We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to NC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I grew up going to Pinehurst. I had not been there for about 10 years and some things are exactly the same - in a good way, but others haven't fared quite as well. The Carolina is exceptionally well maintained, but the rooms are in dire need of updating. Our room 114 East was large enough with a decent sized bedroom and lovely sunroom attached, but the bed and furnishings were awful. The carpet in the hall to our room looked like it was around about 10 years too long. The bed was lumpy, the pillows awful and it still sported a bedspread. When's the last time you were in a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton that still used bedspreads? All 3 rooms (bathroom, bedroom and sunroom lacked adequate lighting). There were no drawers except three in the DESK and the WiFi was practically unavailable. The bathroom had one sink and a tub/shower with a curtain!!!! Haven't seen those since I was in a Hampton Inn. There was no sound protection and the maid service and actually cleaning was heinous. Every single day I complained they hadn't taken away used bar glasses and replaced with new and the ice bucket NEVER was emptied to name a few things not done. Housekeeping blamed room service and room service blamed housekeeping. Not sure why it took 5 days of this to never have the issue fixed. When we got to the room, half the lights weren't working - needed bulbs; there was a baby crib in there (we didn't request this, and didn't need) and next to the sofa in the sunroom was someone else's golf hat and a baby book (obviously the one that needed the crib). Needless to say, it was obvious, this room wasn't exactly clean which bothers me terribly when I have just checked in. Thoughts that the rest wasn't cleaned linger and should never come to mind.
On a positive note, the lobby, and the dining room were lovely. Clean, well run, good food, and great service. The spa, which I spent 4 days enjoying multiple services, wasn't luxurious, but well run, comfortable and the staff excellent.
Golf, as always, was enjoyed. Considering they are hosting the new US Open, you would think they would do some room renovations. Although I love Pinehurst, I would never stay at the Carolina again until they do this.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the suites in the East End.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 876 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

After 5 years away I went back to Pinehurst for a 2 day visit. We stayed at the Carolina Hotel which was fantastic. The rooms are large and a bit old fashioned but that's the charm of pinehurst. Golf course #2 now fully rstored is outstanding and in great shape, ready for the 2014 US Open. The village of Pinehurst is an easy walk away . The Golf operation remains one one of the best in terms of ease of getting around, quality courses and staff. a must is the new "Thistle Due" putting green which is reminiscent of the Ladies putting course at St. Andrews.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Carolina Hotel in Pinehurst, NC for a 40yr Anniversary Trip. I can say without hesitation that it was one of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed!!! From the time we stepped into the lobby it was "perfect"! Check-in was very professional and friendly!! We arrived just as tea and cookies were being served in the lobby. I think one of my favorite memories was the piano player during our breakfast each morning!!!! We had a corner room so our view was very nice and I think much larger than some of the others. It was definitely a "Special Occasion" trip!! My husband played golf while we were there and the courses were beautiful!! Everyone from the valet service to the golf course staff went out of their way to make sure everything was PERFECT!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitzMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Third time to Pinehurst and it did not disappoint. While weather was a factor due to rain a few days, the courses were still in great shape, and the food and service were excellent all over the property. Very friendly and attentive staff everywhere and at all levels. Only issue is that the Carolina, while an older grand hotel that has been updated, the soundproofing between rooms is an issue.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite well-worth it as it did not cost too much more and offered lots more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This resort exceeded my expectations. My twin brother and I (along with the wives and another couple) wanted to go somewhere for our 40th bday. We went top Pebble for our 30th and chose Pinehurst this time. The golf was amazing and the resort had old school charm with the best service one could expect. I highly recommend this place for groups of guys or with couples. The spa was excellent and the food was delicious. I cant wait to go back!!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with an upgraded bathroom. Only complaint was the bathroom was small and dat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is one of those old beautiful hotels that Disney attempts to recreate. But this is "The Carolina", it is massive and impressive. We experienced wonderful service at the check-in, in the restaurant, and of course at the golf course. If you're a golfer, this is like Mecca! You can overlook the small rooms, the creaky floors, the way noise echoes down the hallway. Hey this Pinehurst, you come to golf, not to spend time in your room. Just don't book a room next to the elevator where guys talk loud late into the evening as well as early in the morning. The spa is wonderful, the golf is wonderful, and to think that your in the hotel where Donald Ross created this wonderful place is simply incredible. We enjoyed evenings on the patio with a drink and a rocking chair soaking up the history and the ambiance.

Room Tip: Request a room far from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoosierDady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

From the perspectives of the people working at these facilities this is one of the best places I have stayed at. The rooms are not gargantuan, but very comfortable. Everyone (from the people vacuuming the floors to the management) at all of the varied facilities here appear to go out of their way to make you feel welcomed. A great experience and the golf courses are in excellent condition.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinehurst
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Olmsted Village (near Pinehurst)
2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Pinehurst
83 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#3 of 12 in Southern Pines
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
#8 of 12 in Southern Pines
90 reviews
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pinehurst Southern Pines
4 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Southern Pines Aberdeen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort

Address: 80 Carolina Vista Drive, Pinehurst, NC 28374
Region: United States > North Carolina > Pinehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Price Range: £90 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some say you can feel the spirit of Pinehurst as you turn onto Carolina Vista, the tree-lined avenue that leads to the Carolina hotel. This majestic century-old hotel with its signature copper cupola and sweeping verandas make you feel as though you’ve stepped back in time to an era when elegance defined grand hotels and resorts. Dubbed the “Queen of the South,” the Carolina has 274 Four-Diamond guest rooms including suites.Pinehurst Resort features nine golf courses, an award-winning Spa, a charming village, tennis, beach club and other amenities including an active Kids Club. Kids 12 and under stay and play golf free when staying in the same room as the parents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina - Pinehurst Hotel Pinehurst
Pinehurst Hotel And Country
Pinehurst Resort And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing