We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique place - fun for kids”
Review of Blackbeard's Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blackbeard's Lodge
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Corona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unique place - fun for kids”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom "suites" which worked well traveling with kids. Very unique - not your typical hotel. Not a luxurious place but clean and lots of character. Our kids loved the Blackbeard statue in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aimster71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    54
    21
    19
    20
See reviews for
60
67
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

If you are looking for old world charm and a relaxed, inviting atmoshere then the Blackbeard Lodge in Ocracoke, NC is it. It's no Holiday Inn Express and you won't get room service, but you will have a visit rich in history and a friendly staff to make sure you enjoy every minute of your island holiday. The proprietors, Chip and Helena go out of their way to make sure you feel at home and Kim at the front desk is wonderful at making suggestions on where to go and what to see while you are there. We LOVED the Blackbeard Lodge and can't wait to visit again. Thanks guys for an awesome week.

Tammy Jo & Jack

Room Tip: 3rd floor King Room was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammyJoandJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alliston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Maintenance is not a concept this hotel seems familiar with. We shared the "Managers Appt." with family. While the accommodation was acceptable and clean, it was too expensive for what was provided. There was only lukewarm water which was never improved upon despite promises to the contrary. The location however was good wrt restaurants and a nice bar.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank GrantSAlliston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Cozy accommodations, small bathroom with stand up shower, could use some updating, reasonably priced, no room for parking. Decent customer service. Close to everything. Our room was located in the inner building close to the lobby.

Room Tip: Our room was located in the inner building close to lobby and pool. It was noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christopher l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My partner took me here for my 28th birthday weekend and it was wonderful! We had the managers apartment all to ourselves; talk about spacious! It was larger than our home in Virginia! The apartment was clean, the staff very friendly and the the decor adorable. Everything was so easy here; from check in, renting bikes, and check out. It was definitely an unforgettable experience and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel was advertised as a historical hotel in Ocracoke, but apart from a statue of Blackbeard it was difficult to see how it was historical. It was easy to find and well located, off the main road and near eating establishments in Ocracoke and close to the beach. It all seemed to need 'up-dating', decorating and refurbishment. Our room was 'on a bridge' at the front with no lift which meant lots of stairs carrying a heavy suitcase. It was nice to have a balcony but the room seemed past it's best,- if you sat in the armchair the springs had gone and you fell down further than expected. The wooden panelling looked fake and cheap, the fridge ancient and the Jacuzzi bath seemed out of place. The air conditioning was noisy and old fashioned. The pool was lovely on a hot day but the loungers had seen better days. This was quite an expensive hotel,- $150 a night, but may be Ocracoke being an island makes hotels more expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheilambutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at Blackbeard for 2 nights on a summer weekend. It had the basics: safe, clean, and friendly, and in a good location off the main road. There is a handy game room, and both the lobby area and covered porch are pleasant places to sit and read or talk. On the minus side, the hallways were smelly, Internet access was poor, the room and especially bathroom were very small, there was no screen in the window, and the walls and door provide very little sound proofing.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DR13DR13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
18.5 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#8 of 11 in Hatteras Island
46 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle on Silver Lake
Castle on Silver Lake
#4 of 7 in Ocracoke
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#10 of 16 in Hatteras Island
70 reviews
18.0 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackbeard's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackbeard's Lodge

Property: Blackbeard's Lodge
Address: 111 Back Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocracoke's most historic hotel offers 38 affordable rooms, suites & apts. with kitchens. Game room, grills, pool, bikes, golf carts and Wi-Fi. Pet Friendly Rooms available. B&B atmosphere with hotel privacy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackbeard`s Hotel Ocracoke
Blackbeards Hotel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing