We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but in need of Repairs”

Springer's Point Preserve
Ranked #4 of 30 things to do in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice but in need of Repairs”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We rode our bicycles to the beginning of the path that takes you through the preserve and out to the water. The area is interesting but the land markings are in need of repair. In February the bugs were not an issue, but I can just imagine what the walk would be like during the heat / humidity of the summer.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MLL_KLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    45
    12
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Enjoy this walk through nature!!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is a hidden gem on Ocracoke! We did not even know about this until my husband stumbled across it so we went back one day. This is about a 30 minute walk - peaceful and beautiful - to a secluded beach. Wonderful history of Blackbeard here with a view of "Teach's Hole". Loved walking through all the huge live oaks - a great place to get some great pictures. Definitely bring the bug spray though!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ChspkeGirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just stunning”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I absolutely LOVED visiting the preserve. Even in the winter, the beauty of the trees, plants, and the beach is just astounding. It is so peaceful and I got some great pictures. I definitely hope to be back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MEH1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanceboro, NC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Walking on history”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I've been going to Ocracoke for nearly 30 years and only recently visited Springer's Point Preserve and the well where Black Beard watered his ships. Its a walking trail with small signs that provide information about the preserve as you walk through it. It provides a great view of "Teach's Hole". Well worth the walk. You have to walk or ride a bike there - there is NO PARKING near the preserve entrance.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Interesting, informative”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Short, self-guided walk through what Ocracoke must have looked like at the time of Blackbeard. Many old Live Oak trees, an old private cemetery, birds and the varied, plant life of a coastal woodland. Bring bug spray, the mosquitoes are merciless! Walk or ride a bike as their is no parking, but nothing is really very far away on this lovely island.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Springer's Point Preserve also viewed

 
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 

Been to Springer's Point Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing