We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast, and bed too!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Although the building shows some age, every room was kept immaculately clean. Other guests were friendly, too-- So if you come here, be prepared to enjoy the company of other couples at breakfast and the wine reception in the evenings!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for The Cove Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had a nice one night getaway to the a Cove B&B. It was the Lighthouse room. Very quiet, clean, extra blankets and pillows. The afternoon wine reception was enjoyable with the other guests. The breakfast was very average. We used the bikes to ride to Springer Point. Overall a nice, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 45Julie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Cove B&B was an awesome place to stay at during our trip. The hosts were fantastic, the house was very clean and up to date. The Cove offers so many complementary items such as bikes, snacks, wine and hors d'œuvre hour. The breakfast was also excellent with homemade meals, fresh fruit, coffee, tea and juice. The house is also located on the last road on the outside of the island, making it very quiet and peaceful, but was still well within walking distance of everything on the island. Awesome time!

Room Tip: From what I could tell, not a bad room in the house! All are great!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We spent six nights at the Cove celebrating our wedding anniversary, and couldn't have been more thrilled with our travel choice. Ocracoke Island is such a hidden gem ... so charming, unfettered and laid back. The Cove was comfortable and felt like home away from home. Innkeepers Sharon and John welcomed us and did a fantastic job serving delicious breakfasts, and offered good advice on what to see and do on Ocracoke Island. The wine and snack hour each day was an added bonus ... a perfect post-beach/pre-dinner treat. We took full advantage of the bikes offered by The Cove, and had such fun exploring the island and even biked to dinner every night. We would absolutely recommend visiting Ocracoke Island and staying at The Cove, and hope to return again!

Room Tip: The Portsmouth suite is worth the extra money for the wonderful view of the Pamlico Sound and Portsm...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveDonna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Our second time at The Cove. Great experiences both times. The Plover Suite, with the screen porch, is definitely the best in the house in our opinion. The better views are upstairs but it is so nice to sit outside on the porch without the mosquitos!.

Gracious hosts and excellent service.. Can't ask for much more. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Get the Plover Suite with the porch!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CUTLGTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Cove for 4 nights. We found the B&B to be clean, nicely decorated, private and very peaceful. Our host, Sharon was absolutely wonderful, very helpful and knowledgeable about the island. Breakfast was always prompt at 8:30 (although we weren't hehe) and she always accomodated our lateness. The breakfast was yummy and something new each morning. The Cove is very charming and we can wait to return!!! Best vacation ever!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Cove B&B and before writing this review, I read a few others and I am very puzzled by some of the negatives. I thought the place was charming. Sharon the innkeeper was very pleasant and knowledgeable about the island. She encouraged us to ride the bikes, (haven't rode in 20 years) and the bikes while mayable needing a little update, were servicable and a hoot. Helmets are offered and encouraged as well. The room was nice, clean, bathroom was clean. We stayed in the lighthouse room. Not sure the price quotes I saw in the other reviews, but we paid 155.00 per night (maybe we were still off season), but reasonable considering if I came again, I would not have to bring, beach chairs, beach towels, bikes, etc. Sharon also served wine, cheese, and other neat little appetizers around 5pm. We socialized with the other guests and made a few nice friends along the way. Sharon and John are new innkeepers, so my only advise to Sharon is make sure you introduce yourself when a guest arrives, and try and change up breakfast the next day to something more different, we had an egg casserole both days and the second day I just want not into it. The coffee was ready in the morning and guests gathered downstairs for morning coffee and quick bread and sticky buns before breakfast was served. I would not want coffee in my room, if I did, I would stay in a hotel, not a B&B. The quiet porch is an awesome place to just sit and read a book, or listen to the sounds of the sound. We were able to walk back over to the lighthouse in the evening and took some awesome pictures of the lighthouse at night. All and All it was worth the price, food was good, company and innkeepers were very nice, and Ocracoke itself,,,,OMGoodness, what a wonderful place to kick back and relax. Go to Ocracoke and stay at the Cove, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
18.3 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
134 reviews
19.2 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle on Silver Lake
Castle on Silver Lake
#3 of 7 in Ocracoke
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
18.1 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#8 of 16 in Hatteras Island
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 Loop Road, P.O. Box 1300, Ocracoke, NC 27960-1300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Price Range: £92 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an hour ferry ride you'll find yourself really able to unwind. Four rooms and three suites, a scrumptious full breakfast (such as Eggs Benedict, stuffed French toast, pumpkin pancakes and others) can make lunch optional. You'll love our fig preserves, made with our very own figs. Our complimentary evening wine and light hors d'oeuvres reception and bikes, together with water and sunset vistas like none before will embrace you. 14 Miles of undeveloped beach, charter fishing, charming shopping or just doin' nothin' will have you coming back! See you soon? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cove Hotel Ocracoke
The Cove b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing