We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great choice in Ocracoke”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great choice in Ocracoke”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

My wife and I made a last minute decision to spend a couple of days on the Outer Banks and stumbled into The Cove via the internet. Fortunately, they were able to accomodate us at the last minute as they had an extra room open. We liked the wine and cheese that evening as we got an opportunity to meet some of the other guests. The room ( a suite) was spacious and clean with it's own private entrance. Chad and Erin make you feel welcome and the breakfast was very, very good. Their recommendation for dinner was a hit as well. We'd stay there again in a minute.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babe1632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    53
    15
    8
    0
See reviews for
13
208
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was our first experience with a B&B. We stayed 5 nights in the Cedar room. It was very pleasant and we will definitely be returning guests. It is not luxourious. But, very quant and clean. We had a private covered deck, offering shade from the hot sun. Downstairs also offered a screened in porch with rockers. Both made pleasant areas for reading books while enjoying a cup of coffee or glass of wine.

Breakfasts provide by Chad & Erin were very good. Finally had eggs benedict for the first time. Let them know if you have any preferences or dietary needs, and they will accommodate with a smile. The 5pm wine/cheese social was a great opportunity to meet other guests and learn about the area. For this week, we had a very talkative bunch….quite entertaining. There is a refrigerator to share with the other guests. This worked nicely. Just label your stuff and everyone abides by the honor system. The best way to get around town is bikes or golf cart rentals. The Cove’s bikes work very nicely. Just your normal, basic “beach” bikes. I’d love to know how many miles I actually peddled.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

This is a very nice B&B in a very good location. The location does not offer much of a view but it is a very convenient location. The bicycles furnished free of charge will get you anywhere you want to go in the village. Just park your car and peddle (or walk) around this lovely little village. We stayed two nights. Chad and Erin are great hosts. While not what you would call a luxurious B&B we had no complaints about the service or accommodations. A very good value really. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 869G_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We just returned from a visit this past weekend celebrating our 20th anniversary and couldn't have been happier. Erin and Chad are very hospitable and pleasant. The rooms were exceptionally clean and the amenities are abundant. We stayed in the Portsmouth Suite at Erin's recommendation where we had a great view of the sound and stars. We received a last minute call late the evening before we checked out that we could have room on a boat tour if we came early the next day. I left a note for Erin explaining our early departure and missing breakfast. While loading our bags, Erin stopped us to offer bottled water for our cooler to save time stopping at the store and had Chad make us egg sandwiches to go. They were delicious and the water was a welcome relief on our long beach excursion. She generously offered for us to use the outdoor showers when we returned so we could drive home clean and comfortably. The bikes are good quality for a long day of sightseeing and the 5pm wine was a refreshing way to start the evening. We will definitely return to the Cove!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamarisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

My fiance and I stayed at The Cove B&B on Ocracoke Island for our annual 4th of July trip. We were there for 5 nights (6 days), and stayed in the Plover Suite. It was an amazing vacation! The Cove is located toward the end of the island and past the lighthouse, rendering the surrounding area very peaceful and quiet. The house is lovely, and our suite was extremely comfortable! We had a queen size bed and a couch in the main room, and a two-person jacuzzi tub in our bathroom. As we love to take relaxing soaks together, this was perfect for us. We also had a private entrance and a screened in porch that we loved, which I highly recommend as the bugs can get bad around there (if you're allergic to mosquitos and such). The porch had a wide swing, which we definitely utilized.

The main town is so small, we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Very close by are the lighthouse, Springers Point (a nature walk and small beach), and some wonderful little shops, including Woccocon Nursery & Gifts (which was an excellent store with lots of neat little things and homemade fig preserves!!). The Cove provided bikes (which we used one day), which were all in good condition and took us everywhere we wanted to go. We never had any trouble getting around from The Cove and did a lot of walking/biking.

Breakfast each day was absolutely delicious! Erin and Chad are wonderful cooks. We had something different every day, here's a sampling: egg/spinach quiche, pumpkin pancakes, french toast, english muffins with ham, egg, and cheese, and on the day we missed breakfast because we had an early event, they made us amazing sausage, egg, and cheese sandwiches to heat up and take with us. The wine hour each afternoon was a great way to meet our fellow guests, we had a red and white provided each day with a snack (which varied day to day, but was all around excellent). Everything was really great, and we would definitely stay there again. If we had only one complaint, it was that since our room was located right off of the main room, we often got woken up very early by other guests chatting in the main room before breakfast (we're the type to sleep in until the very last moment, i.e. 8:25am when breakfast is served at 8:30). If you like to get up before breakfast to get coffee or (available at 7am!), this would definitely not be an issue for you. All in all, this was the perfect place for us to stay for our vacation on Ocracoke! We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The Plover Suite is not for those who want to sleep in past breakfast. You will definitely hear gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfertenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Island, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Probably the best place I've ever stayed on Ocracoke. It's beautiful, the rooms are comfortable and clean, and the atmosphere is incredibly friendly. We stayed in the 'Pamlico' room and sat on our deck morning and evening watching the boats coming and going from the sound. The Cove is off the beaten path but still close enough to bike to everything. And they provide the bikes!

Chad and Erin are incredibly gracious hosts and the breakfasts alone are entirely worth your stay!

Will stay with them again and again!

Room Tip: Ask for the Pamlico or the Portsmouth on the top floor! Awesome view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We have visited The Cove multiple times and have never been disappointed. The breakfasts are excellent, the rooms are clean, beds comfortable, the atmosphere relaxed but the crowning jewel is the inkeepers, Chad & Erin. They make you feel welcome from the time you walk in the door until the time you leave. They can't do enough for you. All you have to do is ask. You can not do better for a place to stay on Ocracoke Island than The Cove.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kodyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
18.3 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
19.2 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
18.3 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#9 of 15 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Cove Bed and Breakfast
Address: 21 Loop Road, P.O. Box 1300, Ocracoke, NC 27960-1300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an hour ferry ride you'll find yourself really able to unwind. Four rooms and three suites, a scrumptious full breakfast (such as Eggs Benedict, stuffed French toast, pumpkin pancakes and others) can make lunch optional. You'll love our fig preserves, made with our very own figs. Our complimentary evening wine and light hors d'oeuvres reception and bikes, together with water and sunset vistas like none before will embrace you. 14 Miles of undeveloped beach, charter fishing, charming shopping or just doin' nothin' will have you coming back! See you soon? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cove Hotel Ocracoke
The Cove b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing