We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extraordinarily relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windmill Bella Vista
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Artemonas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Extraordinarily relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

If you desire a really peaceful holiday, Margarita will make you feel at home. Large swimming pool - where diving is allowed, and you know, this is really a plus for kids -, gorgeous view of many Western Cyclades islands and helpful and very kind hotel staff make your holidays unforgettable. We hope to go back there soon.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreacb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    21
    7
    1
    7
See reviews for
31
42
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel is located up the hill where the view is breathtaking, maybe the best in Sifnos. However, the rooms need a generous renovation immediately and maybe a clever decorating idea for the bathroom which is tiny and you can't move properly. Breakfast is just poor... If the owners give a good try then miland could be the diamond of Sifnos.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Marietta2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

It's the best exemple of how a 'familly' business can show the same professionalism as the more well known hotels of the world.
I went there with one friend on April. The breakfast was more than fresh and also traditional. The hospitality was the best I've ever had (and I have already stayed in many hotels all over the world) and the owners very friendly that gave us details for every existing path that we wanted to find to go hicking.
As for the view, honestly, I could say it is the best situated hotel in Sifnos with view to more than 10 islands of cyclades.
Very happy and lucky to have chosen this hotel

Room Tip: It is worth chossing a room with view in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anabrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We spent about a week this past summer in the Windmill apartment. The Windmill itself may not be for everyone, given the steep winding stairs, but the property is beautiful, the graciousness of the hosts exceptional, and we were made to feel like true guests. Very highly recommend, and we will unquestionably stay here again when we next visit Sifnos.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Of all my travels, Sifnos is probably one of my favourite holiday destinations and the Windmill Bella Vista has become emblematic of Sifnos for us. We spent two weeks here with our two small children and their grandparents and enjoyed every minute of it.

Margarita and Georgo are excellent hosts and provided us with great advice on places to visit and restaurants, but also invited us to Island festivals, cooked for and ate with us, made us laugh, drunk Ouzo with us and tried to teach us to speak Greek. They also showed us how they make their own wine and olive oil.

The Bella Vista itself is set on a high hill with a Cycladic windmill on its summit and looks out over the cobalt blue Aegean sea.

The small number of rooms are all in low rise whitewashed buildings that are scattered over the hillside and linked to the main swimming pool and restaurant area by well-defined paths. You can even stay in the windmill if you want the best view. The rooms are simply and brightly decorated and are all very secure with shutters on lockable doors and windows and AC. Our rooms were spacious and clean with a kitchenette (with hobs and a fridge freezer) and we had a large bathroom with a frankly enormous shower that us and the kids could all fit into. The rooms were cleaned well every day.

Our room also had a terrace with a covered area for a table and benches and we ate here quite a lot for lunch and dinner. This said the (Greek) food served at the hotel restaurant was delicious and (contrary to what other reviewers have said) the breakfast was always varied, tasty and invariably made on the island (the patisseries, biscuits, honey, yoghurt, preserves etc.).

The view from every room we have stayed in (as we have visited once before) was simply stunning. Try to count the surrounding islands! The swimming pool area is neat and clean and there is a large infinity pool with diving board and smaller pool for children with some swings and a slide nearby.

Artemonas is easily accessible by hire car or even walking (when it is less hot in the evening).

Simply put, the Windmill Bella Vista is a great place to stay in Sifnos, with lovely hosts and comes very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy-Clemence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We arrived at the Windmill Bella Vista on a warm August evening with a full moon illuminating the surrounding hillside, the ancient capital of Kastro and the Aegean below. From the start we were enthralled by the Windmill, but all aspects of our vacation there exceeded our high expectations. The six of us--representing three family generations--slept soundly in our quiet, clean, nicely appointed apartments, and awoke to the Windmill's extraordinary breakfast buffet served on the patio overlooking the sea. Familiar western-style breakfast food was there aplenty--good coffee, tea, toast with jam or honey, and cereals with milk-- but we relished the fresh-squeezed orange juice, figs plucked from local trees, fresh grapes, tomatoes, and Greek yoghurt, and local bakery goods, especially the anise cookies. One of our exuberant grandchildren had fun frolicking in the Windmill pool, and in the afternoons, all of us enjoyed seaside lunches, swimming, snorkeling, and playing paddle ball with friendly Greeks at one of the extraordinary beaches on Sifnos. Kamares, Vathy, and Chrysopigi were among our favorites. Our hosts, Margarita and George, both natives of Sifnos, know everything about the island, and guided us to the best restaurants, dance and music clubs, the Saints Day fiestas at local churches, and concerts at the cultural center close to the Windmill. Thus, after delicious dinners at rooftop restaurants in Apolonia and Artemonas, the young ones among us could dance the night away at a nearby club, and the oldies could enjoy a classical music concert performed under the stars. After a full day of swimming and snorkeling in the sea, we also welcomed the opportunity to simply retreat to the Windmill patio for a delicious dinner prepared by George, whose grilled octopus and traditional chickpea soup were the best we tasted on the island, and take in the captivating view of ancient Kastro and the glistening Aegean. We can't wait to return next year.

Room Tip: Children are excited by apartments in the windmill itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 39GBH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spent nine nights here with a small Child and had one of the best, relaxing vacations ever. We came back here after 12 years and the hotel expanded and progressed. The owners were extremely kind and helpful. They turned our visit to a dream. They recommended the best beach and restaurants in Sifnos and following their advice, we explored this magical island. We intend to come back next year with more friends, so they enjoy this jewel with us.

Room Tip: The view is breath taking from every room, we stayed in a studio with our kid. The windmill itself i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nivi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Artemonas
0.1 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#1 of 3 in Artemonas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Petali Village Hotel
Petali Village Hotel
#2 of 7 in Apollonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
3.0 mi away
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
Delfini Hotel Sifnos
#1 of 14 in Kamares
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
ALK Hotel
ALK Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kamares
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cape Napos
Cape Napos
#1 of 3 in Faros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
3.5 mi away
Niriedes Hotel
Niriedes Hotel
#1 of 9 in Platis Yialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Bella Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Bella Vista

Property: Windmill Bella Vista
Address: Kamaroti, Artemonas 840 03, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Sifnos > Artemonas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Artemonas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windmill Bella Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windmill Bella Vista Hotel is situated on a hill observing the Sifnos countryside and many Aegean islands. It consists of a renovated Windmill, studios, apartments and a pool with jaccuzzi. We are trying to make your stay relaxing and comfortable combining the traditional architecture with the breathtaking view to the Aegean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Windmill Bella Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Bella Vista Sifnos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing