We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If rustic is your thing then this is for you.”
Review of Pilot Knob Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pilot Mountain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pilot Knob Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Haven't stayed in a cabin in years, so we decided to try Pilot Knob cabin #4. When we arrived there was not a soul to be found. Check in consisted of taking the instructions off the bulletin board at the office and proceeding to the unlocked cabin that had our key inside. The inside of the cabin is very clean but beat, be forewarned, it's like staying at a friend's vacation/hunting cabin. The bath linens are very worn, the bath sink and tub are old and stained. The chairs and couch are also worn, however the king-size bed is new & very comfortable. The cabin has heat, a/c and a fireplace, there is also a TV and WiFi which we did not use. The outside porches and especially the deck could use some maintenance (screened in deck would be a nice touch). There is road noise from the highway to the rear of the house especially when trucks are downshifting for the grade, particularly annoying at night.
Breakfast at the inn was OK and the friendly caretaker, Cathy, does and great job. The baked goods from a local bakery were the highlight, especially the apple pie.
Overall it was a pleasant experience and I'm not ruling out another stay but the cabin does need some updating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JusWannaSleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Wow! We have stayed at other "cabins" but nothing quite like this one. We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite (39 years of honeymooning) and by far this made us feel like we were the only ones on the premises. The attention to detail was fabulous. The breakfast was delicious and the view from the breakfast area is breathtaking. Jennifer, the inn keeper and Kathy, her right hand girl, made us feel right at home. Just a drive down to the lake can make you appreciate nature's beauty. The surrounding area has fun things to see and do-especially downtown Mount Airy (home of Andy Griffith). If you are looking for a renewed sense of togetherness, here's your place! It was our first visit, but we know it won't be our last!! Thank you Pilot Knob!!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is attached to the main building, but you will not know that. The cabin was quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbsamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our son's wedding at Pilot Knob Inn was the perfect romantic weekend! From the moment I made the reservation until the big day, Jennifer, the Inn Keeper, was so helpful with all the details in our planning process. We rented the Honeymoon Cabin for the ceremony and it was perfect; the intimacy of this authentic cabin along with the beautiful scenery & views was so special. The newlywed "family" couldn't have been happier. The bride & groom stayed 3 nights; they were so impressed with the complimentary home cooked breakfast each morning and the charm of all the personal touches. Pilot Knob Inn is perfect for special occasions or a weekend getaway !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BevShep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife and I love this place. She proposed to me there last year, and we visited again just this month. We stayed in the Love Shack both times, which was pretty perfect for us--it's right next to the breakfast room, but still quiet and feels rural and isolated and cozy. The fireplace is my favorite part, but the giant jacuzzi is also great, and I love how tucked away the loft bedroom feels.

The waffles are delicious, also. I just wish we could stay longer and more often! If you stay in the Love Shack, look for my name in the guest book and say hi--hopefully I can come back and find it some day. :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bewildebeest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Pioneer living with comfort- a perfect blend! The tobacco barn cabins are unique. With the fireplace roaring, very romantic, These cabins have imperfections, but the overall ambiance makes up for them! The dining area is very nice and our cook/hostess was very friendly- told us all about the area and what living there was like...the view of Pilot Mountain is awesome!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gottaplayusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The cabins at Pilot Knob Inn are wonderful. The inside is immaculate and the view of Pilot Mountain from the front porch is wonderful. We couldn't have enjoyed the weekend more. Everything you need is provided. The breakfast was great and everyone was so friendly. Thanks again for a wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: Mount Airy is a great place to spend a day! North State Winery has a great lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We can up to run the Pilot Mountain Payback. But it was snowed out and we were snowed in! Cabin #3 is just what we needed! Warm, romantic, cozy. Hot fire & the Olympics on TV. Breakfast in bed and watching Mother Nature the cabin is wonderful. Don't hesitate to book a room or cabin.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank J3nnifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilot Mountain
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pilot Mountain
45 reviews
18.6 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
622 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#4 of 8 in Mount Airy
192 reviews
12.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
197 reviews
21.4 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#5 of 38 in Winston Salem
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilot Knob Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilot Knob Inn

Address: 361 New Pilot Knob Lane, P.O. Box 1280, Pilot Mountain, NC 27041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Pilot Mountain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pilot Mountain
Price Range: £57 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the tobacco barn cabins featured on HGTV and in Southern Living and Our State Magazine, on 100 acres with a lake with boating and fishing. Cabins offer fireplace (gas), and whirlpools for two. Luxurious honeymoon suites with whirlpools or hot tubs with gas logs. All cabins and suites come with full breakfast. All units have wi-fi/central heat & air & Satellite TV ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pilot Knob Hotel Pilot Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing