We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best location on the island!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain's Landing Waterfront Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Big Canoe, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The best location on the island!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We can walk to most everything. The front desk was so friendly and helpful. Every question was answered. They made us feel like we were appreciated. The rooms are great and the balcony was large with a view of the harbor. That evening we saw a beautiful sunset from our balcony. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Okracoke.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Zzba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    15
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
45
122
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Best view on the island! Great people! More like a bed and breakfast. They treat you like family. I can't say enough about the wonderful experience. Bring your boat if you have one. It is right on the harbor. Kid friendly and lots of room in the suite.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaddy2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pikesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was the first place my girlfriend and I ever stayed together. Three years later, we were married on the beach in Ocracoke. We make an annual pilgrimage from Baltimore MD and The Captain's landing is one of the best.

Room Tip: First floor rooms will permit you to walk out the back door to the dock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Igiveuponthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reva, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We go here every year and it has become a home away from home. We love the location of this hotel that suites our needs. It is right on Silver Lake so we can launch our kayak right from the dock. The fresh seafood store run by the watermen is just a few steps down the street and we cook in almost every night. The rooms are immaculate and the bed has a good firm mattress we love. From our location we can get to everything by walking or riding our bikes. George and Betty who run the place take personal interest in us and in keeping the place in top shape. If I had one wish it would be for ceiling fans but I cannot even imagine going anywhere else. There are assigned parking spaces which means you never have to worry about not being able to park. We will be going this year at the end of June again!

Room Tip: We like the first floor as we are always dragging in coolers and bikes. They have a handicap ramp wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very little to add to the glowing reports of this property. My wife and I simply loved the place. We made a last minute decision to visit the Outer Banks in hopes it would take our minds off the death of our dog. We were lucky to get the reservations for 2 nights. Betty made us very comfortable with our surroundings and answered questions we hadn't even thought of yet. Rode bikes, ate seafood and Thai, walked on the beach, and talked to very friendly locals. Sunset on the second night was an unexpected delight after a light rain. The restaurant/bar nearby has music on the weekends and we sat in the comfort of our balcony listening and watching the sun go down. The bands start and finish early, a plus at our age. Hate to give this one up, but they deserve it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jalfordfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We decided to return to our Midwest home from our winter trip to Florida by driving along the east coast. We knew it would be off season once we got to Ocracoke, but we wanted to stop for a night anyway. When I contacted Captain's, they obliged us by allowing a one-night reservation. And we are glad they did. The room was spacious with a deck overlooking the harbor with the lighthouse in the background. Amazing friendly service. They took us to our room, showed us everything, made suggestions for meals, and offered us a late checkout because we were only there for one day. Their off-season rate of $100 was super, as well. Should we ever return to Ocracoke, there is no other place we would stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank rdeank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahlonega, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We seen this place and had already bought out ticket to cross the ferry... We stopped to get price for next time. After walking in we chose to change our Ferry ticket and stay here!! It was off season and one of the only places open... The staff was super friendly and we will defiantly stay again!! We had been driving the coastal road looking for a perfect place like this!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimmelfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
17.9 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
17.8 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#8 of 16 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Landing Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Landing Waterfront Inn

Property: Captain's Landing Waterfront Inn
Address: 324 Hwy 12, P O Box 1150, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight waterfront suites, a spacious two-bedroom penthouse and a charming cottage overlook Ocracoke Island's scenic Silver Lake and provide panoramic views of the lighthouse and harbor life. Sea air and soft breezes enhance your stay at Captain's Landing; along with spectacular sunsets and views from your own private deck, so close to the water you may feel as though you are on a boat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain`s Landing Waterfront Hotel Ocracoke
Captains Landing Waterfront Hotel
Captains Landing Waterfront Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing