We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Accomodations for Relaxed NC Beach Vacation w/ kids”
Review of Pony Island Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pony Island Motel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Great quality and service for a relaxed beach vacation. Not the place if you are looking for luxury accomodations like the 4 Seasons, but that's not why you go to Ocracoke. Great pool which could be seen from the chairs outside our room door. We were comfortable with our teens in the pool on their own. The service was very friendly with a local feel. The hotel is clean, comfortable and well run.
Location is great for an easy walk to the grocery store or to the restaurants or beachbiking into the village. We enjoyed reading in the Adirondack chairs in the breezeway and playing games on the picnic table under the Juniper(?) trees. We had the one bedroom suite on the end which gave us lots of space to spread out as a family. The fridge was a great help for keeping lunch fixings. Towels were not very plush, but when you have to have them washed everyday (don't dry in the humidity) it probably makes sense. Its a locally owned place. So is the Pony Island Restaurant next door which we also enjoyed. The crab and hush puppies were delicious! We'll be going back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPeople_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2010

We were just passing through on our way to Hatteras and stayed one night. We were pretty tired from driving up all day and got in from the Cedar Island Ferry about 8:20. The reception was prompt and businesslike, if not very friendly.
We stayed in room 102 (single queen), it was pretty clean. The room was fairly large for a single. However, the bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable, also there were no extra pillows (just 2). In the morning, no hot water.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sc0ttB018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

This was our first trip to the area and are so glad we chose to stay at Pony Island. From the first contact to make reservations to checkout we found the staff most helpful and courteous. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. I have to admit some concern from some of the reviews I read also. However it is evident that much renovation has occurred and we found the accomodations most comfortable. Again if you are looking for big hotel ammenities you may be disappointed (no bellmen, hair dryer or toiletries except soap) but for a relaxing beach experience well worth the money this is the place. We hope to return in the future and definately will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNgal1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We've stayed at the Pony Island Inn before in one of the 'mini-suites'. It was very clean and comfortable. This time, we decided to stay in a cottage. We stayed in Pony Island #2. It was wonderful! The price was much cheaper than most of the homes you can rent for a week on the Island, but the kitchen was stocked with appliances and utensils/serveware similar to the larger house we rented before. Pony #2 was clean, very comfortable, and looked to be recently remodeled, judging by the Pony Island website pictures. There is new tile in the living room and they've painted the panelling in the living areas white so that it's very clean and bright. The location is great, too - close enough to bike to everything. The pool, the village, restaurants, etc. The beach access could be biked to if you don't have children and boogie boards and an umbrella. No complaints whatsoever!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momma2LBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We wanted to take the kids to Ocracoke to hit the beach, day trip to Hatteras, wander around Ocracoke, fly kites, generally stay busy - this was a perfect place to crash - it is no frills - don't forget to pack your hairdryer if you need one on your beach trip! but it is spotless clean and the folks at the front desk are incredibly nice. We all enjoyed breakfast at the restaurant, renting bikes to ride around the island, and jumping in the pool at the end of the day. Clean, inexpensive and friendly place.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncbeachfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I visited the island on my yearly trip over Memorial Day weekend. As always the Pony Island Motel was in wonderful shape and everything about this stay at Pony Island Motel was perfect. From the front desk to the maid service everything was perfect. This is a wonderful place to stay when you visit this beautiful island.

Lynn S.
Greensboro N.C.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnswo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Nice area for morning walks, very clean property and room, with coffee maker, fridge, microwave, with 2 Queen beds. The mattresses were not too comfortable, but were fair. The pad on the mattress was vinyl, which made it hot, but there was a fabric pad on top. Only improvement needed were to provide more comfortable mattresses and not use the vinyl mattress covers. Room was very clean and friendly staff! Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smell_The_Flowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
12.8 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
53 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
136 reviews
6.1 mi away
Castle on Silver Lake
Castle on Silver Lake
#3 of 7 in Ocracoke
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Pony Island Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Island Motel

Address: Highway 12, 785 Irvin Garrish Hwy, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Pony Island Hotel Ocracoke
Pony Island Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing