We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is a stately hotel. It is large, but the staff is very friendly and welcoming. We had a large room and adjoining living room. The rooms are not as elegant as you'd find at a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton, but they are much larger and very comfortable. The hotel is very well maintained and the area is beautiful. The restaurant was just okay, but we were very out of season. The breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CT-and-JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    171
    60
    31
    21
See reviews for
121
217
39
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

This was my first visit to Pinehurst but it will not be my last. Oustanding Staff and Service, beautiful grounds and great accomodations.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

I've stayed at both the hotel and the Villas next door, and have found both to be outstanding. The Villas are great when traveling with a group or extended family, as they have a very nice common area for lounging, socializing, watching TV, etc. The rooms are well appointed and nicely maintained.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GetsAround10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheboro
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Loved, loved, loved it!! Southern hospitality at its best. History, nostalgia and a spa to melt away the hours after a morning of tennis, golf, bicycle riding or shopping. The food was excellent, great service and amenities.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina Smith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

What a joke. I came here for a conference, thought I was reserving a room in the main hotel, ended up hear. Better rooms at a Hampton Inn for a fraction of the price. From what other attendees tell, main hotel is fine but unless you are with a group Avoid this overpriced motel six

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pleasantstranger62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleson, Tx
Level Contributor
305 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

This is the second year in a roll we have traveled to Pinehurst for 3 days of golf. If you are a golf, it is the promise land. Not just at Pinehurst, but the entire area. The Resort itself is great and food and drink is included.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SixPipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at the Carolina with our 12 year old grandson and even this discerning young traveller was impressed! However, we were a little disappointed in the room in the Carolina as it didn't quite match the picture of the rooms on their website and felt that the bathroom especially could have done with being given a 'make-over'. The food was excellent and the buffet breakfast was the best we have ever had. We also played golf and the courses we played were just wonderful, Course No 7 being my favourite and Course No 2 being my husbands! The staff, both on the course and off were wonderful and very helpful at all times.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinehurst
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Olmsted Village (near Pinehurst)
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pinehurst Southern Pines
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Pinehurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Southern Pines-Pinehurst
4.9 mi away
Jefferson Inn
Jefferson Inn
#2 of 12 in Southern Pines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#3 of 12 in Southern Pines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort

Property: The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort
Address: 80 Carolina Vista Drive, Pinehurst, NC 28374
Region: United States > North Carolina > Pinehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some say you can feel the spirit of Pinehurst as you turn onto Carolina Vista, the tree-lined avenue that leads to the Carolina hotel. This majestic century-old hotel with its signature copper cupola and sweeping verandas make you feel as though you’ve stepped back in time to an era when elegance defined grand hotels and resorts. Dubbed the “Queen of the South,” the Carolina has 274 Four-Diamond guest rooms including suites.Pinehurst Resort features eight golf courses, an award-winning Spa, a charming village, tennis, beach club and other amenities inlcuding an active Kids Club. Kids 12 and under stay and play golf free when staying in the same room as the parents. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Carolina - Pinehurst Hotel Pinehurst
Pinehurst Hotel And Country
Pinehurst Resort And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing