We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed bag” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sopper's

Sopper's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hazel Green, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Let's start with the awesome. My wife and I shared the crab cakes for an appetizer and the strawberry cake for desert. Both were excellent! It goes a little down hill from there. I ordered the shrimp and grits. The shrimp was good and the grits were perfect, but overall the dish wasn't well executed. The bacon and cheddar cheese flavors were overpowering. It was good, but not great. My wife had the Patmos chicken, which was very dry, but the flavor was good. It needed some kind of sauce to moisten it up. It also seemed that the Parmesan cheese was the powdered stuff you get from Kraft. Shaved Parmesan would have helped the dish.

Don't forget the strawberry cake!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ararat, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I've eaten here a couple of dozen times and have tried just about everything on the menu and have never been disappointed or had a bad experience. Sometimes the wait has been long but the wait never affected how my food tasted. The menu is varied and eclectic, but the food is consistent from visit to visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rubberband1293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkertown, North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“we ate dinner here and enjoyed looking in the windows”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

around town; the dinner menu is quite varied; I had salmon and the hubby had pork chops; both were very good, and the service was fine; the food was very reasonably priced and there was a short wait when we went at 6pm

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda_S_King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Due to the favorable reviews, we decided to eat here. Absolutely delicious even to the homemade Greek salad dressing. Don't leave without some strawberry cake. Katie was our waitress & she was awesome. This little place was a treasure find.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Driggs51553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilot Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

This is one of my favorite restaurants. I have eaten here numerous times and have never been disappointed with the food or the service. Save room for the strawberry cake it is delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ro256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sopper's also viewed

 

Been to Sopper's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing