We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly Excellent Vacation Stay!”

Sky Island Retreat & Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Fort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sky Island Retreat & Campground
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at Sky Island Retreat for the month of April 2013 in the Sportsman cabin and will have 'forever memories' to rave about. We're a family of 5, with hubby and I and our three children, ages 10, 9 and 7. The cabin adjacent to ours had a couple of young guys (early twenties?) staying and all was okay being neighbors. Our cabin was plenty big enough with all the creature comforts (including wifi!) we needed, and the owners were more than accommodating when we needed assistance. We never ran out of hot water, but certainly timed it well knowing it's a mountain retreat so you need to think wisely. The drive to Asheville was super quick, but not needed often, because Old Fort had everything we needed (Frisbee's is grocery store that is well stocked!), and Black Mountain and Marion are nearby with bigger stores.
The nearby attractions are also phenomenal. Our fave walk was Cawtawba Falls.
Sky Island Retreat itself has fantastic walks to enjoy, and the kids loved the chickens and their protective rooster wandering around, the mini-golf, the pond, horseshoes and more.
There's lots of cabins there so even though we were in the family style cabin I'm sure there's plenty of accommodation for romantic getaways as well.
If you like nature, you'll love the location. I hiked the country roads with my children every evening and spotted woodchucks, possums, and a variety of birds........and the bats in the evening are spectacular. (you are very near Bat Cave!). as are the wild geese migrating through the valley nearby.
We are planning to head back for July 4th celebrations. You can guarantee this is a lovely fun place to spend holidays.
The family who run the place are fantastic as well. If things go wobbly for any reason just let them know and they quickly sort things.
Two Thumbs Up and Five Stars for Sky Island!

Room Tip: These are Mountain Cabins, not a swank resort, so bring your own pampering items like thick goose do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Missy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

The worker who checked us in was very courteous, and the view from our cabin was quite pretty. I'm sorry to say, the positives end there.

Price: We paid $150 to stay in a small cabin for a single night in early November. Being off-season, we were very surprised to pay so much.
Access: Getting up top to the cabin, the (mostly dirty) road on either side of the hill was a bit sketchy.
Cleanliness: The cabin was relatively clean, but it had about 30 big fat flies in it buzzing around on the windows and sliding glass doors, which the worker didn't even seem to notice when she let us inside.
Bedding: The only bed in the cabin is a not very supportive, and it slides around on the floor if you move around too much (I think it was on wheels). There was only one thin, cotton blanket on the bed, and no extra bedding for us or for the third person in our party, who slept on the sofa.
Kitchen: Clean, but the gas to the stove was turned off outside, so we had to figure it out and turn that on for ourselves.
Bathroom: The hot water heater was turned down so low that only one of us got to take a bath, and a very small, short one at that.
Comfort: The cabin was not heated when we arrived, even though it was November. It took some time of running the two heaters inside to get it warmed up enough to sleep comfortably.

We left after one night and stayed in a hotel in Asheville for HALF this price, which was super clean, well stocked, had warm rooms and excellent firm beds (with goose down comforters), unlimited hot water, indoor pool and hot tub, and free breakfast.

[This review is on the cabins and not on the campground.]

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Just stayed in a couples cabin for the weekend. The cabins were cute and clean and had everything as described. We arrived late and they were more than helpful with our schedule. Everyone was very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. This place is very laid back and friendly. Only 20 minutes to Asheville straight up I-40 and about 25 to Hendersonville. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rsurratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My brother and I stay in our 40' motor home every summer and a few times during the year, so we've had the opportunity to see and/or visit many, many campgrounds and RV resorts. Of ALL the areas in and around Asheville, Hendersonville, Lake Lure, Little Switzerland, etc., etc., Sky Island Retreat and Campground is far and away THE Garden of Eden. Not only is the park-like property central to all amenities one could possibly think of to be entertained, it is secluded enough to feel as if you're in your own hideaway away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Asheville and Hendersonville are both only 20-30 minutes away...giving you a perfect day trip for shopping from designer boutiques to flea/farmer's markets, antiquing, fine arts galleries, and wonderful professionally directed plays, operas, and music venues. Dining gives you a choice from the very elegant to the boxed lunch picnic. There's a plethora of goings-on year round. Natural wonders abound. The retreat itself is nestled ideally between valleys to give you picturesque sunrises and sunsets the likes of which are rarely seen.

If lazing is what you seek, Sky Island's got you covered...you can spend the day doing absolutely nothing but enjoying the shade and sipping your favorite beverage, or play a round of golf putting through the challenging 9-hole putt putt course, fishing for carp in the gorgeous stocked pond, stretch out and cool down in the perfect depth (1/2 to 1') pool with fountains placed to give you a fresh misting, hike the many on-site trails, pick wild blackberries growing profusely in places you'll have fun finding...the list of things to do without having to go anywhere at all is almost endless.

Then there's the owners...they're like family to all who stay here. If there's ANYTHING you want to know about or ANYWHERE you want to go, they share their vast knowledge in such an interesting way, you'll find yourself wanting to hear more. Jerry and Deb go out of their way to make sure you feel part of the family (you'll wish you never had to leave). Lil Deb (their daughter) is the professional you most likely talked to over the telephone when booking your vacation. (I've even come to think of her as my own daughter, which she reminds me of daily lol). She knows a lot about just about everything you could want...and if she doesn't know the answer, she'll certainly find out as quickly as possible. Many times the way in which a campground is run makes or breaks it. I can't say enough about how wonderful, giving, and knowledgeable this family is. This retreat is like no other...my brother and I are certainly blessed to have found it.

Oh, yes, there's also a turkey shoot (no live turkeys involved) every Thursday evening, a snack bar and billiards, Foosball, karaoke (Friday & Saturday nights), big screen TV for sporting events, especially NASCAR on the weekends, horseshoes, corn hole games, board games in the music hall, the list, as I said, is endless!

On weekends there's usually a group going somewhere on the mini-bus (complete with seats facing around tables) .

To sum it up, there just isn't a more delightful, unique, or special place to really enjoy yourself as Sky Island. Consider yourself lucky, blessed, or special if only because you know what few others do - where Sky Island Retreat and Campground is. I actually feel a twinge of selfishness by telling everyone who reads this about my 'find'...I don't ever want it to change and become like all the other camp areas.

Room Tip: Any way or place you choose is fantastic...from primitive camp sites, RVs, cabins, all the way to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

i had called debbie from the uk.........she was extremely helpful over the phone.......upon arrival we were easily able to upgrade our cabin.......it was very quiet and peaceful there.......would reccommend and will stay there again..........thanks john and steffunny

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steffunnymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My girlfriend, our dog and I got there around midnight and Debbi got us to our couples cabin at the top of the property. We were visit from Wilmington for a get away weekend to catch the fall color. The cabin was great! There was a bedroom with a view of Mt Mitchell, a pull out couch and the loft area. We were pleasantly surprised to find the bedroom as it wasn't very clear on the website. Clean full bathroom and kitchen with real hot water. There are 3 cabins close together at the top of the hill. We only saw activity at 1 cabin so we pretty much had the place to ourselves. Great field for the dogs to run and play ball and very beautiful nature trails throughout the property. They had many other activities and amenities at the campground at the bottom of the hill, but we had all we wanted at the top with our breath taking views.

Room Tip: the couples cabins are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tarheelgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I was very disappointed with my experience at this facility. Problems arose from the very start. We called ahead and asked for a space for 2 nights and was told no problem and reserved our space. Upon our arrival we were informed it would be a 3 night minimum instead of the 2 nights we had agreed upon. Although the scenery was nice other things were not very convenient. We were supposed to have water on our camping space but did not. We were told to get water from the neighboring campsite. That was awkward as it was occupied by campers whom did not seem to appreciate having their space invaded by us to get water. The overall experience was not enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wildun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sky Island Retreat & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Island Retreat & Campground

Address: 88 Flatlander Dr, Old Fort, NC 28762-6400
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Old Fort
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Old Fort
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing