We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Teeter's Campground
Reviewed 9 January 2008

Teeter's Campground is a laid back small campground. There are lots for tents or campers with bathroom facilities: indoor and outdoor showers, water, sewage and cable TV provided. The manager is concencious and helpful. He's lived on the island all his life, a good guy.

Not much on Ocracoke is fancy and neither are the campgrounds. You are off the main road with trees, which means shade on hot summer days. You will usually find a friendly crowd here as people return often.

Come in the fall when it is quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank KruzQween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 47 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
25
Reviewed 17 April 2006

We visited Teeter's during Easter weekend. We were looking for hook-ups and something close to town(without breaking the bank). We got exactly that. Ocracoke has been a favorite spot for us for a long time. Tee shirts, flip flops, cold beer and a "Hey, how yall doing?" go a long way. Bubba and his wife were very nice people. We had a great time and we'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Chester, VA
19
Reviewed 2 March 2006

I and my family have stayed at Teeter's campground mny times over the years, and we love it. This campground is obviously not like other, bigger campgrounds. Sure its not the fanciest of campgrounds, but it does have a very friendly environment. I have attended cookouts that teeter has put held. Ocracoke is not meant to be a touristy place, and indeed, that would ruin the appeal of the island. I strongly disapprove of the previous description of Teeter. He is very nice and helpful. If you were having an issue with loud campers, you can always say something to him and he will help out.
I always enjoy my time in ocracoke staying at teeter's campground and meeting interesting people. I plan to stay there again this year again because it's that good.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Cary
112
Reviewed 7 February 2006

Teeter's Campground is not for everyone -- especially people who are looking to "relax," as one person wrote. The noise bothered everyone in my family, and the site itself was a disgrace. I agree with the first poster -- there is a MUCH better, cleaner, nicer, quieter campground down the road. This place isn't worth the small amount we payed to stay there. yuck.

Stayed: July 2005
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Chesapeake, VA
17
Reviewed 23 September 2005

I have stayed at Teeters many times now over the years and have enjoyed all trips there. The facilities are ok, and it's real close to town center and lots of stores. I have read a review bashing this site, if people making noise at night bother you, you should probably keep your RV or Tent at home and camp in your back yard, If your camping your there to have fun and relax on your vacation and that usually does not involve nap time at 12:30 and going to bed at 8pm. (And PS the confederate flag is at the site, there are several thousand confederate memorials all over the south, it is not a sign of racism, just a rememberance of our nations history)

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2005

Teeters Campground is one of the few places to camp on the island and has hookups. It is owned by a family that has lived on the island for many years. The family is friendly and helpful. The campground could be a little bit cleaner, but otherwise we loved it. It is close to the town center and we had a great time walking and biking around.

  • Stayed: June 2003
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ArkAirstream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
225
Reviewed 27 April 2005

i like teeters it cheep and it just a simple way to stay i mean most of the time your not going to be there. man give me a tent some sleeping bags and extra cloths and im there boy!!

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Teeter's Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teeter's Campground

Address: 200 British Cemetery Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Teeter`s Campground Hotel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing