We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We always enjoy our stay”
Review of Pilot Knob Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pilot Mountain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pilot Knob Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I want to start our review about how much we enjoyed our stay, just as before and always, Jennifer was very accommodating for us and as usual, Kathy does an excellent Job trying her best to keep everything clean and then cooking a great Breakfast for the guest. We always like to stay here when we can and recommend it to anybody, But as a return guest. we have seen since about the same time last year that there has been a decline in building upkeep and appearance. It's a really nice place but with the towel rods pulling out of the wall and hanging by 1 screw, the bathroom light fixture and fan was missing screws and kind of hanging without a cover, a couple of the deck chairs around the pool were broken and all of them in bad need of pressure washing, we left so another couple arriving could have a place to sit. Our Jacuzzi had a couple jets that didn't work, Our couch was well worn and tore. We plan on returning in hopes that it gets back to where it was, because it is such a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itsmarkjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The pictures online don't quite do this place justice. We loved the access to Pilot Mountain but were even more excited to find the 22 mile Sauratown Trail cutting right next to our cabin. If you like running trails you will LOVE this place. Breakfast was of the hook too!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank hacknice_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We spent two nights at Pilot Knob Inn last week and loved being there. Beautiful surroundings, i.e., many acres of very attractive, well-kept wooded property not far from the entrance to Pilot Mountain State Park. The whole area around this park and Hanging Rock State Park is lovely. Agree pretty much with what everyone else has written. There is, by the way, a nice outdoor swimming pool. Our suite, Heavenly Hideaway, has a jacuzzi bath tub as well as a terrific shower.
Highly recommend Pilot Know Inn.

Room Tip: Our room was fine for us, although we woke rather early to the smells of coffee and bacon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ldeborah2935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Could not ask for a nicer place to stay. We have been staying there for 2 years and can't stay away. Breakfast is wonderful. If you need or want anything, you call Jennifer or Kathy. They really go above and beyond. Home away from home. The Castle is our favorite!!

Room Tip: Castle is the best!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollywood682013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I am trying to limit my list of accolades and am finding that task rather difficult. Do not choose cabin 4 if you are an early riser - you will not want to get out of that perfect bed! The lake is exquisite. Breakfast is delicious. Everyone from beginning to end are just wonderful, "real" people. I never figured out how to connect with the wi-fi and I am an "expert" on such - but I didn't care, there was far too many other things I wanted to get into. Mt. Airy - what is more perfect than spending our country's sacred holiday in our collective hometown? This shall be a tradition for my husband and I - just no one else try to get cabin 4 next independence day! Thanks Jennifer and Kathy - you guys are great.

Teresa Oberg

P.S. would you consider putting up the Inn's history on the website?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeresaOberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I spent our anniversary here 2 weeks ago. What a pleasant surprise to only be 45 min from home and feel like you are a million miles away. The cost was affordable and the staff are so nice and welcoming. We stayed in the "Love Shack" and absolutely fell in love with this cabin. The décor was exactly what we expected and made us feel like we had gone to the mountains. We were privileged to have the opportunity to see several other cabins and found each to be decorated very tastefully and each with its own theme. All have a surprising amount of privacy which makes Pilot Knob Inn a wonderful place to have couples time.

Jennifer, the owner and Kathy, her wonderful staff member, made each mornings breakfast a delightful and tasty start to the day. They take the time to make each couples breakfast as they come into the dining area and have delicious treats to dine on while waiting. The view from the dining area is beautiful and peaceful. We felt very welcome and comfortable while visiting and are now planning another get away soon to stay here.

The location of the inn is at the base of Pilots Knob and just a short drive to Pilot Mountain downtown, Mount Airy, Elkin and Virginia. There are so many quaint places to see and things to do.

Thank You Pilots Knob Inn!!! See You Soon

Room Tip: Doesn't matter! They're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dhorne82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Haven't stayed in a cabin in years, so we decided to try Pilot Knob cabin #4. When we arrived there was not a soul to be found. Check in consisted of taking the instructions off the bulletin board at the office and proceeding to the unlocked cabin that had our key inside. The inside of the cabin is very clean but beat, be forewarned, it's like staying at a friend's vacation/hunting cabin. The bath linens are very worn, the bath sink and tub are old and stained. The chairs and couch are also worn, however the king-size bed is new & very comfortable. The cabin has heat, a/c and a fireplace, there is also a TV and WiFi which we did not use. The outside porches and especially the deck could use some maintenance (screened in deck would be a nice touch). There is road noise from the highway to the rear of the house especially when trucks are downshifting for the grade, particularly annoying at night.
Breakfast at the inn was OK and the friendly caretaker, Cathy, does and great job. The baked goods from a local bakery were the highlight, especially the apple pie.
Overall it was a pleasant experience and I'm not ruling out another stay but the cabin does need some updating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JusWannaSleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilot Mountain
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pilot Mountain
45 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
773 reviews
21.4 mi away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#5 of 38 in Winston Salem
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
197 reviews
18.6 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
620 reviews
18.6 mi away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#1 of 38 in Winston Salem
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilot Knob Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilot Knob Inn

Address: 361 New Pilot Knob Lane, P.O. Box 1280, Pilot Mountain, NC 27041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Pilot Mountain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pilot Mountain
Price Range: £57 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the tobacco barn cabins featured on HGTV and in Southern Living and Our State Magazine, on 100 acres with a lake with boating and fishing. Cabins offer fireplace (gas), and whirlpools for two. Luxurious honeymoon suites with whirlpools or hot tubs with gas logs. All cabins and suites come with full breakfast. All units have wi-fi/central heat & air & Satellite TV ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pilot Knob Hotel Pilot Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing