We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Inn, probably best place to stay on Ocracoke.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocracoke Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Schnecksvill, PA
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Nice Inn, probably best place to stay on Ocracoke.”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed here for two nights in a 3rd floor suite. The room was very comfortable, It had nice features with kitchenette, comfortable beds. Even the sofa bed with an inflatable mattress was very comfortable. It had a lovely view over looking the harbor. I enjoyed the jacuzzi in the bathroom after a long hot day on the beach. The room was also clean. I would definitely recommend this Inn on the lovely island of Ocracoke.

Room Tip: I think the third floor suites are the best place to stay in this Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1naturegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    116
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
142
301
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We put a lot (okay, probably too much) of work looking into the right place to stay in Ocracoke, finally decided on the Harbor Inn, and definitely think we made the right choice. The rooms are good and clean, but the location is the clincher - on a quieter stretch of the harbor, still very close to the main village. From the upper floor rooms, due to where the inn is on the harbor, you also get a view out to the sound, which would not be available on other parts of the harbor. The staff are also very nice.

One note - the included breakfast is pretty worthless. It is just pre packaged cereals and pastries, without even an apple or banana or yogurt. The hotel is still great and a good deal without including breakfast, so if you want anything more to start the day, just count on heading out to one of the great spots on the island.

Room Tip: The higher the better, for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GatorJag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

This b&b is designed more like a small hotel located on a quiet side of silver lake. The rooms provide scenic views of the boats on the lake from private balconies with comfortable Adirondack chairs. The busier part of the village and the lighthouse are short walks from the inn, which allows one to avoid hunting for parking. The ferry is also very easy to find from here. Rooms are tastefully decorated and include comfortable bedding and furniture.

I would highly recommend this inn to anyone visiting ocracoke.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, NC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I can't wait to make our return trip. My husband and I traveled to celebrate our anniversary. The Inn was just great. The staff very friendly and helpful, bikes/golf carts for rent and advice for places to eat/where to go. The room was very clean, bed was comfortable, and the view was the best. I think we had the best view on the harbor.
Ocracoke was relaxing and was great to get away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The Harbor Inn continues to provide a wonderful place to stay on Ocracoke Island. As mentioned in most reviews the location and view is a plus; and the rooms clean are and comfortable.
The staff goes out of their way to make sure your experience is a positive one. We appreciate that after many years of staying here the hotel is so well maintained and updated when needed. The Inn offers bikes or golf carts to rent for use about the island.
There are other homes and nice properties that we have stayed on Ocracoke, but the Harbor Inn will always be our first choice for our frequent trips to the island.

Room Tip: Ask for Harbor front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove City, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Wonderful Hotel!! Beautiful view from the balcony of our room where we could watch the ferrys come and go. The hotel was very clean and well kept. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast set up in the mornings in the office area where you could sit on or by the dock and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLF61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My wife and I spent a week at the Harbor Inn, and we wished we could have stayed at least a second week! The room was spotless! The housekeeping staff was wonderful! The location is superb, within easy walking distance of everything in the village. Great view of the harbor from the private balcony! We wholeheartedly recommend the Harbor Inn! We will be back!!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
18.0 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle on Silver Lake
Castle on Silver Lake
#3 of 7 in Ocracoke
161 reviews
17.9 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
17.8 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#11 of 16 in Hatteras Island
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocracoke Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocracoke Harbor Inn

Property: Ocracoke Harbor Inn
Address: 135 Silver Lake Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocracoke Harbor Inn overlooks picturesque Silver Lake Harbor in the heart of the Village. Enjoy the scenery from your private deck or relax at water's edge on the docks. The Inn's beautifully appointed 16 rooms and 7 suites provide for a delightful and relaxing vacation surrounded in uncompromising luxury. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast on the waterfront deck and watch the fishing boats depart for the day. Then kick off your shoes and enjoy the laid-back atmosphere of the Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocracoke Harbor Hotel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing