We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pony Island Motel
Nearby Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Gull Motel(Hatteras Island)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
106
68
29
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
68
29
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant next doorgrills and picnic tablesgreat poolroom was cleandefinitely stay here againonly stayed one nightstaff was very friendly and helpfulwithin walking distanceconvenient locationrent bikesacross the streetshops and restaurantsmicrowaveislandferrysuitesink
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed in the new section of the hotel, overlooking the pool, for 4 nights in one of their suites. It was perfect. Huge jacuzzi tub, which we actually used. Daily maid service - the place was immaculate. Used the pool everyday, all day - not real crowded even the weekend before July 4th. Won't stay anywhere else on OI now!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyOO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Pony Island Motel during a spring getaway to the Outer Banks. It is clean and well maintained, and the suite is very spacious yet reasonably priced. We appreciated the laid back atmosphere and the convenient location, which is just across the street from a decent place to eat. There is also a good restaurant with outdoor seating a little bit past Pony Island on the right...can't remember it's name, but we enjoyed it (that may be why we can't remember the name)! There is a general store nearby and a few other shops and restaurants, but we spent most of our time on the beach just a little bit to the north. Overall, a nice place to stay and a good value, and we would definitely stay here again if we come back to Ocracoke.

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you'd like a little more space and a kitchen!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splender28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

WE stayed two nights at the Pony Island and it has been great. The room was great with refrig, microwave, and sink and coffee pot.It was very comfortable. Would want the same motel and room if we ever come again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We rented the one bedroom suite which is on the 3d floor. Clean, bright, comfortable. No elevator could be an issue for some, the 3 flights of stairs were good exercise for me. Staff was friendly and helpful. I arrived 2 days early for my reservation and they helped me work it out since my room was not available the first night. The restaurant is right next door, has been there forever and has a very good consistent breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fish5nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My wife and I had a fantastic stay at Pony Island! The ladies at the front desk were so pleasant, and the room we stayed in was very nice (it was suite 301). We also rented bikes from the hotel and the nice lady explained the rates; we rented for 24hrs for $20 dollars; this is a great way to travel about on the island. The whirlpool in our room really felt nice after a long day of riding the bikes around. Another added bonus is the Pony Island Rest.; we qualify for senior citizens now and the food was great, and the people were so nice there; some of the best fried oysters I have ever had, and my wife raved about the crab cake also. We ate at another place down the highway, and we felt like it was way overpriced (Howard's Pub); and they had that stupid Rap music playing so loud you couldn't think straight; we probably won't eat there again. Back to Pony Island is where we will be from now on..Thanks to all the folks there again!

Room Tip: I would say the suites are great, and it was very quite. Only thing is the stairs would be a challenge for older folks; it was fine for us...we needed the exercise.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews