We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Spectacular ... with Magical Night Skies” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on Mill Creek

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Fort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on Mill Creek
Ranked #1 of 1 Old Fort B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Little Elm, Texas
1 review
“Truly Spectacular ... with Magical Night Skies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I love this place. And I plan to go back at least two (or three) more times between now and when we move to Black Mountain, NC. The folks who own the place are wonderful, and the rooms are great, and the location ... divine.

I guess if I had any "negative" to mention it would be that the internet is rather slow and cell phone signal pretty slender — but maybe that's a POSITIVE. Maybe when you are somewhere this beautiful (and probably with someone you love), maybe you shouldn't be checking your stupid phone all the time.

One bit of magic stands out in my mind especially clear from our last trip. The STARS. Oh, my, god. The stars we saw those nights in early November. I've never in my life seen such a sky. Easily 5X as many stars as we can see in North Dallas even on the clearest of nights. Maybe 10X as many. We could see the actual Milky Way! Truly, truly magical.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
82
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

My husband and I make it out to the Asheville area about twice a year. This year, we were lucky enough find a place to stay over labor day weekend, we booked a room at the Inn on Mill Creek. It was our first time staying at a B&B, and we had a great first experience! Dave and Brigette have a beautiful Inn tucked away in the Pisgah National Forest. Dave makes a great breakfast and Brigette was really helpful in recommending things to do for our weekend. Its a great place to stay, especially if you want to explore the Asheville area but don't want to stay the night there. Also, we found several great hiking trails that are very close to the Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We recently stayed at the Inn and had a wonderful anniversary weekend. The Inn itself is spacious and homey, without feeling like all the guests are on top of each other. Breakfast each morning was delicious! The Innkeepers were lovely and shared some great information about the area and its history. We cannot wait to go back and stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCLydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massillon, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I recently spent several nights here in the Lake View Room and everything about this B & B exceeded our expectations!! The room was spacious and the view very serene, but the entire property nestled in Pisgah National Forest is a great place to rest, refresh, and relax!! The great room and facilities at the B & B are warm, spacious and inviting. Dave and Brigette are exceptional hosts and the food is FANTASTIC!!!!!! I have already emailed Dave for some of the recipes!! Each day there is something different and the breakfasts and treats are definitely not the usual fare!! We cannot wait to return!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and provide something special whether in the main house or the lake house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at The Inn on Mill Creek and enjoyed every second of it. The setting was amazing. Set on a winding and charming mountain road winding its way through scenery that is right out of a novel, you end up at the most charming Inn around. Dave and Brigette Walters, Owners and Innkeepers, provide you with a charming and very comfortable room, set among peaceful gardens and flanked by a romantic mill pond with a cascading waterfall produced by a dam. We stayed in the Lakeview room overlooking all of this. Also, our room included a screened-in porch where my wife and I listened to the sounds of nature and water making its way to the lower part of the mountain. Dave and Brigette together prepare a marvelous and homemade breakfast that is created with love and served to perfection. The breakfast offering is second to none and worth waking early to enjoy! We will return over and over as this experience is one that we will want as part of your travel plans to Western North Carolina. I recommend that you access the website, at www.innonmillcreek.com, reserve your room from among those available, and hurry to your next life experience that will remain with you forever. You can also call them at 828-668-1115. Tell them Danny and Vickie sent you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

I love B&B's, so I've stayed in MANY over the years, and I can honestly say that this is the best. The innkeepers are delightful, attuned to every detail, anticipating every wish. The serene location, perfect accommodations, and 5-star quality breakfasts make this a place I hope to visit every year. Wow.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmackie367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

(4 & 1/2- but TA doesn't allow 'halfsies')
Thank you Dave & Bridget for creating this charming and peaceful getaway. We needed just this kind of weekend. Room was more like a private apartment. Great bed, cozy couch and an unbelievable bathroom layout... olympic size jacuzzi tub and heated tile floor. Outside (our 'yard') was close to undisturbed nature- true 'vacation' time, and the 'lake' side area was a bird watcher's paradise. Kudos as well to Bridget's garden. Be patient... the roses will be spectacular one day.
Dave makes great eggs and delicious pumpkin bread. By day three, we were ready for something different. But no need to nit-pick. We had a fantastic time. And hope to return.

Room Tip: North Terrace was per-fecto!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Fort
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Black Mountain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
3.6 mi away
Super 8 Black Mountain
Super 8 Black Mountain
#4 of 4 in Black Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Asheville - Biltmore East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Asheville Tunnel Road
15.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#1 of 5 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
4.4 mi away
Arbor House of Black Mountain
Arbor House of Black Mountain
#1 of 8 in Black Mountain
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Mill Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Mill Creek

Property: Inn on Mill Creek
Address: 3895 Mill Creek Rd, Old Fort, NC 28762-7658
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Old Fort
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Old Fort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on Mill Creek is a Bed & Breakfast and a site on the North Carolina Birding Trail, near Black Mountain and Asheville, North Carolina. Located on seven private wooded acres two miles inside Pisgah National Forest, the Inn features six guest rooms, an orchard, access to hiking/biking trails, and plenty of space to relax. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing