We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE AND CLEAN B&B NEAR FERRY”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NICE AND CLEAN B&B NEAR FERRY”
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Nice B & B near the ferry which was convenient for our ealy moring departure. The home is oIder and was a bit expenive at $180.00 per night, but the room was neat and clean with two comfortable beds. There was not a water view, but you can walk a short distance to the beach where Blackbeard landed. We rode the free bikes that were offered. Because of our early departure, we were unable to have the complimentary breakfast, so our hosts Erin and Chad packed us a sack breakfast to take on the ferry. Our hosts were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    53
    16
    8
    0
See reviews for
13
212
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2009

If Ocracoke is paradise, The Cove is the capital of paradise and its hosts are the king and queen. We can't say enough about this place. It was the most relaxing and amazing weekend we've had in years. The hosts are the most personable and kind folks. They were always smiling and cheery (but then if you live on an island, maybe that's normal). The accomodations were exquisite and sophisticated and squeaky clean. If you stay anywhere else, you're missing out.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dewittsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

I can't add much that others have not already said! The Cove was a great spot for our 5 day trip to Ocracoke. We loved that there are bicycles available to use and we enjoyed just jumping on and riding around all the little backroads on the island. The wine reception was a fantastic treat to come back to every afternoon and most days, we took our wine, snacks and books to the adirondack chairs on the screened porch to enjoy the quiet. Erin and Chad were amazing hosts and we would love to return to The Cove!

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hsanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mechanicsville,VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

The Cove B&B was our 1st B&B experience. Erin and Chad were exceptional hosts! We stayed in the Portsmouth Suite. We had the entire top floor on the Sunset side of the house. When we arrived, there was a bottle of champange waiting for us. A few of our favs about The Cove were the suite, the jaccuzi tub, breakfast (of course), the robes, the bikes, the views, and the wonderful, quaint village of Ocracoke that surrounded it all!
The restaurants in the area were fabulous. Especially Cafe Atlantic.
Jeff and I, without a doubt, will be returning to The Cove again, hopefully very soon.
I would definately reccommend this B&B to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway.
Thanks again to Erin and Chad for making our anniversary a very memorable one.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldngirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WV
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2008

For Phase 2 of our honeymoon my husband took us to The Cove. The whole honeymoon was a surprise to me and when we arrived at The Cove it was overwhelming and I found myself holding back tears. It was a beautiful setting Erin was there when we arrived and showed us around and told us where everything was and made us feel welcome and right at home. She took us upstairs, we stayed on the Sunrise side in the Pamlico Suite. The door is at the top of the steps set away from the other rooms and inside it was a taste of heaven. There's a front deck overlooking the street and front of the house with views of the sound and you could watch the parasailers above the tree line. Mosquitos were out with a vengance, but I think our deck must have been high enough they didn't bother us one bit up there. There was a beautiful sitting area, the bureaus and furniture was perfect, the four post bed was beautiful, there was a big closet, nice desk and with all this the room was still very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was very nicely decorated there were towels just for the beach and robes for after relaxing in the big jacuzzi tub. They have the internet and it worked great -- most places say they have internet, then when you arrive they give you some bad excuse like it's down right now or it must be bogged down but they have a great set-up and we were able to get on and cruise and make our plans for each day. As far as the hosts Erin and Chad I'm not sure we could say enough. They went way above and beyond to make us feel comfortable, at home and... well... they spoiled us! Breakfast was great every morning, I'm a picky eater and some of the things I wouldn't ever have picked off a menu but I tried everything and ended up enjoying it all -- even the cheesy grits! I also may add that Erin went well out of her way to work with my husband to get this beautiful arrangement of flowers imported on to the island and in our room for me when we arrived. I love to go leisurely bike riding and this is surely the place to do it. We took the bikes out and were able to explore off "the beaten path" and found there are wonderful things to explore on the island. There's an outside shower at The Cove perfect for rinsing the sand off after a day on the beautiful beaches. In closing if you visit Ocracoke this is the place to stay, it has the best location, amenities, and value. We hope to stay there again sometime soon.

  • Liked — The overall personal touch.
  • Disliked — We really tried to think of something but can't come up with anything.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MariaWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2008

My husband and I just got home after a week's stay at The Cove Bed & Breakfast in Ocracoke, NC. Our stay there was absolutely beyond fantastic. Our hosts were the best, the breakfasts were elegant and delicious, the suite was luxurious and relaxing, and our surroundings were breathtaking. We especially loved being on the 3rd floor because we were above the trees and had a wonderful view of sunsets on the sound and the lighthouse. What a renewing and regenerating experience. I would highly recommend this B&B. We have already reserved our room for next year and can't wait to get there.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Megadoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2008

I agree with other recent reviewers here that Erin and Chad, the innkeepers at The Cove, were excellent. As soon as we arrived, we were warmly welcomed by Chad. Erin shared great stories of life on the Outer Banks, and was happy to provide tips on where to go on Ocracoke Island. We have stayed at a couple of other B&Bs, but this is the first one where we saw a lot of friendly conversation between guests during breakfast. Getting to know the other guests enriched our vacation to a degree we did not anticipate beforehand. I credit Erin for this; she really created a relaxed environment where everyone was comfortable, and she sparked a lot of fun conversations with everyone.

We were very happy with our room. We stayed in the Pamlico suite. It was very roomy (with high, arched ceilings) and nicely appointed. Everything was clean and the furnishings were in great shape. I would not go so far as to call the furnishings/decor luxurious, but it did compare favorably to other ocean/beach properties at similar price points we had stayed at in the past.

We enjoyed the breakfasts each morning. Breakfast would typically start with a fruit cup, followed by a full plate breakfast. The pineapple casserole was a favorite! We often had enough to eat at breakfast that we could have a very light lunch and save our appetite and wallet for dinner.

We had a great vacation on Ocracoke, and much of this is due to our accomodations at The Cove. We'd happily return there for a future vacation, and recommend it to others, as well!

  • Liked — The hosts, the view from the balcony, room size/quality
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank roughfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
18.3 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
132 reviews
18.3 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#10 of 16 in Hatteras Island
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices

Been to The Cove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Cove Bed and Breakfast
Address: 21 Loop Road, P.O. Box 1300, Ocracoke, NC 27960-1300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an hour ferry ride you'll find yourself really able to unwind. Four rooms and three suites, a scrumptious full breakfast (such as Eggs Benedict, stuffed French toast, pumpkin pancakes and others) can make lunch optional. You'll love our fig preserves, made with our very own figs. Our complimentary evening wine and light hors d'oeuvres reception and bikes, together with water and sunset vistas like none before will embrace you. 14 Miles of undeveloped beach, charter fishing, charming shopping or just doin' nothin' will have you coming back! See you soon? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cove Hotel Ocracoke
The Cove b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing