We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, affordable”
Review of Pony Island Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pony Island Motel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
MOORESVILLE
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location, clean, affordable”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were very satisfied with this motel. We arrived later in the evening (about 8p) from the ferry. The hotel attendant was very friendly and helpful in assisting us. The room was clean, spacious, and within walking distance to several restaurants. We only stayed one night, but we would be comfortable staying in this motel for several days. It is convenient to many sights and the beach, of course.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEAN E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    62
    27
    7
    0
See reviews for
69
72
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This place was like a welcome old friend after a dreadful experience on a neighboring island! The service was outstanding and the clerk at the desk was not just great, she was EXCEPTIONAL and REALLY CARED! She was gracious and offered for us to look at several rooms before choosing, as all we wanted was clean and decent. She said she would not wish to stay anywhere that you were not allowed to see what you were paying for and the room was modest, quiet, clean and roomy where the bed is, although the bathroom is really small and no counter space, but no big deal, as we really rested well. If you want a place that is HOMEY and SIMPLE and nothing fancy, and a ground cottage, and CLEAN and good mattress, then this was it for us! They offer other rooms that are even nicer, but we were on a budget. THANK YOU! THANK YOU FOR SAVING OUR VACATION and making us feel WELCOME, which was worth so very much! We rented a golf cart and never moved the car again and enjoyed the food, music, and beauty of the island. We took the advice of the staff and went for BREAKFAST NEXT DOOR - walked - to the Pony Island Restaurant - not owned by same people, but was hot, decent breakfast and we walked from GREAT LODGING AND SERVICE for a really fair price! CHECK IT OUT and hope your stay is as pleasant as ours.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reston L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Liked the Pony a lot. Clean and efficient rooms. We stayed a week so we wanted a larger room. Chose 201 the suite. Felt like home. We will be back again. The hotel is just on the edge of the village and that is nice. The pool is large and very clean. Restaurant next door was great for breakfast. It is closet to variety store which is convenient..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Musty smelly room.. clean rooms, not bad location.. nice receptionist.. nothing special for $$$ a night! I'll try something different next time! They should have a park or something more kid friendly..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abcwhitley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Took my elderly parents on a vacation and they really enjoyed the motel. Super clean inside and out. Very nicely remodel at sometime in the recent past, not the fanciest place but comfortable and possibly the cleanest motel I have ever stayed in. The front porch with seating is a real plus, just bring some bug spray for dark:thirty.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RevTHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Beds are soooo uncomfortable. AC was great and cold and we were happy to have a ceiling fan. The pool is supper clean. It was very over priced compared to where we usually stay, but we were happy with our choice as our usual hotel was sold out. (Sanddollar) VERRRRY CLEAN!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank leavingcomments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is a great hotel everyone was very friendly. I was only able to spend one night there and they usually have a two night minimum but they worked with me and accommodated my request. It ended up being a peaceful quick retreat for my wife and I. The location is close to almost everything worth visiting on the island.

Room Tip: Take your pic! There really isn't a bad room on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie27889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
18.5 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#8 of 11 in Hatteras Island
46 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
130 reviews
17.6 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#10 of 16 in Hatteras Island
70 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pony Island Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Island Motel

Property: Pony Island Motel
Address: Highway 12, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Pony Island Hotel Ocracoke
Pony Island Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing