We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed in the third floor suite, which was extremely comfortable and nice! We loved the views of the Pamlico sound and the lighthouse. Lola and Vincent were excellent hosts, and we enjoyed being able to borrow bikes to explore and go out to eat. Would highly recommend staying here when visiting Ocracoke.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LolaandVincent, Manager at The Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Debbie,

Thanks for the review!
We agree, the view from the balconies on the 3rd floor are wonderful and yes, the bikes are a great way to see the island.
I am still trying to convince Vincent to buy me a Jeep like yours...Loved that car!

Cheers,
Lola and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    53
    15
    8
    0
See reviews for
13
210
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The managers Lola and Vincent were great. It was clean, cozy and provided a fabulous breakfast. We were there in torrential rain and couldn't have been stuck in a nicer place. The rooms and common areas were all very comfortable.

Room Tip: Second floor easier for those with heavy luggage or physical issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlothRescue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LolaandVincent, Manager at The Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear SlothRescue,

Thank you for the kind review. Yes it can certainly rain here on the island, but we were glad you enjoyed our common area and our hearty breakfasts!

Kind regards,
Vincent and Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morehead City, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

warm, clean and cozy. could not have asked for a better experience on our first B&B. are host 's were very gracious and meeting the other guests with by luck had mostly the same background and interest. looking forward to our return

Room Tip: choose a room with a view from the front overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LolaandVincent, Manager at The Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear David,

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to seeing you at back at The Cove.

Kind regards,

Lola and Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olyphant , pa
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We had looked forward to this vacation and we were not disappointed! The Cove is lovely! Erin and Chad were so friendly and helpful! We were so glad to Finally meet them! Breakfasts were yummy. The wine hour was so nice. We were lucky to meet so many wonderful, interesting people from all over the country and world! We could walk to the lighthouse and Springer's Point. We opted to rent a golf cart for our stay....great way to see the village. We also met the new innkeepers to be and they are lovely! The Portmouth Suite is a climb, but the room and view are worth it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LolaandVincent, Manager at The Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear mimikk,
Thank you for the lovely review. Erin and Chad are finally able to enjoy their mornings again ( no more getting up at 5am for them! ) and we are so glad they were able to train us for a week, so that we could take over the b&b, without any disruption to the guests...Wine hour is still going strong, with lots of interesting conversations !
We do hope you will return to the island soon.
Kind regards,

Lola and Vincent
PS: yes, your golf cart did get picked up !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at The Cove Bed and Breakfast in the Plover Suite. Chad and Erin O'Neal were extremely nice and easy to talk to. Our suite was right off the main living area / entrance on the first floor and had a private entrance, with a covered screen porch and swing. The room was very comfortable, albeit a little chilly at the temperature it been set to. The private bathroom has a generous whirlpool tub. The breakfast was tasty, although not typical of most B&B's I have stayed in that offer a selection vs. only one option (and no idea what was being served until it was on the plate in front of you at the table). I wish I had known this in advance because I would have shared more of my personal preferences ahead of time (i.e., aversions to hollandaise sauce and green peppers). For our suite in particular, we loved having the screen porch and fully enjoyed the swing. The only major con is that since it is right off the main area of the house, the mornings were a little disruptive from the early risers chatting it up just outside the door. This suite may not be an ideal location for "non-morning folk". Parking is tight, but there is limited overflow in very close proximity. The complimentary bikes also needed a bit of work - several needed repairs to be usable, and many of the other visitors commented that it would be helpful if the bikes had baskets (as many that you see around the island do). Other than these minor issues, we very much enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor or bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. If you have any food aversions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krissy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Lovely B&B in Ocracoke village. Good beds and nice views from the balconies. Yummy breakfasts! We enjoyed biking in the village, so convenient! This is a wonderful destination, very relaxing place. We loved eating excellent seafood every night in the local restaurants. Our hosts gave good tips on where we should go.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies, top floors better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

1st time staying in a B and B for myself and my wife now The Cove has us as customers for life. The Cove was very charming and Ocracoke was so relaxing. We originally booked the Pamlico suite (which was a huge room) from 9/6-9/8 and we loved The Cove so much we booked another night and although the suite wasn't available we rented the Dolphin room which was a regular sized room and has everything you need to be comfortable. We booked The Cove mainly based on Trip Advisor reviews and I got to say they were right:#1 Erin and Chad were awesome and hospitable,#2 Erin's breakfast was delicious and fulfilling,#3 The Cove was charming and rooms comfy and clean,#4 having complementary beach chairs,towels,and bikes was awesome,#5 wine and snacks at 5pm was a nice extra and helped you get to know the others if you wanted to. The Cove is kept cold @ around 70° so you may need an extra cover, but as for me I'd rather be cold than hot any day. The decor is a bit dated,but my wife and I couldn't care less about that. It would be very difficult to find a better place with the same impeccable service at this price point. This is a must stay at the OBX trust me you will not be disappointed. Thanks again Erin and Chad you guys definitely put our stay over the top and as for the owners take notice these Innkeepers are awesome and deserve a raise!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanepeeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
18.3 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
19.2 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
18.3 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#9 of 16 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Cove Bed and Breakfast
Address: 21 Loop Road, P.O. Box 1300, Ocracoke, NC 27960-1300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an hour ferry ride you'll find yourself really able to unwind. Four rooms and three suites, a scrumptious full breakfast (such as Eggs Benedict, stuffed French toast, pumpkin pancakes and others) can make lunch optional. You'll love our fig preserves, made with our very own figs. Our complimentary evening wine and light hors d'oeuvres reception and bikes, together with water and sunset vistas like none before will embrace you. 14 Miles of undeveloped beach, charter fishing, charming shopping or just doin' nothin' will have you coming back! See you soon? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cove b&b
The Cove Hotel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing