We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a GREAT PLACE---no wonder they SELL OUT!!!!!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain's Landing Waterfront Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a GREAT PLACE---no wonder they SELL OUT!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2009

I had about given up on finding a place last minute when I called the Captain's Landing and the owner, Betty, just happened to pick up the phone. Wow!! What a LADY!! By the time our conversation ended, I had a room for 2 nts and a new friend! We checked in after getting off the ferry with Ann (ask her how she ended up on Ocracoke and where she'd eat her last dying meal! LOL). She walked us to our room and opened the door. Both of us stood there staring at the PARADISE we had just walked into!!!!! We ran from room to room "wow-ing" over what a NICE place this was!!!!!! Ann personally walked us through every aspect of anything we could have ever had questions about.. from the great selection of movies at the front desk, keys to the bikes, layout of the island, best places to eat, etc. We returned the favor by telling her that we knew how to work the satellite TV bc we had one ourselves--- that made her day!!
The only way to do this piece of paradise justice is to tell anyone reading this to go there themselves and experience it!!!! The first night we sat on our back porch watching the sun go down over the harbor as the lighthouse started to burn across the reflective waters in the harbor. The band at Jolly Roger next door got going and we grabbed some beer (make sure you hit the Community Gro Store before 9pm, but Ann or Betty will warn how everything closes up early) and sat out and enjoyed the entire evening from our back porch!!!!
The only reason we didn't stay longer was because someone had booked our room for the day we were leaving!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pirates98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    15
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
48
126
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

My wife and I just came back from Ocracoke Island for our 1st anniversary and stayed at Captains Landing. After a horrible incident with the Cedar Creek ferry, we were finally on the island. I always trust the reviews on tripadvisor and weigh all options before deciding and as you see, most if not all the reviews about George and his staff at the Captains Landing are right on. They are the most courteous, kind and helpful staff their is. The hotel is first-class and more of a time-share because unlike us, people usually stay for a week and not for 3-days like us. The walls weren't thin but you could hear the occasional footsteps on top of you and I think I heard someone drop the toilet seat in the room next to us. The room was certainly big enough and the patio was perfect with beautiful views of the harbor. We had brand new bikes waiting for us and their was no charge for them. We were very surprised about the island, itself and noticed that there was not a very diverse group of people and there were more rebel flags flying than I've seen anywhere. We also noticed that the people weren't exactly overly friendly, like you would expect in the south. George, however, was a gem and we can't wait to go back and see him.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2009

This is a newish (5 years?) building and done in good taste. The location is terrific for walking to almost everything in the small village. The rooms are spotless and large, more like suites. We had a kitchen and made the coffee provided. The balcony is very large with comfortable wooden furniture. To sit on the balcony (we were on 2nd floor) or walk down to the dock and just sit there is terrific. We stayed for four nights. We had stayed at The Castle a couple of times and found the old-fashion furniture a little stifling. But the free breakfast at the Castle is abundant. So, we tried Captain's Landing this time. There are a couple of quirks about this place. One is the registration process. When reserving they take your credit card but that is only if damage is done to the property. You have to pay the "realty company", whatever that is. The realty company emailed me a contract and I paid for the four nights up front! Oddest thing. Anyway, the process was bizarre. Then there were the signs/instructions.......close the door, wipe your feet, lock the gate, turn off A/C, careful with the sliding doors, etc, etc. After roaming the village I found that these signs were not unique to Captains Landing.....they are everywhere! But it is off-putting and makes me wonder if Ocracoke has a Chamber of Commerce. I recommend this place, but be prepared for some odd, and not entirely friendly, operational issues. Oh, one more thing: the bar next door has very loud music on weekends. It stops at 10pm but if you are an early to bed guy you will not like it. And, last week the fish house next to the bar installed new coolers. The compressors are on the roof and make a helluva racket all day and all night. Am not sure if this will continue. Good luck.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Leatherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We were not sure about what to find on Ocracoke as guide book descriptions appeared very contradictory and hence we had only booked for two nights. What a mistake! It should have been for two weeks. This is a place to relax in and watch the world go by even if it is not much more than witnessing the ferry departures, the mooring of sailing boats or the antics of the pelicans. And where is the best place to watch this from - the Captain's Landing.

The rooms are spacious and light and with all the facilities one could hope for. But best of all is the fact that you can step out onto your own balcony or decking within feet of the water. Everything else is within walking distance - lighthouse, British Cemetery etc but you will need a bike or car to get to the wonderful beaches.

As for eating out, you are spoiled for choice but for us it has to be the Pony Island for breakfast (try their crab cakes with fried eggs and hash brown special) and the Back Porch for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Severn ON.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

We visited Ocracoke Island Apr. 6/09 with the intention of doing the ATV thing on Portmouth Island the next day. The weather was very windy and unfortunately the ATV service was not ready to go. We stayed one night at the Captains Landing and were pleasantly surprized. George and Betty go out of their way for guests. The facility is very clean and well appointed. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markusupnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

just back from a wonderful weekend at Captain's Landing. we can only second the previous reviewers: this place is fabulous, sits right on Silver Lake with an excellent view, the suites are clean and well equipped, and the owners/operators really go the extra mile to make your stay as comfortable as possible. will definitely be back this fall.

Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank wakanaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Perhaps the best location on Ocracoke Harbor. Wonderful views from right on the water, easy to walk or ride bikes to anyone you need to go. We had the Penthouse and it came with the free use of two new bikes. Kitchen was probably the best equipped kitchen I have ever found in a rental unit. Lots of room to spread out. Would be the perfect place to bring a large family. The staff were attentive and made sure we were taken care of. They seemed to know when we were off for a hike because each time we came back from a long hike, the room had been made up. Friendly and courteous staff made the trip a perfect place to get away from the fast pace of Atlanta.

If you come to Ocracoke, one strong recommendaiton I would make is to bring your own vegtables and meats. Pickings were pretty slim at the groceries there.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
17.9 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
132 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#8 of 11 in Hatteras Island
46 reviews
17.8 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
17.6 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#10 of 16 in Hatteras Island
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Landing Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Landing Waterfront Inn

Property: Captain's Landing Waterfront Inn
Address: 324 Hwy 12, P O Box 1150, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight waterfront suites, a spacious two-bedroom penthouse and a charming cottage overlook Ocracoke Island's scenic Silver Lake and provide panoramic views of the lighthouse and harbor life. Sea air and soft breezes enhance your stay at Captain's Landing; along with spectacular sunsets and views from your own private deck, so close to the water you may feel as though you are on a boat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain`s Landing Waterfront Hotel Ocracoke
Captains Landing Waterfront Hotel
Captains Landing Waterfront Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing