We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, amazing service in beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

If you want to feel like you're part of history in an historic hotel, you need to stay here. Yes the hotel is older but they have freshened up the rooms and the campus is truly gorgeous. The service - from the bellman, the housekeeping staff, to the resort services desk are the best I have ever experienced and I have been all the world. Breakfast buffet it just straight up yummy and extensive but it's the small things that we loved. Expansive patios with rockers, checkerboard and chess tables, game room, huge putting green and grass areas for kids. Just a perfect family and adult set up. We had a few issues with our room but once we spoke to the management staff it was rectified without incident. Our family will be staying every year for the US Kids Golf World Championship for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChandlerMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 866 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We highly recommend the 119 year old Carolina Hotel and Resort. The hotel is located within the Pinehurst Village with a short walk to the shops. The room was ready hours before the assigned check - in time. The personnel were extremely accommodating and the Spa plus the fitness center was top shelf. The rocking chairs on the porch was a perfect venue to listen to the evening weekend's live music. The breakfast buffet in the Carolina dining room was delicious. We experienced Southern hospitality and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TangoMJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I did the Summer Golf Getaway. What a deal For $500 a day you get a great breakfast. A championship 18 hole round of golf, full use of a 5 star resort, a 5 star dinner in a wonderful setting, a night in a legendary hotel with all the hi tech amenities. Do miss this out on a great 5 star deal.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We spent four nights at Pinehurst over the 4th of July and found it to be one of the best resorts in the Country. We've stayed at Pebble Beach, The Greenbrier, Boca Raton and others and found Pinehurst to be right up there with them all. All the staff were very highly efficient and knowledgeable, but not stuffy at all. They really made us feel welcome and at home. We were originally booked for two nights but extended to four. We didn't go for golf but ended up playing a round on #6 since we were there longer. Very nice top shelf course. The food was wonderful at all four restaurants, especially The Carolina.

We will definitely be going back.

The Williams'
Springfield, Ohio

Room Tip: Just ask and they will scan everything available. We were on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loring W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

There is not a better place to enjoy the game of golf and genuine southern hospitality than Pinehurst. The golf courses are challenging yet user friendly. They are in outstanding condition and beautiful to view. The accommodations are pristine and the service is the definition of the true south! A must visit for golfers, vacationers, with or without children. It has it all!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I wanted to give the resort an excellent rating but I can't. This is not Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons, but it is very good. Our room was a little tired as was most of the resort, I understand this is an older property but that doesn't excuse it from some paint and a few other things. The housekeeping staff seemed a little lazy as there was garbage in the bushes outside our door including what looked like latex or plastic gloves. The food was good. The bed was comfortable. Pinehurst is a lovely place to visit and the people friendly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank DCA2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed on the Champions package which was just a few days after the US Opens were over. The common areas are very nice and the staff is fantastic. It doesn't get a perfect rating because the air conditioning in the room is quite loud when it starts up and woke me up many times, and the water pressure was a bit week. Otherwise the room was well appointed, had a good HDTV and channel selection, large bathroom, safe, and multiple pillow choices.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinehurst
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Olmsted Village (near Pinehurst)
4.6 mi away
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
#6 of 12 in Southern Pines
86 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Pinehurst
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pinehurst Southern Pines
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#3 of 12 in Southern Pines
148 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Pinehurst Inn
Best Western Pinehurst Inn
#2 of 12 in Southern Pines
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort

Address: 80 Carolina Vista Drive, Pinehurst, NC 28374
Region: United States > North Carolina > Pinehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Price Range: £94 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some say you can feel the spirit of Pinehurst as you turn onto Carolina Vista, the tree-lined avenue that leads to the Carolina hotel. This majestic century-old hotel with its signature copper cupola and sweeping verandas make you feel as though you’ve stepped back in time to an era when elegance defined grand hotels and resorts. Dubbed the “Queen of the South,” the Carolina has 274 Four-Diamond guest rooms including suites.Pinehurst Resort features nine golf courses, an award-winning Spa, a charming village, tennis, beach club and other amenities including an active Kids Club. Kids 12 and under stay and play golf free when staying in the same room as the parents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your The Carolina Hotel - Pinehurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina - Pinehurst Hotel Pinehurst
Pinehurst Hotel And Country
Pinehurst Resort And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing