it to be. The hotel was very quiet during our stay. The pool in the back is perfect but the sauna was not working while we were there. Would stay here again if given the opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
What a great review, thank you so much! You made our Monday here at The Castle B&B. We work very hard to provide a welcoming and relaxing experience for our guests and sincerely appreciate when someone lets us know they had a pleasant stay with us. Hopefully you will be able to return many times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
18.0 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
18.0 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#9 of 15 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle on Silver Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle on Silver Lake

Property: Castle on Silver Lake
Address: 155 Silver Lake Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in comfortable, non-smoking rooms in this three-story inn. The rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and each room has its own private bathroom. Other amenities include an outdoor pool, pool house with sauna & steam shower, a computer with Internet access in the lobby &wireless Internet access on the property. Enjoy a full buffet breakfast each morning. "Captains" enjoy complimentary dockage at the Castle docks with power hookups and a fish cleaning station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle On Silver Lake Hotel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing