We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Silver Lake Motel & Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Anchorage Inn(Ocracoke)(Great Value!)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crews Inn B&B(Ocracoke)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
52
45
35
19
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
45
35
19
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe jolly rogerbagelscontinental breakfastwould stay here againdeck overlookingrocking chairshot waterawesome place to staywithin walking distanceliving areathe location is perfectcovered porchocracoke islandcoffee and juicefirst floorwonderful placebeautiful view
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed for the 1st Pirate Jamboree and a romantic get away! We loved our stay, we stayed in room 208, the hammock outside our room had a view of the lighthouse and all the pirate activities happening! We look forward to coming back and staying again, loved the location, we walked everywhere, and the locals were great! Highly recommend room 208 if traveling with kids, kitchen was great!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 594stephaniew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

The Pirate Jamboree is always so much fun! I am happy to hear you enjoyed it. Walking everywhere, or riding a bike, is the best way to get around on Ocracoke, I agree. It was very nice of you to specify which room you stayed in as we always get comments and inquiries when a reviewer does mention the exact room...so thank you. Please do come back, anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have always wondered what this motel is like after 30 years trying other accommodations we finally tried the Silver Lake Motel and Inn. It is clean and offers a continental breakfast. There is a small refrigerator in our small room. The Motel is closer to the heart of the village and across the street from the water but it difficult to see the water for the trees. The prices are higher than other accommodations. We liked the Silver Lake Motel and Inn but did not think the rates match the value. We may be more price-conscious than others. Housekeeping missed our room once during our three day stay. Customer service was lacking at the Silver Lake but few places on Ocracoke are known for great customer service. It is not that kind of island. Tourists are often endured.

Room Tip: The bigger suites have very nice water views but the smaller motel rooms are lacking. Window AC units are LOUD. We tried the Silver Lake as a three day treat instead of the usual places elsewhere. We were not WOW'd and cannot justify the higher rates for ourselves.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MTuckerPBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

I always enjoy hearing from long time visitors to Ocracoke and thank you for giving our inn a try. Please consider staying with us again when you return to the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Loved the suite we stayed in...three balconies, two with hammocks overlooking the harbor-gorgeous views. We had two baths and a full kitchen It was clean, but in need of some repairs, and the mattresses/boxsprings were less than desirable--could not move with out waking every one in ear shot!( I understand they are renovating/updating all of the rooms so hopefully that will take care of that problem!) However, the staff was great, as were the breakfasts, and the location was just perfect..next door to OINCs BBQ, around the corner from the bike rental/ice cream shop, and across the road from the Jolly Roger restaurant and bar! We went just after peak season so it wasn't too noisy at night. Great weekend... would stay here again..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trailgal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

We appreciate every review we get here so thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. We are in a perfect location...it just does not get much better here on Ocracoke.

We are planning on some more renovations and refurbishments this winter including mattresses in many rooms so the next time you come here it will hopefully not be an issue.

It sounds like you took advantage of some of our favorite places here and you did pick a wonderful time to stay. Please do come back and thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I made our first visit to Ocracoke for our 10th anniversary the weekend of 9/20-9/22. We booked room 204 at the Inn. We were told that it was the most recently updated room and it showed. The appliances were all new and so was the furniture. The room had a balcony with a hammock over looking the harbor. We were able to check in early and the women at the counter(wish I could remember her name) was very friendly and personable. The Silver Lake Inn is in a perfect spot. We rented bikes but you can easily walk just about anywhere from this location. The continental breakfast was perfect for starting off our day. We look forward to making Ocracoke our anniversary destination, and the Silver Lake Inn will be the place we stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gumby3419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

A belated "Happy Anniversary" to you and a big Thank You for your kind review of Silver Lake Motel and Inn. We always like to hear when our guests have had a good stay with us and that they enjoyed their time on Ocracoke. You did pick a very nice room and the view is quite wonderful from room 204. We do hope you will come back to the Silver Lake Motel and Inn often and thank you again for sharing your comments here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I were looking for a new hotel/inn to stay in while we were on Ocracoke Island for a few days. Because we travel with a large golden retriever it had to be pet friendly. We decided to try The Silver Lake Motel and Inn. The suite (a surprise) was large and roomy with two bedrooms, kitchenette, living room, and bath. It also had a large front deck/patio with chairs and a hammock. We had asked for two beds and were not expecting two bedrooms. The rooms were clean and well furnished. The beds were comfortable, but we were not expecting two rooms. We had asked for two beds. Our golden sometimes likes to sleep on one, but here she preferred the cool floor. What a lovely surprise. She did sleep in the extra room while were watched TV and then joined us in our room for the night. The kitchen appliances worked well as did the TV once we figured it out. (Our fault, not the hotels) The views on the patio were stunning and I enjoyed watching the sunsets from our room (In the hammock, of course!). We did not stay for breakfast since one of our other favorite places is Ocracoke Coffee Company and we wanted to enjoy this as well. The staff running the inn were extremely friendly and helped us with any questions we might have had. We highly recommend this hotel especially if traveling with a dog.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerchild48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

I will make sure our staff sees this and truly appreciate your comments. It is always rewarding to hear from our guests that they have enjoyed their time here at the Silver Lake Motel and Inn. Also glad to hear that your four legged family member found the room comfortable too!

Thank you for your visit and please come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews