We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth Every Penny!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain's Landing Waterfront Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain's Landing Waterfront Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, NC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2007

Oh where to start! My fiancé and I (actually she was only my girlfriend until this trip) stayed at the Captains Landing in July of 2007. This was our second trip to Ocracoke Island (which is wonderful). We stayed at Blackbeard’s Lodge the first year, which is nice in it’s own way, but does not compare to Captain’s Landing. I actually proposed the first day there and George and Betty (the owners) helped receive flowers (and hide them for me) and then assisted in placing them in the room while I was on the beach proposing. They were very accommodating to our needs. We actually missed the Swan Quarter ferry on the way over and our arrival was delayed by a few hours (if you ever take the appointment only ferries from Cedar Island or Swan Quarter, they are very strict about the arrival times…get there an hour early to avoid being cancelled!). Anyway, back to the hotel. George greeted us upon arrival and took the time to walk to the room with us and show us everything. The rooms are equipped with a full kitchen (including most utensils and cookware), a dishwasher, 1 and ½ baths, a spacious bedroom and a den. Both the den and bedroom have sliding doors that open to a huge balcony with a priceless view. The website says it all when stated that you feel like you are “on the water” here. The balcony overlooks a private boat dock and the water is less than 15 feet from your room. The staff cleans the rooms daily and you do not want for much while you are there! Bikes are offered free of charge for travel around the island and you can also check out DVD’s from George and Betty’s personal collection for those rainy days (DVD player included in the room). Also check out Betty’s gift shop (attached to the office). She is a true local and we enjoyed talking to her during our visit. We did have one issue with some neighbors making too much noise one night. When I reported this George and Betty were both very concerned and took care of the problem immediately. It was a small issue, but the way they handled it made it a “non-issue” after all. I cannot say enough about this place; you will not be disappointed. We felt like royalty and the location of the hotel (right on the water) was amazing. You can see the lighthouse from your room and experience Ocracoke and the “lake” in a way that you cannot anywhere else. The price is a little higher than some places, but it’s worth every penny!

On a side note, while your there:
Be sure and rent a kayak from Ride the Wind Surf Shop. We had it the whole week. You can chain it to a tree near their shop and use it whenever you want. It’s a lot of fun. We even explored outside the “ditch” one day and viewed Ocracoke from the “outside looking in”. Also…take a fishing trip with John Ferrara of A Fish Tale (on the dock at the Jolly Roger). He was the nicest man and we caught fish (at a time that fishing was a little “off” for everyone else!).

If you can’t tell, I LOVE OCRACOKE! Sara and I plan on going back on a yearly basis. It’s the most relaxing beach you will ever visit. If you like the hustle and bustle of a commercial beach, this ain’t for you! If you want to relax and enjoy a clean beach with incredible history, you should try it. Don’t tell too many people though; we don’t want this secret to get out too much!

  • Liked — Personal Service, Cleanliness, View
  • Disliked — Not a thing!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank humerus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    15
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
44
117
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Central North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2007

The Captain's Landing is "the" choice for travelers expecting great things. Don't let the typical beach front exterior fool you, inside are impeccable suites with a gorgeous view. A bonus perk is having parking places reserved for each room, so you don't have to worry about not having a spot. Everyone, from the innkeepers to the other staff is down-to-earth, friendly, and more than willing to go the extra mile. My 71-year old mother-in-law had a wonderful nights sleep on the pull out full size sofa bed in the living room. And my husband and I drifted off every night looking out at the water and the lighthouse. Also, it is wonderful to enjoy an entrancing sunset over Silver Lake Inlet from the privacy of your own spacious deck. It truly is a fantastic, breath-taking view. The suites are very clean and well stocked, including the kitchenette with microwave, dishwasher, full fridge w/freezer, stove, pots/pans, dishes, and silverware! And the bath and a 1/2 was another nice addition to the convenience of the accommodations. Once you are done with a full-day of sight-seeing, shopping, fishing, or biking, you can come back to your suite and relax with a DVD from the hotel's extensive collection, including many family friendly titles. Captain's Landing isn't the cheapest place to stay on the Island, but it is worth every penny. My husband and I won't be staying anywhere else on our future visits to Ocracoke.

  • Liked — Cleaniness and view
  • Disliked — Nothing to put here, everything was fantastic
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank tljoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2007

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights on a getaway trip over the holidays (Dec. 2006). We had a 2nd floor suite and it was just lovely. Very clean and well furnished. The bath and a half was a great help also!!! George, the owner checked us in personally and walked us to our suite and showed us around himself. Super nice guy!! They offer FREE dvd loans, and offered us free bike use. A very warm and inviting place with awesome sunsets to watch. The island is so quiet and beautiful. I highly recommend and look forward to more stays here!!

  • Liked — Waterfront/Scenery
  • Disliked — Stairs to climb
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WMP414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2006

My wife, myself, and out 12-year old daughter stayed in the newly renovated Captain's Cottage. The sublime harbor view coupled with spotless housekeeping and quiet ambiance made these accomadations truly outstanding. Owners George and Betty were attentive to all our needs. The staff was friendly and helpful. Captain's Landing is centered perfectly close to everything yet surprisingly quiet. We will gladly return to Captain's Landing!

  • Liked — it was directly on the harbor
  • Disliked — no bathtub
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank IvanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelius, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2006

We have been visiting Ocracoke Island for over 20 years and have come to know and love the Island. However, this was our first stay at The Captain's Landing. We occupied the Penthouse suite along with sister & brother-in-law and the luxurious accommodations were more than satisfactory - they were excellent ! The Penthouse was perfect for 4 people for a one week stay - we had our privacy, we had fun preparing meals in the gourmet kitchen, we enjoyed sitting on the huge deck overlooking Silver Lake with early morning coffee or late afternoon cocktails. The entire Landing resort was clean, welcoming, serviced well, convenient to shops, restaurants...The Captain's Landing is by far the best place to stay on Ocracoke Island. Thank you George & Betty Chamberlain for your hospitality. Tom & Darla Kerley, Cornelius, NC

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Missplaced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2006

The accommodations were wonderful! The staff is very friendly and helpful. We will definitely come back to this island paradise.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2006

We highly recommend Captain's Landing. We stayed recently in a 2nd floor suite. The owners/managers were exceptionally gracious and friendly. The suite was immaculate, large, and had a big balcony looking out over Silver Lake. The location is ideal -- on the water side of the road and close to everything. We would definitely return to Captain's Landing.

Helpful?
6 Thank uwis66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
17.9 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
17.8 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Landing Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Landing Waterfront Inn

Property: Captain's Landing Waterfront Inn
Address: 324 Hwy 12, P O Box 1150, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight waterfront suites, a spacious two-bedroom penthouse and a charming cottage overlook Ocracoke Island's scenic Silver Lake and provide panoramic views of the lighthouse and harbor life. Sea air and soft breezes enhance your stay at Captain's Landing; along with spectacular sunsets and views from your own private deck, so close to the water you may feel as though you are on a boat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain`s Landing Waterfront Hotel Ocracoke
Captains Landing Waterfront Hotel
Captains Landing Waterfront Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing