We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding experience that needs repeating!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Park, FL
2 reviews
“An outstanding experience that needs repeating!”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Reserve early as possible so you can stay in Carolina Hotel. What a beautiful place! And the staff are all top of the line! Don't forget to take in some of the local highlights, or just drive around and enjoy the scenery!

Room Tip: Consider where your activities ON SITE will take place and reserve accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wlarryc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    176
    62
    31
    21
See reviews for
124
224
40
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The Pinehurst Wine Festival at Pinehurst, NC was not up to par this year as compared to past years. The festival has been shortened and not as many vendors were represented this year. They need to extend this wonderful festival back at least one day and include more vendors. It seems to me that in years past they had over a hundred vendors represented. They also need to promote more food activities, as this is billed as both a food and wine festival. The one lunch and learn luncheon was great and very informative. We want to learn more about cooking, preparing foods, and wine pairing. I would rate the overall experience as a "B" this year. The standard had been set in the past, they need to return to those high standards again. Hopefully the next one in 2012 will be better than this years.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I planned a suprise weekend getaway for my husband for our first wedding anniversary and it was a huge success! The staff at Pinehurst was very accomodating and helpful. They made our visit/anniversary special. As golfers, it was a fun filled weekend, however there is plenty to do for non golfers as well. A visit to Pinehurst is reminiscent of summer camps and getaways of the 50's and 60's...quiet and relaxing....loved it!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyrpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This is our third trip; what's become an annual ritual for our anniversary. They offer a military rate which is whatever the lowest rate is, but an upgrade to the best available room. Rooms have large, spacious closets, nice bathrooms, and we even had a sitting room this time along with a mini bar and good electronics. The service from the hotel staff is always five star with southern courtesy taken to the extreme. If you are into golf this is THE place to be - the facilities and service at the eight courses that are a part of the resort are the best I have encountered in my experience. A couple of points we found though - we usually stay in the west wing and this time stayed in the east - where apparently more families stay? And they tended to be somewhat noisy, holding hallway races late and early. We also found that during an event, (Food and Wine fest this weekend), the kitchen cannot keep pace - on Friday nite we waited nearly an hour after ordering for dinner to arrive in the Ryder Cup lounge as they had an event at the hotel that had priority apparently. I talked to a couple who had the exact experience in the Carolina dining room that evening - so don't recommend in-hotel dining when they have banquets, galas or dinners scheduled. Other than that, the usual great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated, west wing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Karen_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burlington
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2011

very clean, relaxing, spa staff wonderful, breakfast buffet had everything and all fresh and delicious...don't get the pork tenderloin for dinner...it was like ham hocks...very disappointed and couldn't eat it

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We just celebrated a 50th birthday for one of our group with a Spa weekend at the Carolina Hotel- worthy of a big celebration! Away from the hustle and bustle in a charming town dedicated to golf, the staff is terrific. Rooms are comfortable and clean, dining in the hotel is delicious, and the Spa is one of the very best. You will return to real life relaxed and refreshed.
We had dinner one night at Rhett's in Southern Pines, which was also delicious and uses fresh, local produce.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dn483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I was attending the Carolina's Chapter of the ESOP Association's conference held at Pinehurst, which has been conducted there four years running, although it was my first time attending. The facilities were excellent for the conference and the golf was amazing. I look forward to attending other conferences there and playing more golf as well as a trip with my friends for a golf weekend.

Room Tip: When checking in, if your reservation did not provide the ideal bed you wanted, ask if it is now ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinehurst
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Olmsted Village (near Pinehurst)
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pinehurst Southern Pines
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Pinehurst
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#2 of 12 in Southern Pines
138 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Southern Pines-Pinehurst
4.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Southern Pines Aberdeen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort

Property: The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort
Address: 80 Carolina Vista Drive, Pinehurst, NC 28374
Region: United States > North Carolina > Pinehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some say you can feel the spirit of Pinehurst as you turn onto Carolina Vista, the tree-lined avenue that leads to the Carolina hotel. This majestic century-old hotel with its signature copper cupola and sweeping verandas make you feel as though you’ve stepped back in time to an era when elegance defined grand hotels and resorts. Dubbed the “Queen of the South,” the Carolina has 274 Four-Diamond guest rooms including suites.Pinehurst Resort features nine golf courses, an award-winning Spa, a charming village, tennis, beach club and other amenities including an active Kids Club. Kids 12 and under stay and play golf free when staying in the same room as the parents. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Carolina - Pinehurst Hotel Pinehurst
Pinehurst Hotel And Country
Pinehurst Resort And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing