We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain's Landing Waterfront Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2010

My wife and I celebrated our 3oth wedding anniversary on Ocracoke and stayed at Captains Landing. It was absolutely great. George, Betty and their entire staff were nothing less than excellent. The room was emaculate. No dust, stains, worn carpet, shoddy furniture, at all. It was a fabulous place to stay and we will definately stay there again during our next visit to Ocracoke.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiefp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2010

I have visited Ocracoke many times over the years but I have never stayed on the island. We decided to stay for a few days and enjoy the island without having to worry about ferries. The reservations were a bit confusing and tricky but other than that everything else was a breeze. The room was perfect and I loved having a balcony over the water - the main selling point for me for this hotel. The service was wonderful, the woman checking us in (owner?) showed us the room and how to work everything and also gave us tips on where to go for food. We really enjoyed having menus inside of the room to help us decide on where to go.

Go here for: Docks for your boat during your stay, views of the lighthouse and water, comfortable rooms, kitchens.
Don't go here for: A cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c0reyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

All of the positive reviews could be supported by our visit and conversely none of the negative reviews could be supported. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patentman44198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

When we found out the 5pm Ferry was canceled, our luck changed when we found "Captains Landing". We stayed in the Cottage which was very comfortable and clean. Betty was very helpful and made us feel welcome and very comfortable. The location is perfect the view from the sliding doors onto the deck is beautiful with the water view of the bay. Across the street we had dinner at Dajio's which we loved. Also there is a small grocery store two doors down. Betty supplied us with DVD's and just so much information. I would definately recommend Captain's Landing and I can't wait to actually vacation on Ocracoke. I want to bring my grandchildren next time and have them experience this beautiful Island. The Ferry from Hatteras to Ocracoke is free and runs on the hour however, the ferry from Ocracoke to Cedar Key is limited and is a 2 hour 20 min ride which we enjoyed. This ride cost $30 for a larger vehicle.
Once again if you want a Very Clean, beautifully decorated place to stay I would recomend the Captains Landing. I can't wait to go back!!!! Thank you Betty for all your help and advice you made everything so easy!!! All your suggestions were right on!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerriC305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

The Captain's Landing had lots of room to spread out. Each suite was well-equipped with kitchen utensils and coffee maker and coffee packets. The bathroom was large and had lots of towel bars and hooks and a clothes line. The location was great with most things in the village in walking or biking distance. And the views from the private balcony were nice.

The owners, George and Betty, were very nice and helpful.

In the future, I would choose a suite on a higher floor because we did hear the TV, footsteps, sliding door, and flushing toilet from the floor above us.

Another tip: The internet connection was extremely slow and we could not get cell phone service so plan ahead.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

We really loved Ocracoke Island. The accommodation was very central and the owners were really friendly and helpful. The views from the balcony were stunning!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateBoothby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Just right for a weekend stay with my husband - terrific location and reasonably priced. Loved having bicycles to tour the island. It was pleasant to make my coffee in our room's kitchen and then watch the sunrise over Silver Lake and lighthouse.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy-a-go-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
17.9 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
136 reviews
18.7 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle on Silver Lake
Castle on Silver Lake
#3 of 7 in Ocracoke
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Landing Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Landing Waterfront Inn

Address: 324 Hwy 12, P O Box 1150, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Price Range: £83 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight waterfront suites, a spacious two-bedroom penthouse and a charming cottage overlook Ocracoke Island's scenic Silver Lake and provide panoramic views of the lighthouse and harbor life. Sea air and soft breezes enhance your stay at Captain's Landing; along with spectacular sunsets and views from your own private deck, so close to the water you may feel as though you are on a boat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Captain`s Landing Waterfront Hotel Ocracoke
Captains Landing Waterfront Hotel
Captains Landing Waterfront Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing