We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great little find....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edwards of Ocracoke Rooms and Cottages
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We only were going to stay on Ocracoke for 1 night and found Edwards on Tripadvisor. Looked like a good spot and we were not disappointed.
We reserved online and received the confirmation right away. Our room was the end unit of the bungalow row (there are 5), clean as a whistle, throwback decorations, ample space, large wrap around porch with rockers outside. Walkable to whatever you want, coffe house, restaurants, shopping. This is a be back!

Room Tip: As advertised not all rooms have a fridge, we knew but make sure you check.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank red6111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2013

We booked our bungalow room via internet and a confirmation phone call shortly before our arrival. Although we arrived after closing (6pm), a note with instructions had been left for us. When we entered the room, our immediate reaction was "we are soooo returning here". The room was clean and welcoming. Four windows enabled us to enjoy the cross breeze. The bathroom contained toilet, sink and shower which was sufficient for our needs. The owners/staff were friendly and helpful, going out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Cybrarianliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Amazing little place,, off the main drag,, nice staff & atmosphere,, coffee shop 1 block away,, downtown shops about 1/4 mile walk,, ferry ride to Cedar Island is 2.5 hours,, was great for first hour,, then boring, bring a book, deck of cards, coloring book, fingernail clippers, rod & reel, jogging shorts, just something to occupy your time,,,,,,,, will definitely stay again and bring motorcycle buddies !!!!

Room Tip: need to book in advance in summer & weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sawmillbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We love Edwards of Ocracoke. The owners and staff were both friendly and helpful. Our most recent vist was over the Thanksgiving holiday. My son's single room was clean and very cozy with a surprisingly large bathroom. Our efficiency room was also clean and spacious, and it had everything we needed to prepare family meals (full size stove/oven, fridge, and table). We really love the 50s decor (lamps, clocks, melmak mixing bowls), the screened porchs, and the courtyard area with fantastic seating under live oaks and Carolina jasmine to toast the days end. The beds are firm enough for a great nights sleep. Edwards' location is off the main highway, so it's quiet and away from the ferry traffic. And the price is RIGHT compared to other places on the island. We have been coming to Ocracoke for holidays and family vacations for more than 40 years - camping and staying in a variety of the older motels. Now we have found our home away from home at Edwards of Ocracoke.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MWPAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We took the ferry from Hatteras and arrived late. I hadn't called to tell them but they had a note for us with our room keys! It is not a fancy hotel but a family run place with small cottages. We were told in Nags Head that there would be no cell phone service or wifi at the hotel but that wasn't true. We had great signal for both!

Shopping and restaurants are close by. Well, it's a small island! Lol

I also went for a 10 mile run in the morning and felt very safe.

Great place to stay! Our friends stayed in a cottage near us and they had a small kitchen which was convenient. I'd definitely recommend staying here! You won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kbrown7k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Stayed two nights. Was like a motel from the 60s. Clean. Owners were nice and helpful. Mattresses were firm giving a good nights sleep. Will definitely stay here again. Direct TV. WiFi. Screened porch. Three beds in our room. Refrigerator.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TA50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Again...clean room, friendly welcoming service! Simple...we look to get away from it all and it's so easy to slip into island as soon as walk in to the office at check-in. We LOVE Edwards! Wont stay anywhere else in Ocracoke!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bnhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
17.6 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
136 reviews
18.4 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle on Silver Lake
Castle on Silver Lake
#3 of 7 in Ocracoke
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edwards of Ocracoke Rooms and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwards of Ocracoke Rooms and Cottages

Address: 216 Old Beach Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Price Range: £39 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edwards of Ocracoke offers a classic island facility located in the heart of Ocracoke Village and is convenient to shops, restaurants and Silver Lake Harbor, on a quiet, less traveled street. The accommodations are modern, exceptionally clean and very reasonably priced, while retaining the original charm and ambiance of the quaint fishing village atmosphere. Edwards offers a variety of options for vacationers and travelers: single rooms, double rooms, apartments and cottages which can accommodate couples and families. The facility is family-owned and operated and provides charming accommodations in a tranquil setting. It's like going back in time - you can relax and enjoy life like you're suppose to. We welcome you to our vintage facility and hope that you discover the charm. Our guests like to walk and bike to shops and restaurants or gather outside in the courtyard to visit, grill, barbecue or clean their fish catch. Many of the guests return annually to their favorite units and often bring others to share in their vacation tradition with us at Edwards of Ocracoke. The facilities consist of 8 motel rooms, 3 efficiency rooms, 6 cottage apartments and 2 private cottages. Most have private screened porches while others offer open porches and decks, providing a room outdoors as a part of the relaxed atmosphere that is offered at Edwards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edwards Of Ocracoke Hotel Ocracoke
Edwards Hotel Ocracoke
Edwards Motel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing