We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice Inn, Right on the harbor.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocracoke Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2007

We had a beautiful stay at Ocracoke Harbor Inn. It had beautiful rooms and stunning views of the harbor. Our room was spotless and very tastefully decorated. The Inn is located right on the harbor and has its own dock which you can sit out on. In addition it’s within walking distance of just about everything around the harbor.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Inane_Sqrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2006

We were travelling through the beautiful (and remote) island of Ocracoke. We planned to catch the 9.30am Cedar Island sailing, so checked the local guide for a suitable hotel. We decided to get a suite at the Harbour Inn, on the basis of the description including spa bath in the suite bathrooms and free WiFi internet access.

The suite/rooms were large and clean with a lovely view of the harbor and distant (500yards) lighthouse. The Spa bath was large and modern.

On the whole we were very happy with our stay.

but............

The Free WiFi internet access, didn't work. I spoke to the lady at reception and her reply was, "well it works fine down here". This was no surprise as she was connected via an ethernet cable. Normally, although a touch annoying, I would let this pass. The problem was that the main reason for booking this hotel was to use the internet to contact relatives abroad.

For the lady's information, the WiFi connection was fine to the room, but it wasn't connected correctly to the internet.

I don't expect for one minute that everyone is an IT expert, but a little more concern and an apology would have gone along way.

I will never know if this was a "one off", or a long running problem. Maybe future reviews will reveal this.

Otherwise a lovely hotel in a great area.

Tip. Howard's Pub about 1 mile away is excellent. Highly reccommended.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank yoooreds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2006

My cousin and I went on our first trip ever without family or husbands. When we opened our door to our second story room we both screamed, which is odd that we could scream, because the view took our breath away!!! Loved the whole set up there. Sharon , Portsmouth VA

Stayed: September 2006
2  Thank moonstarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2006

We spent a long weekend in Ocracoke in late September and booked a room at the Ocracoke Harbor Inn based on recommendations here. We weren't disappointed.

The room was very clean and well supplied. We were on the second level with a nice harbor view. The bathroom is a little small, but overall, it was a nice sized room. Our room was just off the hallway but there was a pocket door to close that gave us privacy from folks going to their rooms. The mini fridge in the room was extremely helpful as we, knowing we would arrive late, brought groceries for a late supper and also snacks during the weekend.

The Inn had a good supply of bikes for the guests. There is a small fee for using them. We felt it was a reasonable charge. The continental breakfast is fairly basic, but adequate. The staff couldn't have been nicer, and we would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank utcvmdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2006

My husband and I have been traveling to the Ocracoke Harbor Inn every year since our honeymoon in October 1999. We generally stay in one of the suites and have never had any problems with our room. The rooms are cleaned meticulously and the cleaning staff are extremely friendly. The continental breakfast is great. The suites have refrigerators so I always bring our lunch food with us and then hit one of the many great restaurants on the island for dinner. I have to say that the best part of the Ocracoke Harbor Inn is the view. It is like no other. From your private balcony you can look out over Silver Lake across to the sound. Simply beautiful. We are headed there again this fall, I can't wait!

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mdgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2006

When we want an escape from our beach, we head to Ocracoke. We have stayed at the Harbor Inn 2-3 times times a season since they have opened. Through sunny days and hurricanes, the Harbor Inn has been home with the owners and staff like family. The accomodations are wonderful with a variety of room types to choose from. Exceptionally clean and modern. The view is one of the best in the village. There are decks on all but a few rooms facing Silver Lake. A favorite place is the extensive deck and dock right on the Harbor-wine and cheese in the evenings to watch the sunset and then coffee and complimentary breakfast in the morning. The Harbor Inn also offers dockage and bike rentals. The location is central to walking or biking the village. We always look forward to our next visit-counting the days till then!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LynnVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2006

My husband and I just returned from a weekend stay at the Harbor Inn and were very pleased with our accommodations. We stayed in a first floor room, facing the harbor. The office is right on the water, with the inn being across the street. They have a nice deck right next to the office, where you can lounge on the deck chairs and enjoy a beverage and the view...just take your bug spray. The Ocracoke Harbor Inn was built in 1998 so it is new looking, as opposed to some of the other outdated motels on the island. Our room was very clean, with a nice decor, and comfortable beds and linens. We were pleased to have a small refrigerator to keep snacks and drinks cold. Our room has a deck with two chairs to sit and enjoy the sunset. The location is great, with nice views of the harbor and biking or walking distance to the shops and restaurants in the village. They have bikes you can rent, but we just brought our own and locked them onto our deck railing and/or their bike rack. They offer a continental breakfast and we were pleasantly surprised with it. They offer coffee, tea, milk, juice, and water, in addition to fruit, cereal, muffins, and bagels. After viewing other accommodations on the island, we feel the Harbor Inn is the best choice for us and plan to go back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SaraSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
18 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
136 reviews
18.9 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
53 reviews
0 mi away
Castle on Silver Lake
Castle on Silver Lake
#3 of 7 in Ocracoke
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
17.9 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocracoke Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocracoke Harbor Inn

Address: 135 Silver Lake Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Price Range: £60 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocracoke Harbor Inn overlooks picturesque Silver Lake Harbor in the heart of the Village. Enjoy the scenery from your private deck or relax at water's edge on the docks. The Inn's beautifully appointed 16 rooms and 7 suites provide for a delightful and relaxing vacation surrounded in uncompromising luxury. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast on the waterfront deck and watch the fishing boats depart for the day. Then kick off your shoes and enjoy the laid-back atmosphere of the Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocracoke Harbor Hotel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing