We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, value for money hotel”
Review of Smaragdi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Smaragdi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Artemonas
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming, value for money hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Charming hotel in Artemonas, comfortable & clean in the beautiful village of Artemonas. Antonis, the owner of the hotel, is an excellent host and extremely polite. He even lent us his car as we couldn't finf a rental. We will certainly stay again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnGeo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    22
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
61
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Excellent location, friendly service, family run hotel in Sifnos. It is our 3rd time here and we fully enjoyed our stay. It is excellent for couples but also for families and groups of friends.
Just 10 minutes walk from Apollonia, the shops and the night life of Sifnos.

Thanks Αντώνη and family, Γιάννη and all for a week of memorable vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Communal areas (breakfast area) were extremely nice, the breakfast was amazing and staff was very kind, we stayed at a superior double, the room was quite basic though clean, the bathroom could be improved a little but overall we had a good experience!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elelea10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was going to be a 4 day break but ended up to be the best week's holiday thanks to the choice of hotel on the beautiful island of Sifnos. The location is perfect . On the main,small, square of Artemonas, next to the bus terminal ( do not worry there is no noise or trouble from it), 10 minutes walk to the centre of Apolonia ( it took us 25 due to the 1000's of photo opportunities on the way), beautiful clean rooms, fantastic choice of breakfast till 13.00 !!!!!. But above all that Smaragdi has Antoni , or to be more precise' Antonis IS Smaragdi and the best guide you could wish to have. You want the best restaurant in the island? He will tell you and book it for you. The best beach? He will direct you and tell you where to etc etc etc. I am amazed that it not the No. 1 in Artemonas if not in the whole island. The windmill hotel has magnificent view but nothing within walking distance of it. Smaragdi has 3 lovely little restaurants on its doorstep and we still had the most quite & peaceful sleep. If you go to Sifnos (and you REALLY must) then you HAVE to stay at Smaragdi.

Room Tip: No bad rooms!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pantelis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My family & I stayed at the Smaragdi Hotel while visiting the village of Artemonas on the island of Sifnos. Perfect! Clean, small, local, village characters, bakery across the way, coffee! Beautiful sights and views. I didn't want to stay in a hotel insulated from the heart and soul of the island --and the Smaragdi was this oasis in the middle of Greek village life. If you want to experience Sifnos without the filter of crass sell-out commercialism, this is the place to stay. It's subtle, it's real Greece in a place that's incredibly charming, with hike and food and drink and LIFE everywhere around you. We felt more like family than guests --and that's exactly what we wanted from our stay.

Room Tip: Antonis, the proprietor will be most gracious. He cooked for us, was so very friendly, and have him...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomCallos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Awesome in all aspects. Perfect roomsvery clean everyday change of linen and towels. Great people. You have all you dream of. Great hospitality. Perfect breakfast. Advisory on where to go for a swim. Vroulidia advised is a must. Thanksto Fragiskos and Antonis. Hope to be able to come back.

Room Tip: Ask for front view room. You can have best village view and see how a typical Greek daygoes
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaMavromati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in this beautiful, family- run hotel and will definitely like to come back again.
The location is ideal for those they want proximity to the center of Apollonia- 15 minutes walk through a path of beautiful homes and churches- but they like a less crowded environment.
The rooms are neat and comfortable and our balcony had a view of the village square with a beautiful white-washed church. The view of the sea is distant and relaxing...
Antonis serves a delicious breakfast with a great variety of coffees that could be compared to a 5 star hotel!
The bus stop is very convenient, which makes accessibility to all the beeches of the island easy.
Next and across of the hotel are wonderful taverns for delicious, local food.
We are looking forward to come back again to this wonderful jewel with its comfortable accommodations and although the showers are small, everything else was outstanding.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms of the second floor with distant views of the sea. There is neither fitness cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vkonidaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Artemonas
2.5 mi away
ALK Hotel
ALK Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kamares
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Windmill Bella Vista
Windmill Bella Vista
#2 of 3 in Artemonas
107 reviews
3.0 mi away
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
#1 of 14 in Kamares
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sifnaika Konakia Traditional Settlements
0.0 mi away
Cape Napos
Cape Napos
#1 of 3 in Faros
38 reviews
3.4 mi away
Niriedes Hotel
Niriedes Hotel
#1 of 8 in Platis Gialos
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smaragdi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smaragdi Hotel

Property: Smaragdi Hotel
Address: Central Square, Artemonas 840 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Sifnos > Artemonas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Artemonas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smaragdi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a distance of only 5km from Kamares port and 1km from Apollonia, you can reach the most picturesque and traditional village of the island, Artemonas. Smaragdi hotel is situated in Artemona's main square. "Smaragdi" features 12 rooms, recently built according to traditional architecture of Sifnos, fully equipped providing all the facilities for a pleasant stay: Direct dial phone Mini bar Colour TV Individually controlled air conditioning Safety deposit box Individual balcony ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smaragdi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing