We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"I will definitely come back"”
Review of Smaragdi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Smaragdi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Artemonas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Smaragdi is a wonderful value for money hotel in sifnos,situated on the most ideal spot of the island, just a 15 mins (beautiful) walk from apollonia. The local buses stop just on the corner of hotel while there is also plenty of parking space. The rooms are well furnished and have all you need for a comfortable stay including your own balcony with views in the hotel's great and quiet yard or the village.breakfast is always fresh and custom made, with fresh juice and all types of coffee available which is rare even for 5* hotels in Greece. Both the staff and the owner are friendly and polite making you feel at home and offering true greek hospitality. We are looking already forward to our
next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ath84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Smaragdi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed at Smaragdi for 3 nights and we could not have asked for a better place in Sifnos. The location is amazing as it is very close to the point where bus drops you off (and free municipal parking if you drive) and also close to main square in Artemonas though very quiet at the same time (we slept so well!). The breakfast was amazing, the breakfast area is so relaxing with view of the square and a nice white-washed church that you almost dont want to leave. Andonis and his crew provide top service in a very friendly and professional manner. Artemonas is a great location as it is away from noise in Appolonia though close enough to it as it is within a 15 min walk through a magestic footpath. The rooms were very clean and done in a modern way with a traditional touch. The bathrooms were somewhat small but in the grand scheme of things it did not matter. The hotel may not be close to the beach but this is because of how the island has been developed over the centuries with main activity on the hills. I would recommend renting a car exploring various beaches and staying at Smaragdi. I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Passionfortravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed at Smaragdi Hotel for 3 days in September 2012. It was very clean, the breakfast was delicious, and the sleeping quality was perfect. It’s location (center of Artemonas village) is very nice. The long distance view of sea is not a problem because the view of Apollonia is very relaxing and pleasant and this reminds that you are in a very cute traditional island of Cyclades Greece. I would definetely stay again at Smaragdi!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Than T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We recently visited Sifnos and stayed at the Smaragdi Hotel in Artemonas. The hotel features garden style apartments at the base of Artemonas. The service was brilliant. The owner Andoni and the staff were extremely attentive, helpful and generous with their time and advice. The rooms were immaculate and serviced daily. They were on the small side but suited our needs and each features a patio or verandah. Breakfast is provided in the outdoor hotel cafe/restaurant and included in the room rate. The cafe is also opened in the evening. The village of Artemonas is astounding, especially in the evening and night with picturesque narrow winding streets leading to restaurants, taverna's and cafe's. The hotel is well situated with easy access to the buses which run routinely from Artemonas to all other major towns and beaches on the island. I would recommend the hotel to anyone wishing to experience an island village away from the traps of other beachside accommodation.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Gracie41167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I have visited Sifnos a number of times and have stayed at Smaragdi hotel most of them.
For me, the top 3 assets of Smaragdi are:
-#1 location: Artemonas is soooo beautiful and Smaragdi is at the central, quiet, square. The bus station for all beaches is a 1-minute walk and Apollonia (Sifnos' capital) a 15-minute walk through the village with magnificent views.
-#2 Antonis: as already stated by many others, Antonis is the hotel's heart! He is the owner and "tour-guide", always eager to help you and give you the inside information on the best locations on the island. He makes everyone feel at home.
-#3 breakfast: breakfast is served until late (I think 13.00) and it includes whatever you imagine... fresh orange juice, all kinds of coffees and teas, omelets, home made bread, greek yogurt with fresh fruits and honey, eggs with bacon, croissant....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy2012T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Great hotel with excellent staff and the amazing owner Antonis! I have been there twice: July 2011 and Aug 2012 and when I go to sifnos I'll stay there again! The location of the hotel in Artemonas is very convenient - just 5 min drive or 15-20 min walk from Apollonia and very near the bus stop. The rooms are nice, very clean and with nice private verandas. The best thing is the breakfast in the great outdoor garden-veranda: excellent decoration, fantastic music and amazing coffee & omeletes, crepes, waffles etc!!! I feel like home in Smaragdi.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed for four nights in May 2012 and had a fabulous time. The hotel has been gretly improved since we were last in Artemonis and is a credit to Antonis and his friendly staff. There is a most attractive, recently upgraded, outdoor bar area where breakfast is served (the best we have ever had in Greece).

Our room, which was cleaned thoroughly every day, had a large balcony with spectacular views.

We will definitely stay at the Smaragdi again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tom882727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Artemonas
2.5 mi away
ALK Hotel
ALK Hotel
#6 of 14 in Kamares
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Petali Village Hotel
Petali Village Hotel
#1 of 7 in Apollonia
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Windmill Bella Vista
Windmill Bella Vista
#2 of 3 in Artemonas
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
#1 of 14 in Kamares
322 reviews
3.4 mi away
Niriedes Hotel
Niriedes Hotel
#1 of 8 in Platis Gialos
147 reviews
2.6 mi away
Morfeas Pension
Morfeas Pension
#2 of 14 in Kamares
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smaragdi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smaragdi Hotel

Address: Central Square, Artemonas 840 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Sifnos > Artemonas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Artemonas
Price Range: £47 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smaragdi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a distance of only 5km from Kamares port and 1km from Apollonia, you can reach the most picturesque and traditional village of the island, Artemonas. Smaragdi hotel is situated in Artemona's main square. "Smaragdi" features 12 rooms, recently built according to traditional architecture of Sifnos, fully equipped providing all the facilities for a pleasant stay: Direct dial phone Mini bar Colour TV Individually controlled air conditioning Safety deposit box Individual balcony ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smaragdi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing