We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just right!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sand Dollar Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sand Dollar Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just right!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed in the 2 BR "Keepin' Time" cottage and it was exactly what we needed. The cottage was recently redone, spotlessly clean with linens provided, had a full kitchen and all the necessary conveniences to include a small front yard and rocking chairs on the screened front porch. Check in and out was a breeze. I give it 5 stars not because it was luxurious or fancy but bacause it was very reasonably priced and met our needs, for a perfect getaway to a beautiful, quiet island in March and bacause Tommy, the owner, is perhaps the friendliest and most helpful person I've ever come in contact with. We will return!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Goneagain914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    31
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
38
46
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

The two of us spent a night here after spending several days at a high-rise corporate hotel in Nags Head. The Sand Dollar was a refreshing change! Yes there was no cheap waffle and donut breakfast or flat screen TV, but our tiny room was cozy and the bathroom newly renovated and updated. Everything was spotlessly clean, the owner at the desk very helpful and the price excellent.

All in all this motel perfectly pairs with the art culture feel of Ocracoke, and it is a very thrifty alternative to the nice but more costly B&Bs. Will definitely return here the next time we get out to OBX!

Room Tip: Not a good bet if you are in a wheelchair or walker as this property was built when Elvis was still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ironleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This little motel is nothing fancy or luxurious, but the rooms, though small, were clean and in good repair. it didn't smell musty or moldy and the beds were comfortable The desk clerk was friendly and helpful and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angelaohedgepeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Was there for a few days for a family function on Oct 5 and 6, really enjoyed it,
all the reviews are dead on true, Roger is a wealth of knowledge of places and things to do and history of Ocracoke.
The room attendants were very helpful and do a great job! also they are very happy which tells me it is a great place and they care about the guest,

Would stay again in a heart beat ,

Erik and the girls.

Room Tip: ask Roger, the manager, He will offer a suggestion on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erik292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Clean and quiet and out of the way. We have stayed here several times. The staff is very friendly and outgoing. Its just a cute and quant hotel, nothing fancy. Very good rates and they have a pool. We like staying upstairs.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leavingcomments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
351 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Apparently the lowest cost motel on the island. Clean, comfortable and quiet. Roger (manager) and Linda were exceptional. Very kind and most helpful. This well-run motel is only two short blocks off the water and is close to some nice eateries on Back Street. Only problem was the bathroom door in our room would not completely close. They did give us three (not two) nice fluffy bathtowels (we could take one to the beach) and that was a nice touch. We would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Pick room number 6 because it is next to the office with the best WiFi (internet) signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarlFlorida2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

I recently completed a five day trip to a little slice of heaven, aka Ocracoke Island. This was my first stay at The Sand Dollar and I will definitely return. This motel is a quaint throw back to the motels of the 60s. The rooms are wood paneled and the TV is small (with cable but who really needs a TV at Ocracoke) but the AC works great, the bathroom is modern, the bed is very comfortable, and the towels are plush. In addition, it is located off the main drag and only 2 blocks from Ocracoke Coffee and Flying Melon Cafe (the best restaurant). Definitely the Best Value on OIL.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank wdwguy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
17.6 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
17.5 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Dollar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dollar Motel

Property: Sand Dollar Motel
Address: 70 Sand Dollar Rd., Ocracoke, NC 27960
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Sand Dollar Hotel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing