We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful weekend with friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Certificate of Excellence
burlington
1 review
“wonderful weekend with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

very clean, relaxing, spa staff wonderful, breakfast buffet had everything and all fresh and delicious...don't get the pork tenderloin for dinner...it was like ham hocks...very disappointed and couldn't eat it

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    171
    59
    31
    21
See reviews for
121
216
39
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We just celebrated a 50th birthday for one of our group with a Spa weekend at the Carolina Hotel- worthy of a big celebration! Away from the hustle and bustle in a charming town dedicated to golf, the staff is terrific. Rooms are comfortable and clean, dining in the hotel is delicious, and the Spa is one of the very best. You will return to real life relaxed and refreshed.
We had dinner one night at Rhett's in Southern Pines, which was also delicious and uses fresh, local produce.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dn483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

I was attending the Carolina's Chapter of the ESOP Association's conference held at Pinehurst, which has been conducted there four years running, although it was my first time attending. The facilities were excellent for the conference and the golf was amazing. I look forward to attending other conferences there and playing more golf as well as a trip with my friends for a golf weekend.

Room Tip: When checking in, if your reservation did not provide the ideal bed you wanted, ask if it is now ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Amazing place staffed with amazing people. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamganc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnabow, NC USA 28479
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Carolina Hotel first class in every respect......excellent facility for the "Our State" conference....we have attended seven of the "Our State" conferences here. We have never been disappointed...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed here as part of a wedding that was taking place on-site. We were placed in the "manor" which was removed from where the rest of the wedding guests were, who were in the "carolina". I think we got the the short-end of the stick, as most of the amenities were by the carolina. Or room was decent enough, but cramped and felt somewhat damp. The AC was in an odd location next to the bed, so it blew right onto you.

The actual place itself was nice and we actually took advantage of the free shuttle because of the sudden t-storms, it actually kept us from getting soaked if we were to walk just from the parking lot to a building. The locations where the wedding reception was held was also gorgeous as well.

Would recommend this place for a vacation for golf-lovers. There is also a few cute shops in town too, catered to mostly women, as well.

Room Tip: If you can, specify you want to be in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEAutumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

The Carolina at Pinehurst Resort is a great family hotel. The rooms are very nice, comfortable beds, very nice upscaled linens, marble bathrooms and great service staff throughout hotel. The staff was always available to help. The pool and putting green are great for kids after a day of golf. Kids Camp is available if they dont golf. The Ryder Cup is also very kid friendly. Everything including the Spa, shopping ,and resturants, are walking distance and shuttles arevavailable for off property golf courses. We can't wait to come back next August!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tampa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinehurst
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Olmsted Village (near Pinehurst)
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pinehurst Southern Pines
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Pinehurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Jefferson Inn
Jefferson Inn
#1 of 12 in Southern Pines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Southern Pines-Pinehurst
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#3 of 12 in Southern Pines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort

Property: The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort
Address: 80 Carolina Vista Drive, Pinehurst, NC 28374
Region: United States > North Carolina > Pinehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some say you can feel the spirit of Pinehurst as you turn onto Carolina Vista, the tree-lined avenue that leads to the Carolina hotel. This majestic century-old hotel with its signature copper cupola and sweeping verandas make you feel as though you’ve stepped back in time to an era when elegance defined grand hotels and resorts. Dubbed the “Queen of the South,” the Carolina has 274 Four-Diamond guest rooms including suites.Pinehurst Resort features eight golf courses, an award-winning Spa, a charming village, tennis, beach club and other amenities inlcuding an active Kids Club. Kids 12 and under stay and play golf free when staying in the same room as the parents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina - Pinehurst Hotel Pinehurst
Pinehurst Hotel And Country
Pinehurst Resort And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing