We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Current Favorite for Accommodations on Ocracoke”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edwards of Ocracoke
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Richlands, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Current Favorite for Accommodations on Ocracoke”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I just completed our second stay at Edwards (in a bungalow room). We love it--the clean, retro rooms; the friendly accommodating staff, the location, and the price. Edwards has a loyal following, and it can be difficult to book on summer and festival weekends. Book early.

The bungalow rooms are small (cozy), but there is plenty of room for a couple for a short stay. The porch is well shaded. There's ample enough parking. Bike racks are quite close by. Laundry facilities and ice are available on site. Wifi is reliable. Quiet hours are in place from 10:00 PM to 7:00 AM. Unless, you want a room with a view of the harbor, sound, or canals, Edwards is ideal. It's right off Back Road, and a quick zip to the village for bikers and those with golf carts.

There is no coffee maker, refrigerator, or hair dryer in the bungalow rooms, so pack or adapt accordingly. The TV is small, but we wouldn't miss it if it were not there at all.

Room Tip: For a longer stay, book a courtyard room or cottage. The rooms are soundproof, but thus far, that ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adigression
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    46
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
40
114
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The grounds are kept in very good condition, and the owners are very nice helpful people. We checked in and it turned out that their mattresses are very firm, which after numerous Back Surgeries I could not sleep on that bed. The room was also much smaller than I expected. The owners were nice enough to refund our money. If they purchased more comfortable mattresses I would stay there because it was peaceful and off the beaten path.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthZe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We had a nice visit to Edwards and were pleased with the convenient location. The cottage was clean and had much of what was needed for a comfortable stay. Screened in porch was great!
A couple things to note: the showers are small and water leaks on the floor and the place had a musty smell to it (maybe because it was before the start of the peak season?). But given the affordable rates, it was still a nice place to stay.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cmcpvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The folks at Edwards are very accommodating and friendly. Our room was right out of the 1950's, BUT updated with modern conveniences such as refrigerator, air conditioning, and flat-screen TV with large channel selection. The windows actually open, unlike most modern hotel windows, so we did not even need the air conditioning. We enjoyed the laid back atmosphere and hope we can return for another visit someday.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RAILTRIPPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrington, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Edwards accommodates my large family of 8 people every year, year after year. We travel from Connecticut to our beloved island of Ocracoke. Its like no place on earth. And the Clarks give a great dose of Southern hospitality every year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hlaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpls
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I loved our stay at Edwards of Ocracoke and would go back in a minute. It was so peaceful and relaxing. We came in on the late ferry, so everything was dark as we drove around looking for Edwards. I passed a little room with the light on and thought, "Oh, that looks so cozy." It turned out it was our room! Edwards really did "leave the light on for us." It felt like having a grandma's house to come to in Ocracoke. (It was also immaculately maintained.)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lbs720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I was here this past summer and stayed in a bungalow room. This time I went for the courtyard room (hard to resist with off-season rates) and glad I did. It was perfect in every way except no bathtub - only their cottages have tubs. But everything else made up for that. It was a really spacious room with two double beds, several windows. Nice vintage style and decor - not the cookie-cutter look of most hotels. For two evenings the weather allowed me to sit in the screened porch area - like a cozy sitting room. Room has a full-sized fridge - really nice to have room for drinks, cheese, yogurt, etc. as well as a freezer for ice cream I got from the Variety Store! I used the small coffee maker for heating water for instant coffee, tea, and spiced cider drinks. No coffee provided but I knew that from the conversation with the reservation. There was a small side table two 50s type chairs and they saw a lot of use during my visit. Yes, the bathroom is small but most bathrooms in motel/hotel lodging are small. There was a small shelf you could store things and even the window ledge. I didn't mine the pedestal sink at all. Bed was comfortable and the whole place just spotless.

I checked in after 6 PM and they had my reservation taped on the window in the office and a cooler of room ice should I need some. They room was all ready and welcoming for me. I brought my bike as I always do and they have a guest bike rack to store it. I've learned from other visits that you don't need a lock for your bike and no one wears a helmet. Everyone is going too slow to need one! They do have guest bikes you can rent by the day or even just a few hours.

The Clark's are great hosts. Sara was so helpful with the reservations and recommendations for restaurants at this time of year. She secured a regular TV remote so I could play the DVDs I brought but they have DirecTV too.

I felt welcomed and absolutely safe during this late fall visit. I cannot wait to go back this next summer. Edwards is really the epitome of Ocracoke style - relaxed, just what you need, and nothing more. I love the simplicity.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 84Hokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
17.6 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle on Silver Lake
Castle on Silver Lake
#3 of 7 in Ocracoke
161 reviews
17.5 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
17.4 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#11 of 16 in Hatteras Island
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edwards of Ocracoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwards of Ocracoke

Property: Edwards of Ocracoke
Address: 216 Old Beach Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edwards of Ocracoke offers a classic island facility located in the heart of Ocracoke Village and is convenient to shops, restaurants and Silver Lake Harbor, on a quiet, less traveled street. The accommodations are modern, exceptionally clean and very reasonably priced, while retaining the original charm and ambiance of the quaint fishing village atmosphere. Edwards offers a variety of options for vacationers and travelers: single rooms, double rooms, apartments and cottages which can accommodate couples and families. The facility is family-owned and operated and provides charming accommodations in a tranquil setting. It's like going back in time - you can relax and enjoy life like you're suppose to. We welcome you to our vintage facility and hope that you discover the charm. Our guests like to walk and bike to shops and restaurants or gather outside in the courtyard to visit, grill, barbecue or clean their fish catch. Many of the guests return annually to their favorite units and often bring others to share in their vacation tradition with us at Edwards of Ocracoke. The facilities consist of 8 motel rooms, 3 efficiency rooms, 6 cottage apartments and 2 private cottages. Most have private screened porches while others offer open porches and decks, providing a room outdoors as a part of the relaxed atmosphere that is offered at Edwards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edwards Of Ocracoke Hotel Ocracoke
Edwards Hotel Ocracoke
Edwards Motel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing